We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to improve”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Fajitas - CLOSED

Fajitas
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
410 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Needs to improve”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Visited earlier tonight for the first time. Was hoping for better. We ordered Nachos, Flautas, baby calamari and stuffed jalopenos. The jalapenos were nice, the calarmari ok but pretty crisp, the nachos were slightly overcooked but nice, the flautas were almost empty instead of being "stuffed".

For mains we ordered chimichagas, chicken and shredded pork and a shredded beef quesadilla. After clearing our starters we had to wait over an hour for the mains, with only half the restaurent full, pretty poor.

After complaining, our food arrived within minutes. My quesadilla was cold on top, presumably from standing, but otherwise excellent.

My guests pork chimachanga was ok, and had a nice sauce, in fact it had two different sauces presumably because the chicken chimachanga had no sauce at all and was extremely dry and horrible as a result, Chef error on a big scale.

We complained again about this but nothing was done other then they promised to "have a word". Not good really.

You woudl think that they could at least serve what they advertise instead of some random different meal.

We declined deserts.

Drinks are pretty expensive, six small beers added £30 to the bill.

The waitresses and waiter were keen to help when required.

Not sure whether I will go again, I enjoyed my meal more than my guests, so its possible but at over £35 a head it will be a while. There is better value to be had.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart_Donald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    42
    22
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Heard about this place from a friend and enjoyed the meal.

A very small cosy type restaurant, with a small bar downstairs and seating upstairs. There isn't much seating available, but the food and service is great. The nanchos and chicken sharers were awesome and the portions are pretty huge and filing! I would say it's a little overpriced for what it is maybe, but none the less still an excellent choice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wardy_Lawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fajitas Ampthill”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Went there for the first time on Saturday, must admit was a bit anxious before we got there as I had read some of the previous reviews but I have to say my fears were unfounded. The food was excellent and the service was quick and attentive. An fab place to eat and we will definitely be going there again!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good restaurant”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have been to Fajitas in Ram Yard, Ampthill on many occasions and thoroughly enjoy it. Fully intend to go there again.
I have read some of the not so good reviews. What you have to remember is that it's not the Ritz.
The food is always well prepared, we never had a bad meal there. On one occasion the restaurant did seem to be short staffed but not as a rule. We got an apology that our meal was taking a little longer to arrive than usual on that occasion.
The staff we encounter are always courteous, polite and eager to give good service.
The atmosphere is wonderful
The menu is not huge but the options on it are always well prepared and reliably good.
The half timered building which houses the restaurant is charming and quirky,
We go for a good enjoyable evening to dine out and enjoy it, never yet come home after in bad humour.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bedfordcouple002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

myself and 10 friends visited recently, being locals to the restuarant we have all been previously very impressed however on this occasion not so.... we had not pre booked but on a sundsy evening thought this wouldnt be an issue when we arrived we were told to come back as they werent ready to open so we had a drink elsewhere and returned 30 mins later, we had cocktails in the bar before being seated, it took sometime to order our food as there were hardly any staff but considering we were the only people in there was a little annoyin, whilst waiting for our food we ordered some appetisers which for 11people was a joke in between waiting for our food we hsd to keep going downstairs for drinks as staff kept disapearring, wen our food arrived it was cold and very poor quality and did in no way reflect the price, we asked to speak to manager at which point the chef appeared saying the manager wasnt there but they agreed to take 10% off bill which wasnt much considering the whole experience had been a shambles, we have since emailed the manager but over a week later are still awaiting a reply, however we will not be returning which is shame considering we all live and some work in ampthill

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MARNSLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fajitas also viewed

Ampthill, Bedfordshire
Ampthill, Bedfordshire
 
Ampthill, Bedfordshire
Ampthill, Bedfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing