We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sferas Park Suites & Convention Centre
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wedding heaven”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights to attend a wedding and catch up with other family attending the wedding and to see other friends and attractions on our mini break. The staff at Sferas are fantastic, always polite and helpful. The room was clean and tidy and had everything you expect for the quality and price. Our room had a balcony and although we were initially concerned about the noise of the unit' outside we were assured by staff it isn't on all the time and certainly not at night. The bed was very comfortable, a little softer than what we have at home but that was fine. The shower was a good size and really liked the rain head. Also enjoyed relaxing in the spa bath too. The wedding reception we attended was in the restaurant while there were three other receptions happening in other parts of the centre. None impinged on the other so each newly married couple could enjoy their special day and didn't feel like they were in competition with the others. The food at the reception was fantastic. The choice was excellent and waiting staff were very efficient. Big thumbs up to the chef on the quality and presentation of the food. Breakfast was part of our package and was very basic. Sferas focus is on its weddings and such activities with accommodation as a sideline. Think there are only 20 rooms so catering to the needs of the overnight guest isn't a high priority, which in the scheme of things is fine. Think that if there is more information on Sferas site to indicate that breakfast is limited to room service and is very basic would be helpful. If breakfast is a priority to other travellers then a late breakfast over at the plaza or McDonalds are within easy walking distance. All in all Sferas is a great set up, well located to other facilities and transport.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are overlooking a roof and have a noisy unit but it is still great to step outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perce22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    31
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
16
25
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Was fortunate enough to get to spend a night here a week ago. Hotel rooms are neat and tidy, beds a little soft for my liking and possibly a little on the smallish side, but certainly nothing to worry about. On the upside they were quiet - perfect after hours of live music, when you just want to crash.
Also got to eat here but given the food was a set meal it's probably difficult to comment on how good the food is (I've heard great things). Certainly ours was fine in the sense that 300 odd identical meals were served up within an hour, but nothing to either rave about or criticize.
All up, I'm keen to come back. I've heard very good things about adjoined Sferas 1877 restaurant - when I get around to it, I'll put a review in :)

Room Tip: We had room 12, at the end of a long hallway and weren't disturbed by any noise. It also has a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickVeitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Recently attended a wedding at Sferas. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of food. As I am a vegetarian I often dislike the average vego food served at weddings and events. On this occasion I was amazed at the top quality of the food and service. drinks on the table were always topped up and general service was top notch. Would defintely return. only downfall was the location as it was quite a distance from the city. but this could also be a positive for some people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shayleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We attended an end of year work function and decided to stay the night thus not needing to drive home. What a great decision. The room was lovely and location great - able to walk to the shopping centre. The function was fantastic and food extremely good. Only let down was when booking we were advised breakfast was included but this was not the case as we were billed for it. Overall pleasant experience - staff very friendly. Would stay again in the future.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the park is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TessAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is a great place to stay! It's away from the city centre and close to Tea Tree Plaza shops. It is easy to get parking and they are always very friendly. The rooms are spacious, clean and are very tastefully decorated. I like staying here as I often travel alone or with my children and I feel safe staying here alone unlike some other motels I have stayed in. The beds are really comfortable and it is quiet compared to staying in the city centre. I feel that it is good value for money for what you get and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woomera, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed a few nights in December 2009. We loved the room and the location was perfect, but the experienced went downhill from there. My wife was getting over a knee injury but all the carparks had been taken for a function at the convention centre. We were told we would just have to find somewhere else to park. After moving out and cleaning our house for sale, we enquired with reception about room service for dinner. We were told we would have to go down and pick the meals up ourselves. Thankfully, when we ordered the room service we were told that wasn't true. Room service staff were excellent. The night of the function we were kept awake by the doof doof of music until early hours of the morning. Worse still was the cleaning party tipping thousands of empty glass stubbies into empty industrial waste bins at about 1.30am, scaring the #$%^ out of us. On checkout our bill was messed up, I requested it be fixed only to be billed twice with the same mistake. It took weeks to rectify. As I said, wonderful location and potential and we would like to use it again but the lack of interest by management to addressing the issues and the feeling of being a nuisance when dealing with reception staff, was extremely disappointing. Never again.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs and be patient with reception staff (hopefully they have changed since then).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlennLeanneKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Modbury hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Sfera's overlooks a huge park, (our room did not, but that was okay) so the set up is lovely. It really is a conference centre first, not a hotel, so don't go there expecting a huge lobby filled with lounge chairs for all (but there were a few). The staff were polite and cheerful, providing accurate information about transport options, shops, local restaurants and other facilities.The room we had looked amazing and was obviously created by a designer - but not perhaps by someone who would ever use the room. For example, there was a stunning standard lamp in the corner, but no bed side lights for reading in bed. The room was huge and had a spare bed, so could have catered for three guests, but there was only a small desk with one chair - another chair would have been good, especially a softer one. - this meant there was nowhere to sit for one person, if they did not want to sit on the (very comfy) bed. The room had a spa in the bathroom, but there was a huge window from it onto the rest of the room. The blind gave (almost) total privacy - great design, but a bit unusual for my taste. A really good shower. The spa was relaxing too. We did not eat at the associated restaurant, but at a restaurant at the complex of shops(which has cinemas) just over the park. It was easy to catch the bus to the city - the stop was just down through the park, and there were just one or two stops, through a beautiful linear park, with no cars to slow it down. This is a good place to stay if you do not want to stay in the city centre and put up with city traffic. .

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rossie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modbury
2.1 mi away
Highlander Hotel Bar Kitchen Rooftop
4.2 mi away
Mawson Lakes Hotel
Mawson Lakes Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mawson Lakes
295 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quest Mawson Lakes
Quest Mawson Lakes
#1 of 2 in Mawson Lakes
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Manhattan
Comfort Inn Manhattan
#2 of 3 in Enfield
28 reviews
8.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sferas Park Suites & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sferas Park Suites & Convention Centre

Property: Sferas Park Suites & Convention Centre
Address: 191 Reservoir Rd, Modbury, Tea Tree Gully, South Australia 5092, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Tea Tree Gully > Modbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Modbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sferas Park Suites & Convention Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sferas Park Suites & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing