We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from the crowd, but close to the town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Yercaud
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Stay away from the crowd, but close to the town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

I came to Yercaud for a break from hectic travel and spend some quality time with my wife. The place is ideal for a lazy getaway. I enjoyed the food here. Breakfasgt was sumptuous and the dinner and lunch options were also good. The hotel location is also good. A/C is available only in Suite. The biggest problem I faced was that the rooms were not sound proof. I could clearly hear what the guests in the neighbouring room were talking. The water in the toilet was having traces of mud in the morning. Towels provided were bad. So if you plan to stay here, carry your own towels. The service was good. Everyone was helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giji365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    273
    77
    21
    15
See reviews for
330
182
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

I've booked 2 rooms with this hotel through travelguru during 15Aug2010. I drove from bangalore to Yercaud

Location :(Superb) The location is really superb. The Hotel is on the edge of a cliff overlooking the yercaud lake on one side and the valley on the other side. They have a nice sit out garden from which you will probably get the best scenic view of the valley and it is really worth spending time there.

Rooms: (OK) The rooms are just normal and lacks the basic amenities like refrigearator,drinking water, coffee maker etc which they claim to be available in the room. After a day I came to know that you need to call the front desk for every small thing.

Service: (Poor) The room service really needs to be improved a lot. You need to call them 2 hours before hand to get even a coffee. You need to request the manager to serve you the snacks in the evening time at valley facing garden.

Food :(Average)Don't expect much from the food side and don't try the new stuffs as you will be misled about the test.

Worst Experience : Though there is point for hot water but you need to call them couple of times to get the hot water as it is a boiler based system. Can you imagine the hill station without hot water !!
Before the day of the travel when I've called the hotel staff so as to avoid any hassles on my arrival, they told me that I've upgraded to a suit and when I've reached there they gave us the suit. After 1 hour the manager came and asked us to check in to the valley facing room which was really inconvenient.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smishra_blor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

Yercaud is good wkend trip from Bangalore, it took 4hrs for us to reach Yercaud from Bangalore.

Hotel is situated at top of hill, view from hotel/ rooms is very good.

Food was good, the complimentary Breakfast has lots of variety. They have bakery shop, which has lots of variety of cakes/ pastry etc available. Which was tasty :)

Staff was helpful & Room service was also good.

Overall we were happy with the place, and recommend this place to stay if you want peaceful/ scenic beauty to see in Yercaud.

Cheers..

Helpful?
Thank MohJbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

As named, this hotel is very grand from the outside. Because of this, I was expecting more from the rooms but I was disappointed. The rooms are very quickly being old and dilapidated because they are not being well maintained. Shower curtains are stained and dirty. The toilet bowl had a label on it that said 'cleaned for your protection' but when I looked at the toilet bowl rim, there were some spots that came off when I rubbed it with a dry piece of toilet tissue. Doesn't seem like it was cleaned to me!

The worst part about this hotel is the linens. All linens are spotted and look unclean. In fact, the bed linens had dark spots of mold on them, I kid you not. I asked for new linens only to find the same moldiness on those. Yercaud is a very moist area but that is no reason to have to sleep on moldy bed linens.

The funniest thing to me was that at the end we had to pay a 'luxury tax' - I didn't really feel like I was staying in luxury here. My recommendation would be to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTravelers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

I decided to drive down from Bangalore to Yercaud. I found good reviews about this hotel and decided to book the place there. The hotel is located on a hill top with amazing view of mountains. In case you dont have your own vehicle you will have to climb up around 400 to 500 meters everytime you want to come to the main market.

Some of the rooms has amazing view. The hotel was quite new, I remember they were still fixing some doors when I visited. The room was decently spacious, with a private balcony and very clean toilet. Though the breakfast was decent, the main course was not to our taste. All the three days we had food at Lake forest. They had a good buffet for 400/-.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalit_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

Excellent stay; the valley view is more beautiful than any other view points at Yercaud. It is on hilltop and hence it is mandatory to have a vehicle at your disposal. Food is a little expensive; but with no good restaurants around, it is better to have at the hotel itself. The complimentary breakfast is excellent with many good items to choose from.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shejuak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Yercaud is perfect for a weekend getaway from Bangalore. Our first accommodation choice there was GRT Grand Trails (based on online reviews) but were too late! Had to settle for Grand Palace which was not a let-down however. There was however a bit of confusion in getting the room of our choice though, and the receptionist was actually showing impatience and irritation. The room itself was plush and luxurious. The view of the valley is really engrossing (insist on rooms facing the valley, rather than ones facing the front). We spent a lot of time just admiring the terrace facing the valley. Food was bad though - too greasy. Breakfast was good, but not a buffet (on that day owing to a wedding party at the hotel). For recreation, there is a room with TT, computer games and balloon-shooting. We did not avail of the spa facility, though.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esskaywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yercaud
1.6 mi away
Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.3 mi away
Hotel Shevaroys
Hotel Shevaroys
#13 of 27 in Yercaud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.8 mi away
TGI Star Holidays Yercaud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
LA Four Seasons
LA Four Seasons
#3 of 27 in Yercaud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Flora Paradise Residency
9.2 mi away
Radisson Salem
Radisson Salem
#2 of 22 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud

Property: Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
Address: Killiyur Falls Road, Yercaud 636 602, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Yercaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Yercaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Palace Hotel and Spa, Yercaud is a hill resort situated in one of the most scenic places in Tamil Nadu offering an enchanting view of Yercaud big lake on one side and the valley of Killiyur falls on the other. It is one of the best hotels in Yercaud hills offering authentic Tamil Nadu Cuisine, and is the nearest hill station to Bangalore and Chennai. Grand Palace Hotel and Spa offers star class accommodation, with excellent facilities. An ultimate destination for a Holiday in the hills, is an ideal weekend and a Romantic getaway. Grand Palace also offers excellent facilities for residential conferences, cocktail dinners, outdoor bonfires overlooking the valley and trekking for groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing