We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Yercaud
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredible Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

As an ex-member of the Sterling Holiday resorts & presently shifted over to Royal Sterling Goa group, I had very high expectations of this Resort as I myself had admiringly rated this resort as one of their best among south Indian resorts.

The location is excellent but services are terrible. Very slow, smiling but helpless staff, trained only for sweet talk but take absolutely no action.

The location is beautiful but planning & layout of rooms need lot to be desired. There is a place for excellent sit-out adjoining the lower level room of a twin apartment which has no door but only a window!!. Since there is no access to the sit out- the space is not cleaned at all.

The Resort appears to be in perpetual renovation,mostly imaginary & unwarranted but certainly inconveniencing the residents. Earlier they used to provide hot-plates & later Induction heaters for the members stay but now they feel by depriving the residents of cooking in the apartment kitchen, they thought they can lure them by inviting them to their restaurant. Alas!!.....The dining experience in their restaurant was a disaster- which I would deal in detail later.

We went in a family group of 6 adults & 2 kids as a guest of my brother, who still continues rather reluctantly as a member of Sterling time-share. After going down all those 80 odd steps to their Reception hall cum dining space converted Lobby, We were asked to wait & were shown a sofa which needed a few stitches. Patiently waiting & showing the IDs of all members in the group we were served a glass of cold drink and then were applied vermilion on our foreheads which all appeared superfluous & avoidable as they were delaying the allotment of the room.

As if showing great concern,for the 2 elderly couple of the group, they suggested that the twin room #102 approachable from the Gents Seat parking lot (The other parking was at lower level Ladies' Seat). Having been driving from Bangalore under very heavy traffic even on Highway #7 due to Holiday rush (Rajyotsava & Deepavali) we just wanted to enter the room & relax.

The sweet talking receptionist disappeared soon with one of the guests to show them a room close by, leaving us with the cold drink to sip & wait eternally for taking photo copies of ID cards!!. One of the Bell Boys showed us the Room # 102 the entry to which was through the dump yard of discarded kitchen equipments, sofas, chairs, broken steps, dangerously dangling scaffolding etc!!!....

The Bellboy was telling that the renovation was going on hence the entry could not be better.

We had to demand towels for each adult as they had provided only 4 towels for a twin room whose occupancy was for 6. The kitchen in the apartment was provided only with Microwave where it is difficult to cook south Indian meals. We would not have minded if the restaurant was serving good food.

The rooms were tolerably clean but the equipments were old & ready to be discarded. The exhaust fan was not working & so was the geyser. The water in the tap was not fit enough to drink so we had purchased mineral water in advance. The sofa cum bed was hard and uneven.

Our worst experience was reserved on the penultimate day of our departure. Being lured by the sweet talking staff that the dinner on Sunday was a special course buffet which after discount would be some Rs 500+taxes, we decided to try in spite of the negative feedback's....

We had booked in advance for the Sunday dinner for 6 adults. This dinner is a turning point for our future holiday plans!!.

The menu was inviting but it was too spicy & tasteless.There were too many among the hotel staff simply loitering around and when my daughter drew the attention of one of them & later several of them to see that the water spill ed by one of their guests need to be mopped, no one attended. I went to the receptionist & told her to arrange mopping & she coolly phoned the house keeping to come & arrange. No one turned up even after 15 minutes!!. Meantime our kids who would go to games room & come to dining area were in danger of slipping & hurting themselves.

Exasperated, my daughter took upon herself the task of mopping operation in view of the other diners & the hotel staff. One Mr. Chandran, later phoned to the room to enquire about the incident & was more eager to know how was the room service, cleanliness of room etc for which my daughter appropriately responded.

My suggestion to the future residents would be to make certain that they desist from staying in the resort till the renovation is totally over & the present staff & even management is changed or removed "LOCK STOCK & BARREL".

This is my last visit to Rock Perch & will never contemplate stay here even it be free & sponsored. Of course, I will come back to Yercaud and may choose Club Mahindra or GRT for stay but come to Rock Perch ONLY to enjoy the night view of Salem from the Resort.

Eat & Stay in the Resort a big No...No....No.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mountainoramolehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We would like to thank you for your detailed feedback on your stay with us. We understand you are dissatisfied with your stay at Yercaud Rock - Perch

We have noted down the issues highlighted by you and have shared it with the Resort Management resort management and Head Office. We regret any inconvenience caused to you by the renovation process at the resort but request that you understand we are investing in substantially upgrading the resort so that you and all our members have a great experience once the renovation is done.

We hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to showcase our commitment to delivering memorable holidays in aesthetic and comfortable resorts.

We deeply value your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    149
    67
    17
    13
See reviews for
219
77
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The experience of visiting Y was absolutely wonderful, i.e. in terms of the scenic beauty of the place and even the prime location where Sterling is situated. However, there were certain instances / incidents that occurred during our stay at Sterling’s Rock Perch resort, which I cannot say was as ‘wonderful’.

PLUSES:- View from the resort is brilliant. You can enjoy breath-taking sun-rise and sun-sets, along with the lovely hues of the skies and valley. The bejeweled city-lights of Salem in the night are simply delightful to view and capture on your camera.

The weather is bracingly cold and the air is pure.

The duplex rooms can easily house 6 adults and 2 children without too much discomfort.
Sterling is centrally located and is easily accessible. All major ‘touristy’ spots like Ladies, Gents and Children’s seat, along with the boat-house and Rose Gardens are within short walks and drives from the resort.

The cleaning staff, who attend to your rooms’ cleanliness and hygiene are polite, hardworking and sincere. Also, the security guards and bell-boys.

Recreation activities are quiet, relaxing and good enough to pass many an evening in peace and quiet. The group activities are fun, as are the games’ room equipment. In fact the fun-activities’ organizers are also alert to any incidents of injury. My younger son had some minor injury and I had to return to my room to attend to it. The games’ in charge, sent some medication via the bell-boy almost immediately.

MINUSES: - Unfortunately, there are more minuses than pluses to this place.
The rooms, although big enough to accommodate 6 adults & 2 children is still too much of a squeeze. With young children, one would prefer the rooms to be a little more ‘roomy’ and the place to be a little more child-safe, which it certainly is not.

Sheets and towels are changed only once in 2 days. If you have small kids or even young children with you (up to 6 years of age), this is a problem – particularly when children that age tend to be quite messy.

Toilets though clean, do not have separate hand-wash dispensers near the washbasin. One has to cross over to the shower area to collect some liquid soap from the dispenser located there [Please carry your own hand-wash bars if you are particular about it]

Windows do not have a mesh. This is particularly challenging, since the place is full of monkeys, waiting for a chance to enter your room (even in your presence) and have a go at your snacks.

Food at the restaurant is decent, though by no means extraordinary or even above average. But what really gets to you, is the lackadaisical and apathetic attitude of the serving staff. And this is from a little experience that I want to briefly mention. The fact that they don’t serve you water, or even clear your plates (unless you ask for it) is but a minor-aside. But when there is a patch of water at the restaurant entrance (and kids are playing about & run the risk of an injury), you would expect quick response from the staff. Even after informing the waiters, the restaurant manager and others in attendance about the problem, nothing was done. The standard answer was “We are waiting for the housekeeping people to come and clear this.” Even after an hour, no action is taken.

This is when I myself took a few napkins and cleaned the watery-puddle. Not one staff or member in attendance came over to take up the task. They just stood and watched in silence. In fact, a few were even nudging each other and grinning.

After we returned to our home, one Mr Chandran called up to ask what had happened. I repeated whatever I have mentioned here. His answer was neither reassuring nor sincere.

I just wish that everyone else, who intends to go to Yercaud, should probably be more risk averse and try any other place but Sterling’s Rock Perch…

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaSe401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We thank you for taking the time to write a review and particularly thank you for such a balanced review and the positives highlighted. We wish that your stay had only positive memories and are sad that our staff put you through some inconvenience. We have taken up this issue very seriously within the Company and assure you that all steps are being taken that such incidents do not recur.

We deeply value your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

As an ex-member of the Sterling Holiday resorts & presently shifted over to Royal Sterling Goa group, I had very high expectations of this Resort as I myself had admiringly rated this resort as one of their best among south Indian resorts.

The location is excellent but services are terrible. Very slow, smiling but helpless staff, trained only for sweet talk but take absolutely no action.

The location is beautiful but planning & layout of rooms need lot to be desired. There is a place for excellent sit-out adjoining the lower level room of a twin apartment which has no door but only a window!!. Since there is no access to the sit out - the space is not cleaned at all.

The Resort appears to be in perpetual renovation,mostly imaginary & unwarranted but certainly inconveniencing the residents. Earlier they used to provide hot-plates & later Induction heaters for the members stay but now they feel by depriving the residents of cooking in the apartment kitchen, they thought they can lure them by inviting them to their restaurant. Alas!!.....The dining experience in their restaurant was a disaster- which I would deal in detail later.

We went in a family group of 6 adults & 2 kids as a guest of my brother, who still continues rather reluctantly as a member of Sterling time-share. After going down all those 80 odd steps to their Reception hall cum dining space converted Lobby, We were asked to wait & were shown a sofa which needed a few stitches. Patiently waiting & showing the IDs of all members in the group we were served a glass of cold drink and then were applied vermilion on our foreheads which all appeared superfluous & avoidable as they were delaying the allotment of the room.

As if showing great concern,for the 2 elderly couple of the group, they suggested that the twin room #102 approachable from the Gents Seat parking lot (The other parking was at lower level Ladies' Seat). Having been driving from Bangalore under very heavy traffic even on Highway #7 due to Holiday rush (Rajyotsava & Deepavali) we just wanted to enter the room & relax.

The sweet talking receptionist disappeared soon with one of the guests to show them a room close by, leaving us with the cold drink to sip & wait eternally for taking photo copies of ID cards!!. One of the Bell Boys showed us the Room # 102 the entry to which was through the dump yard of discarded kitchen equipments, sofas, chairs, broken steps, dangerously dangling scaffolding etc!!!....

The Bellboy was telling that the renovation was going on hence the entry could not be better.

We had to demand towels for each adult as they had provided only 4 towels for a twin room whose occupancy was for 6. The kitchen in the apartment was provided only with Microwave where it is difficult to cook south Indian meals. We would not have minded if the restaurant was serving good food.

The rooms were tolerably clean but the equipments were old & ready to be discarded. The exhaust fan was not working & so was the geyser. The water in the tap was not fit enough to drink so we had purchased mineral water in advance. The sofa cum bed was hard and uneven.

Our worst experience was reserved on the penultimate day of our departure. Being lured by the sweet talking staff that the dinner on Sunday was a special course buffet which after discount would be some Rs 500+taxes, we decided to try in spite of the negative feedback's....

We had booked in advance for the Sunday dinner for 6 adults. This dinner is a turning point for our future holiday plans!!.

The menu was inviting but it was too spicy & tasteless.There were too many among the hotel staff simply loitering around and when my daughter drew the attention of one of them & later several of them to see that the water spill ed by one of their guests need to be mopped, no one attended. I went to the receptionist & told her to arrange mopping & she coolly phoned the house keeping to come & arrange. No one turned up even after 15 minutes!!. Meantime our kids who would go to games room & come to dining area were in danger of slipping & hurting themselves.

Exasperated, my daughter took upon herself the task of mopping operation in view of the other diners & the hotel staff. One Mr. Chandran, later phoned to the room to enquire about the incident & was more eager to know how was the room service, cleanliness of room etc for which my daughter appropriately responded.

My suggestion to the future residents would be to make certain that they desist from staying in the resort till the renovation is totally over & the present staff & even management is changed or removed "LOCK STOCK & BARREL".

This is my last visit to Rock Perch & will never contemplate stay here even it be free & sponsored. Of course, I will come back to Yercaud and may choose Club Mahindra or GRT for stay but come to Rock Perch ONLY to enjoy the night view of Salem from the Resort.

Eat & Stay in the Resort a big No...No....No.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountainoramolehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The best thing in this resort is the valley view you get.In the day time you have great grean valley view and you can see the cloud floating.In the night the view of Salem city in the light is awsome.
The resort is very near to Lady seat and Gents seat.Also there is Rose garden very nearby.
Currently lot of rennovation is going on in the resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krishnakumarrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I had just then returned back from back to back journey to USA and Germany... It was a well needed break, and we had planned this holiday in advance for the 3 day long weekend in August.

The route to yercaud from Salem itself was quite beautiful and scenic.

At the resort, The Front office was very courteous and they gave us a nice valley view Studio Apartment (the view from the room was very similar to the view from the 'Lady Seat' View point! The Sunset view was amazing. The accommodation was very good, food was great, and the resort staff pampered us a lot. In the night they had the regular 'Bon fire' and games. There is a nice kids play area (I have a 5 year old) which has some cycles as well. Resort is well located near the Lady Seat and Rose garden. We enjoyed every moment of our stay.

Room Tip: Select the new valley view or refurbished rooms, and you have 'paisa vasool' when you see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SureshChandrasekaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Date : 28.09.2013 (07:30 Hrs) till 30.09.2013 ( 17:00 Hrs)
Resort : Sterling Yercaud ( Rock perch)
Superb reminder system from Sterling via SMS notification (1 before a week and another before a day) on the planned holiday trip to Yercaud.
Got a telecall from perch seeking arrival information a day before the trip from Train station ( Salem), Had enquired about pickup and Mr. Satveer (travel desk) co-ordinated our entire trip from pick-up (Day-1), Bonfire, local sightseeing (Day-2) & drop back to station (Day-3).
Ms. Jyothi welcomed us with Bindhi, though we were afresh from the railway station un-brushed, were offered to use sterling facilities on arrival and Buffet breakfast without question of payment (unlike other resorts), a gesture truly to be appreciated. Guest who arrived later were served welcome drinks (9:30 Hrs) and offered hot towels to refresh themselves (11:30 Hrs).
We were offered Room 314 at level 5 with a climbdown of around 20 steps. The room had a stunning view of the gorge / valley ( at 1215M above MSL). As my mother-in-law is a chronic Rheumatoid arthritis patient, had requested for a room at the elevator level (with Ms. Anitha & Mr. Sivakumar at Chennai office). Mr. Thangaraj (Reception) ensured the same was accommodated and were offered Room 308 at Elevator level for my in-laws.
We enjoyed the 3 meal Food masti package of Buffet breakfast + Lunch & Dinner every bit of it ( though my wife had glutton allergies never felt a prick). The fish curry is a taste ever in-memory by Chef Mr. Vijay whom I personally thanked & wished at the end of our stay.
Mr. Johnson’s excellent caretaking on the Room service front from Checkin luggage handling to checkout was note-worthy.
The security monitoring the place to keep at bay the monkeys from their natural habitat is commendable, though was greeted by the tailed macaque on day-1 with a peek inside my room therafter disappeared till end of stay.
The air was so soothing we felt refreshed / rejuvenated in comparison to city. The warmth by sterling from Bonfires to Tambola & the dance program are still a fresh in memory through the cold nights.
Safety bars for children (below 5 years) on the sit-out areas & stair’s if provided would be helpful.
In all our experience was on par with any international resort service.
- ARVIND A R (9841699154)

Room Tip: One near the edge has an excellent view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArvindAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Of all the Sterling Resorts I have Visited as a member,this is the best,the entire resort is built on a Cliff Directly overviewing the Ghat road and Salem.Since it is on a cliff there is nothing obstructing the view ahead,it is a real good experience.The rooms are good but some need maintenance.One advise to travellers is that,you will not be entertained if you are carrying an American Exress card,Which is also not informed to us before we leave.It was a tough time settling the miscellaneous bills.{I have taken up the matter both with Amex,as well as Sterling},hope it will be resolved in the interest of Visitors,many of them are from abroad.The staff is quite friedly{of course I couldn't get to see the Manager Inspite of my Payment issue}.The Climate was Excellent.{With mild Drizzle for few minutes}.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same View Point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharathchandra1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yercaud hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shevaroys
Hotel Shevaroys
#12 of 27 in Yercaud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.9 mi away
TGI Star Holidays Yercaud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
LA Four Seasons
LA Four Seasons
#3 of 27 in Yercaud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Flora Paradise Residency
0.0 mi away
Golden Nest Resorts
Golden Nest Resorts
#9 of 27 in Yercaud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: PB No. 11, Lady's Seat Road, Yercaud 636601, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Yercaud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Yercaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Rock Perch sits atop the mighty Shevaroy Hills, overlooking lush coffee gardens, the Mettur Dam and Salem City. It is located at a vantage point in the Servarayan Hills, surrounded by the serene and aromatic ambiance of coffee and spice plantations. Almost 4,700 feet above sea level, the nearby Yercaud Lake adds a scenic charm and tranquility to this jewel in the Sterling Holidays crown. Key tourist spots are a walking distance from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing