We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel has a tired look”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charleville Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charleville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Front desk staff were excellent. The Leisure centre was great with really helpful staff. The gym is really good with modern equipment most of it in good working order. The bar lunch area is tatty and the serving staff not great. The restaurant food was nice. The staff were OK but not great. Served completely wrong wine as to ordered.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiernan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan_Comerford, General Manager at Charleville Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was encourage to see that enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and I also note your negative comments about the Food and Beverage departments .
We will take your comments on board and address how we can improve .
Thank you again for your feedback , we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Regards

Brendan Comerford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 749 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had a nice stay at this Hotel over the Easter Break. Family room was of a generous size with comfortable beds and plenty of room to sit down. Nice size bathroom with water pressure capable of stripping paint. Like most Hotels in similar predicaments, some of the day to day maintenance is isn't kept up-to-date. The TV remote was filthy and the power button didn't work. The fold out bed was missing two retaining bolts so collapsed the minute you lay on it. It was replaced immediately but you got the impression it was just put back into storage and not repaired. The thermostatically controlled heating didn't work but again was turned on within seconds by extremely helpful staff. unfortunately the only way turn it off again meant burning your fingers trying to turn the bare metal fitting. The leisure center was excellent with a clean warm pool with plenty facilities for all users.


The only real disappointing was the breakfast. On the first morning the seating areas was dirty with chips from the previous days meal still stuck on the seat. The food itself was average apart from the cooked breakfast which was very poor. All produce was cold and the scrambled eggs powdery. These low standards encouraged us to look elsewhere for all other meals. The second morning standards were similar but was increasingly put off by staff spraying cleaner directly onto tables over the milk and sugar (ever wondered why the sugar cubes look dissolved) and picking up utensils to check if they had been used. Staff really need some basic training in dining hygiene and this was especially disappointing as they were both polite and helpful.

If I was paying full price for this hotel-break I would be unhappy but when a basic trip to a swimming pool for a family can cost €40, a two night stay for four with breakfast for €139 eases most disgruntlements. The location is also great for exploring the many interesting locations both Limerick and Cork have to offer.

Room Tip: Ask reception, staff are very helpful and I'm sure they would be more than happy to recommend a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan_Comerford, General Manager at Charleville Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review.
I was encourage to see that you and your family enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and had such nice things to say about the team.
We will ensure the maintenance and training issues you highlighted will be addressed immediately , these are two areas of the hotel that we continue to invest in and would never cut back on.
Thank you again for your feedback , we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Regards

Brendan Comerford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed at the Charleville Park over the Easter holidays , for two nights B&B with my husband and two children aged 4 and 9.
First impressions were very good, reception area is bright and modern and we were checked in quickly. Our room was very nice and very close to lift which was handy. After arriving we went straight to the leisure club to check it out. Pool is great, very family friendly with paddle pool for babies/ toddlers as well as a bigger pool area. Didn't go in jacuzzi but it looked great. Loved the steam room and sauna. While we stayed in the hotel there were lots of kids activities organised. My children did not go to the kids club during the day as we were out on day trips but they both really liked the cinema every night at 7pm which served hot chocolate and popcorn. We all found the food served to be excellent. Liked that as well as the usual buffet breakfast stuff: cereal, bread, fruit and yoghurts, they had a breakfast menu that you could order french toast, pancakes and other cooked items from. I had the French cinnamon toast which was delicious. Loved the bacon too, lovely thick rashers and not fatty or greasy. Staff were attentive, we had a problem with misbehaving children playing football right outside our door at 9:30pm and when I rang reception to complain, a staff member came straight away to remove them. A few little minus points: no biscuits with our tea/ coffee set up and there was a gap in the window of our room which the wind whistled really loudly through. When we left the hotel at check out, both our sons received a boxed Easter Egg which was a nice touch. We travelled 240 miles from Portadown to visit his hotel and would definitely make a return visit despite the distance.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank fashionfeverish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan_Comerford, General Manager at Charleville Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review it’s great to see such feedback .
We will address the issues with the wind and it is our policy to have biscuits in all rooms so I’m sorry for this oversight , I do hope the kids enjoyed the homemade cookies at the kids cinema.
We look forward to welcoming you back

Regards

Brendan Comerford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable 2night break in the charleville park hotel with my family. Apart from a delayed checkin which was a little annoying as we didn't arrive until 3.30 and checkin in should have been from 2, we had a great time. Our room no 236 was a very decent size for 2 adults and 3 kids. The pool and children's club was excellent and well run by enthusiastic people who seemed interested in the kids. We ate one night in the restaurant and was impressed with the quality of the kids buffet and the adults meal. My only complaint was the time delay between the children finishing eating and our food coming. It could have been a disaster but the Nintendo ds saved the day. Our server monika was attentive and good with the kids. I would return for another break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan_Comerford, General Manager at Charleville Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review , I was delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed the stay.
Sorry about the delay on check in , this is something that we will work to improve.
We look forward to welcoming you back again .

Regards

Brendan Comerford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed on a 2 night break as my Husband was on a course in the Hotel, We arrived on Friday and were checked in promptly by a lovely girl at Reception, We went to our room but due to a problem with the heating system we were promplty moved to room 236.
I was delighted with the change because apart from the heating problem this was an adjoining room which had an unlocked adjoining door - these type of rooms i dont like ! unless by request. ( When we reported the unlocked door it was actually the lady that came to lock it that mentioned we should move room due to the heating problem and organised this for us, she was very helpful )
Room 236 was a bigger room in a quiet area of the Hotel. Lovely room but just needs a few nicks and tucks,
E.G: 2 x plug sockets at the bedside are not working, There is a vanity table and mirror but no sockets for hairdryer etc ( Big issue for women !! ) The tea making facilities had no milk supplied, once requested this was taken care of immediatley & Shower is a bit on the slow side.
I have to compliment the Staff, They were all great and willing to assist in any way possible.
The Leisure Center is big and very Family Friendly, However we found the Jacuzzi water cold and the leisure area and dressing room area's in general very cold. The Sauna and Steam room were good, but again once you stepped out to the leisure area it was freezing,
I personally like to lounge around the Lobby / Reception area's reading the daily papers and cups of tea, But I found the lobby / reception area really cold and just wasnt comfortable to do so this time, I found this disappointing.
We ate in the restaurant both nights and we thoroughly enjoyed the meals, the food was lovley and service was great. What i did find a little strange was there was no Wine /Drinks menu offered.
However overall we enjoyed the weekend and Yes would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DELLAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan_Comerford, General Manager at Charleville Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed so many elements of your stay and in particular your positive comments about our team.
Unfortunately we did have an intermittent problem with our Leisure Centre heating which I am delighted to say has been fixed, I also note your feedback on the room lay out and we will take your comments on board and look to addressing these short falls .
Thanks you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Brendan Comerford
General Manager
Charleville Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

we went through a grab one experience with my sister and her husband in total there was six of us. on arrival the receptionist was very helpful and polite and that carried on the whole weekend. the hotel rooms are beautiful. however on the saturday morning we went down for breakfast the only thing that was edible was the sausages beans and hash browns. the pudding was all dried out, scrambled egg was vey watery the mushrooms had a very bad taste off them and the rashers i couldnt even bite through them on the sunday morning the food looked a bit better but didnt feel like a fry up instaed decided to have beans on toast when i went to get the beans there was none available a waitress called claudia informed me they had none available however another waitress told me she would get me some on the way into the kitchen claudia called her n that as the end of that. in the deal we had a trip to a donkey sanctuary to have a picnic. you have to drive there yourself and the receptionist gave us the directions. weh we arrived there we told the receptionist at the donkey sanctuary we had arrived from charneville park hotel and she had not a clue what we were on about we were then informed that the place was free of charge to anyone n they dont know why charneville park was advertising it as a deal. when i got back to the hotel i decide i wanted a cup of coffee so i pulled out the kettle which was in the cupboard, i realised there was water still in the kettle when i opened the kettle i nearly puked, on top of the water a layer of scum had grown and limescale from top to botttom of the kettle i rang the receptionist straight away n she sent up anothere kettle which was perfect. i said to the cleaner that it was unacceptable and was told there was nothing they could do about it as all the kettles were that way. how ever my good experience with the hotel was the swimming pool it was lovely and warm, very clean and family friendly. to me and my experience i wouldnt consider the hotel a four star and i certainly will not be returning

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norsroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan_Comerford, General Manager at Charleville Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to forward your comments and post a review.
We are delighted to hear such constructive feedback and I was delighted that you found some positives worth mentioning namely the reception team , our bedrooms and the leisure centre .We did have some issues with our breakfast meat supplier on the weekend you stayed but rest assured this was a one off issue and we have reverted back to our much reviewed and well received new breakfast range . It is unfortunate that you chose to highlight one of our longest serving members of staff in such a negative way but clearly Claudia was not at fault for advising a colleague that the kitchen had run out of beans.
The special package that you refer to for the Donkey Sanctuary was inclusive of a packed lunch , this is what was special about the offer, we made no reference to entrance fees or charging at the Sanctuary , we have a long relationship with this great facility and are happy to send families there to visit , the kids really do have a great time.
Like many parts of the country we do have a constant battle with lime scale and we do our best to manage this proactively , but clearly on this occasion we fell down , I will be addressing this with the accommodation team and looking at ways to improve this.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and I hope you and others can take the positives from the stay and we will note we have some areas to improve on .

Regards
Brendan Comerford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stop in for lunch with my sister coming home from cork. The lunch was lovely and the portion were massive.
I had the cottage pie and brownie to eat they were delicious especially the brownie. The staff were friendly and polite and realy polite and really helpful honestly couldn't do enough for you. Nice place to stop on your way home from to get a quick bite to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan_Comerford, General Manager at Charleville Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for talking the time to post your feedback , we are delighted you enjoyed the lunch , our pastry chef Bernie’s brownies are starting to get their own cult following.
Hopefully the next time you are passing you can stay a overnight and enjoy our hospitality a little longer.

Regards
Brendan Comerford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleville
21.4 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
910 reviews
5.4 mi away
Deebert House Hotel
Deebert House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmallock
166 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Hibernian Hotel and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
14.2 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
12.5 mi away
Springfort Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleville Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleville Park Hotel

Address: Limerick Road, Charleville, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Charleville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charleville
Price Range: $91 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Charleville Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star hotel located in the heart of Munster. Offering a selection of King, Twin, Family Room and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charleville Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing