We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind and attentive hosts, very welcoming, great location.”
Review of Kylemore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kylemore
Preston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kind and attentive hosts, very welcoming, great location.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at Kylemore having travelled over from the UK for a wedding at a nearby olive grove. There was 3 of us and I asked if a bed could be placed in the bedroom for our daughter,which Julie and Andy did for us no problem.

We booked for 3 nights (via email) nothing was too much trouble and thoughtful touches happened all through our stay.

The house, grounds and location are lovely, unfortunately we ran out of time to use the pool which Andy & Julie had prepared especially for our daughter who loves swimming.

Breakfast was one of the best we have had anywhere. Including freshly prepared fruit and a hot English style platter.

It was a great place to stay when a long way from home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnacresue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Julie and Andy have everything just right at Kylemore; it's a very special place. They made us feel completely welcomed from the moment we arrived at around 1pm till our departure around 11 am the following day. They even turned on perfect weather for our visit so that we could relax by the pool for a few hours with gin and tonics, accompanied by olives and fresh figs from their garden - yum. Following a glass of wine and a cheese platter with our hosts, Andy happily drove us to dinner at nearby Bracu and arranged our return. Andy realised I had left my cardigan back at Kylemore and made a return trip back to the restaurant to drop it off to me. A truly generous gesture. The bedrooms are delighfully appointed, and you have access to many other rooms in the house with utmost privacy. Our cooked breakfast before our departure was delicious and generous. I wished we could have stayed longer. We look forward to a return visit one day. Thank you very much Julie and Andy for opening your home to us. Sarah M

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SCM191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

What an amazing old Kiwi mansion. Full of 19th century character yet lovingly restored with all the modern conveniences you could ask for. It's the perfect spot to re-charge your batteries in a peaceful valley that seems so remote but is still only half an hour or so from Auckland. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay thanks to the relaxed and considerate hospitality provided by Julie and Andy. Hope we can make it back sometime for a dip in the pool. Mark & Carolyn, Sydney

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the pool had a great view of the rolling countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wow. A fantastic home in the most beautiful setting. Great hosts made us most welcome and sad when we finally had to go. It was a pity our stay was only a short one. Would go back tomorrow but will have to wait for when we are back in New Zealand again. Mark C.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Its hard to know where to begin. Andy and Julie are wonderful hosts and Kylemore is the most beautiful spot. We couldn't have be more welcomed. Andy and Julie were so helpful and even helped me break into my suitcase after I had lost the key to the padlock! (Later found in my handbag....) Breakfast served by Julie was always spot on. She does great eggs!! Sitting around the breakfast table or out on the veranda looking out at the view was heavenly and how fab to be able to have a quick swim or a game of tennis afterwards.

Thr rooms are beautiful and the bed was so comfy. The whole house is amazing as is the history behind it.

I was pleased to find the journey into Auckland city centre was simple and quick. Andy and Julie suggested loads of places to go and see and even helped us plan a short camping trip around the North Island.

Thank you so much for making our stay so special. We are currently saving for another trip!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drury
9.6 mi away
Tuakau Hotel
Tuakau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
139 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dancing Trees Bed & Breakfast
Dancing Trees Bed & Breakfast
#116 of 254 in Auckland Region
2 reviews
16.2 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Rosebrook Country Homestead
6.1 mi away
No photo provided
Applaud BnB
#6 of 6 in Drury
2 reviews
5.4 mi away
Punanga Lodge
Punanga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Drury
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kylemore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kylemore

Property: Kylemore
Address: 137 Dunn Road | Ararimu, Drury 2579, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Drury
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Drury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxery Bed, Breakfast and Farmstay.Just 35 minutes from Auckland.An Historic 8500 sq.Ft. Mansion, overlooking a 200 acre farm, offering guests speacial peace and privacy.All rooms have farm and country views and free wifi. The apartment has its own living/dining area, plus a small kitchen, a bedroom with king size bed and a bathroom with shower.The other bedrooms have queen size beds, and ensuite bathrooms with showers.Close to a number of wedding venues, Kylemore is the perfect environment for wedding guests. Kylemore also caters for small weddings.Packages include, free champagne on arrival, pleanty of space for dressing and make up, and of course that stunning wide staircase for that special final photo.Kylemore also provides a very different and stimulating environment for small conferences.The huge formal dining room can cater for up to 12 with smaller breakout rooms also available.The very private rural environment is ideal for a successful conference or business meeting. If you're bringing in overseas guests or speakers, we're 5 minutes from the airport by helicopter. We can provide morning and afternoon refreshments and of course you're also able to avail yourself of our beautiful pool area and tennis court. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing