We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”
Review of Sophy's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sophy's Resort
Ranked #19 of 31 Yercaud B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed there in August. The rooms were small, untidy and claustrophobic. The front door opens right on to a blank wall. No ventilation or views outside. The bed sheets were dirty. Food was horrible. Service was even bad, We had to wait till 3pm to get lunch even though we ordered it in the morning. No value for money at all. Wont recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUDHIRAR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    6
    1
    9
See reviews for
23
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tuticorin, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I decided to spend my honeymoon in yercaud due its calm and unpoluted location and weather. We happened to stay in Sophy's resorts memory of which still persists with us. A beatifully located, restaurant attached and amusment filled hotel with that wonderful view point. I personally recommend to select this hotel for a safe family stay. The food was highly delicious and the staff were very curtious. hope to come again.

Room Tip: The rooms' names are very peculier and unique. We stayed in suite room called 'The Leo'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venkatesh8497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed in sophys resorts during this flower show at yercaud for 3 days and our family had a great enjoyment. the location ,view point, suit room and restaurant are really worth for its cost.
the hospitality was great. the place is awsum and the weather was pleasent in yercaud.

Room Tip: the first floor rooms have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adaikkalam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

i had planned fr a yercaud trip with my parents and wife and booked Sophy's resort...during booking whn I asked they said the place is very near to the lake ...bt once i got down frm the bus to reach the place, i was in fr a surprise..the route is very secluded and the resort is in a lonely place..no autos near by and u can certainly nt walk frm there...whn i reached there no one was to be found...seeing the location I deceided against staying there and went to a diff place...if u r planning to visit yercaud then plan in advance and book hotel tamilnadu(cheap and best) as its just 50 mts frm the lake...

Room Tip: No tip..simply don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank ayush a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yercaud hotels

Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was my first visit to yercaud. I found sophys a wonderful place to stay with family, particularly with kids. Front desk staff was very friendly and can assist you with directions. Breakfast at the hotel was excellent. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The play area for kids especially was very good, kids enjoyed. I love it and hope to be back to visit again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajeevi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophysYercaud_India, General Manager at Sophy's Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

On behalf of sophys resorts, I render my sincere thanks for having stayed with and appriciated us. We are in process of expanding our facilities/aminities and look forward to serve you even better.

Regards,

Chidambaram.V
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Too of our families enjoyed staying at sophy's resorts recently and our kids enjoyed even more than us. While they were happy with tv and indoor games/amusements, we were busy with cycling and walking around the resorts. we would like to visit your hotel once again and we really miss the old gentleman at your resort.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muthiahp_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2011

oh my god ! please do not book this hotel on any accord. one of the worst hotels ever. it was a nightmare for us . we were four in number and were really excited abt goin to yercaud. but this hotel spoiled everything . dirty to the core. useless service. room service horrible !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viji r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophysYercaud_India, Owner at Sophy's Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Mr.Viji,

I m really surprised to read a review like this and perhaps, this is the first time. However, our resort hotel is never that bad to be commented. Meanwhile I have had a scruitiny over all my staff and they invariably quoted there has been no such bad service or un cleanliness. In fact our guests are repeated ones and they love staying with us... especially families with kids. However, we will take appropriate steps to avoid any inconvenience. Thanks for your review if posted correctly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yercaud hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
1.1 mi away
La Flora Paradise Residency
0.7 mi away
Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel GVS Residency
Hotel GVS Residency
#18 of 28 in Yercaud
7 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Nest Resorts
Golden Nest Resorts
#8 of 28 in Yercaud
505 reviews
1.0 mi away
INDeco's Lake Forest Hotel Yercaud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophy's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophy's Resort

Property: Sophy's Resort
Address: 19 - 21, Sunrise Orchard | Near M.R. Radha Bunglow, Behind 1st Petrol Bunk, Yercaud 628101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Salem District > Yercaud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Yercaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful resort hotel with restaurant located beautifully surrounded by coffee, pepper, Silver oak & orange plants, amazing salem view point from where the city looks like a bed of stars during night, cycling, indoor and other amusements, peculiar birds' unique sounds will wake you up in the mornings.... By and large, a pleasant place for the families to relax in the natural atmosphere. Now, the conference hall/dormitory is under construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sophy's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing