We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its all about the view...”
Review of Sterling Yercaud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sterling Yercaud
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Yercaud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2010

For those planning a stay at Sterling, yercaud, it is definitely a must try experience. The location of the resort is its selling point. The views are breath taking and very soothing indeed. Neatly maintained, value for money and courteous staff are the positive impressions about this holiday venue. Food needs a little attention..

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BangaloreEscapade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 434 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2010

Very good view out of this hotel.. good place to relax and spend time.. evenings can be great looking over the valley... little costlier but again location is great..

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Bineet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Its my honeymoon and i want to make it a memorable trip for both of us. i love isolated places with less rush of peoples. steling provide me every thing which i want. it was a great experience.
There is one restaurent, kerla message center, bonfire place and every thing you need to make a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank chauhangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

I had a few sterling holiday vouchers I had to use before the 20th Dec and being in Bangalore, Yercaud was just a 5 hour drive and the closest. Roads from Bangalore to Yercaud were fantastic. We reached Yercaud - also called poor mans Ooty, and my initial impression of the town could be summed up in the following words - Dirty, filthy, gloomy, to name a few..... but leaving the town and heading on the the resort, was a different experience....

The room I got was a studio, spacious, comfortable. Clean, I cant totally say.... It was raining when I arrived, and the biggest draw back at the resort are the hundreds of steps you have to climb or decend to get to your room as the resort is built clinging to a hill. Picturesque no doubt, but not for obese people not used to excercising or senior citizens. The rain got over two dozen earth worms crawling all over, and werent a pretty sight. The room had no towels, soap or shampoo. The wooden floor was old and looked dirty, but one shout at the receptionist and in 5 minutes someone came with the broom, cleared the worms ( though more kept coming in later), got in the towels, cleaned the foor and then I was comfortable for the next 4 days !

The bathroom had a large geyser so there was piping hot water all day long. The receptionist - Mr Kumar was polite, fast and I had no complaints there after. The F & B Manager was also very efficient - I complained about the tough mutton served for lunch and he made sure I got a free plate of mutton for dinner which was perfectly cooked and delicious....a good guesture I thought on his part !

Here are my pros and cons of Sterling Resorts....


Pro's..........

-Large, comfortable room with a large sitout ( not all rooms are the same am told, but I guess I was lucky)

-Inexpensive and delicious food at the restaurtant. No complaints at all about the food, a selection of north indian, south Indian, tandoor and chinese ( though they never had fish and tandoor during my 4 day stay) and a lot of other popular selections...some for as far as Goa or Kerala

-The ayurvedic massage centre was inexpensive and superb !

-rooms service was fast and food came piping hot.

-good ambience around...

-The guide Johnson who took us trekking was excellent....the trek though through very steep terrain was exciting and worth it.

-The driver of the mini coach who took us sightseeing was polite and courteous. The price for both the trek and the sightseeing were very reasonable.

Cons:

-too many steps to decent or to climb up.....not advisable for old people or people not used to climbing dozens of stairs ( more than a 100 to get to my room)

-House keeping staff are lazy, just want to dump your fresth towels and vanish. They need to be given a refresher course in cleaning up rooms. They eventually do their job, but not after being told what to do and how to do it..

-Room service staff should be told to clean up the table after they clear the plates. The just collect the plates and walk out leaving me to stare at a dirty table and do the cleaning myself. When I once asked the waiter to clean the table he asked me to call housekeeping. This I thought was cheeky !

-Keep your rooms locked - lots of monkeys around.

-the earth worms all around... I first thought they were leeches... but then got used to it. Not a pretty sight at first...but then, guess that cant be helped...


I was a bit disappointed with the sightseeing - a visit to Ladies seat, gents seat, Pagoda poingt( totally crap) - were all covered in mist. A couple of small temples, a drive through coffee and spice plantations, a stop at the Horticulture garden - a total waste of time, a stop at rose garden - surprising, no roses to be seen and finally at Bhavani Singhs Perfumery where I spent a lot of money buying stuff which I have tried and used and find to be excellent ! I thought the little walk through his herb garden and his explantion before taking us to his house and displaying his products was good salesmanship, but then, am happy with what I bought....The aloe gel, the facial set, the hair oil, mouth wash, and Black panther oil and not to forget the gulkand....

Thats about it..... will I visit yercaud again, definitely yes, but will I stay at Sterlings???? am not quite sure....especially since I was told they are going to hike up the rates of the food.... But Id definitely like to stay at the Grand Palace which i happened to visit while in Yercaud - a bit pricey but an amazing property - superb rooms ,a fabulous spa, a lovely restaurat with great views, a well stocked bar and No earthworms crawling or a 100 steps to climb !

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank vinn_2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

i personally recommend the hotel. Its located on the side of a cliff giving an awsome view of the valleysand greenery around. The rooms are also very good. There is a roftop lawn ideal for spending free time or chatting with friends. The food in the restaurent, Robesco, is also very good, but its a little costly, altough royal. But i will recommend eating from some other nearby hotel

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jimvaghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Location of sterling resort is really awesome! I have never seen a resort located in the way sterling located in yercaud.sometime I felt whether I am falling from the mountain,the location make me to feel like that.In few places you can see the mist passing above you but here in sterling resort you can see the mist getting originated and passing under you,in such a way the sterling resort is located.There are not much places in yercaud to see but being in the resort you can see lot of places with great views.An extra ordinary place to relax.You don't have to wait till your late fifties to feel the retirement just come to sterling and take a cup of coffee in the early morning then sit and see the mountain view and the mist then you will feel forget your work and pressure and you will have the relax feeling one will have after his retirement.

Everything in the world has two sides and sterling is not an exception to that.Food in sterling is really pathetic.Even in the road side hotels you can a better food than in sterling.Being such a highly graded resort I don't know why they are keep on ignoring the food quality for a long time. Imagine the quality of food cooked by a girl born and brought up in the metros and sterling food quality will also be like that only.

In life to get a better thing we have to sacrifice small things the same way to get the best of an experience in the sterling you have to sacrifice your tongue taste to get and feel nature's taste.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank TravellingLife_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Good Service
Taxi service and guide was very good
To improve in Housekeeping

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank krangakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yercaud hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
3.5 mi away
LA Four Seasons
LA Four Seasons
#3 of 29 in Yercaud
177 reviews
1.5 mi away
WOW Bison Woods
WOW Bison Woods
#2 of 29 in Yercaud
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shevaroys
Hotel Shevaroys
#13 of 29 in Yercaud
480 reviews
1 mi away
Happy Nest
Happy Nest
#14 of 29 in Yercaud
31 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aradhana Inn
Hotel Aradhana Inn
#15 of 29 in Yercaud
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Yercaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Yercaud

Address: Lady's Seat Road, Yercaud 636601, India (Formerly Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Salem District > Yercaud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Yercaud
Price Range: $45 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Yercaud 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Yercaud sits atop the mighty Shevaroy Hills, overlooking lush coffee gardens, the Mettur Dam and Salem City. It is located at a vantage point in the Servarayan Hills, surrounded by the serene and aromatic ambience of coffee and spice plantations. Almost 4,700 feet above sea level, the nearby Yercaud Lake adds a scenic charm and tranquility to this jewel in the Sterling crown. Key tourist spots are a walking distance from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sterling Yercaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing