We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant and memorable experience”
Review of Sterling Yercaud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sterling Yercaud
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Yercaud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The twin apartment where we stayed gave us a good scenic view of the valley... and the small trailing vehicles in the hairpin bends. The best thing about the hotel is their hospitality and well behaved staffs who were always forthcoming to help us...

Most of the places to be visited in Yercaud are very nearby from this hotel. As read in some of the reviews about monkey trouble we too had monkeys visiting our apartment balconies for food but these unwelcome guests were kept at bay by the hotel staffs... The rooms were neat and tidy, toilets were clean... A decent children play area, good entertainment at the bonfire at night and an OK indoor activity area... Food was good, they serve a buffet lunch for approx Rs 300/-

One recommendations for improvement is; Too many stairs to be scaled to reach the rooms... so a big no for elderly people. The hotel need to think seriously of some oldies friendly means to go around the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ifbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 434 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

I, Deepak and my wife Rekha and Kid Aryan visited Yercuad resort from 25 th May to 2 nd June 2012. During our stay we were very comfortable.. The entire staff was very helpful and cooperative. We were always greeted with smile. Good House keeping,clean and neat blankets. The staff was very alert and responsive.Thanks for every thing and your inquiring about us for any problem. This time the restaurant served us with good dishes though without wine we enjoyed the food. We had very good time and it was worth traveling all the way from Mumbai to Coimbatore and to Yercuad....Thanks we have decided to come again next year.

Only small problem is the restaurant is slight costly,would recommend to have rates on par with Yercuad hotels.

On behalf of my family, I would like to thank you and all your people at Sterling Yercuad for having provided us with a great stay earlier this month. You and your staff Mr Satish K,Gunashekar,Jayant John have here more than made it up with fantastic hospitality and service with a smile. We had a lovely time there and we left from Yercuad and Sterling, vowing to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Select Valley View location
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Deepak6317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I visited this property with my wife and son in april and was very much happy with the experience.

I have been to to other properties of sterling(ooty,kodai) but this was the best of them.
The rooms have been renovated and resembles a 4 star property.
As there are not much places to see in yercaud we spent most of the time in the property itself.
There was evening activities like camp fire and the recreation room was gud.Fud was little expensive

Would luv to visit again!

Room Tip: ask for valley view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samson_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I stayed here with my son in April 2012. This hotel is value for money for members of this time share resort; it has great views of the plains, same as Lady's Seat. The food, the speed and style of room service are great. The monkeys come into the room looking for left over food if doors or the grill-less windows are kept open; with a cooler climate than the plains, it defeats the purpose if you have to shut yourself in. I have seen a few other hotels elsewhere draping almost invisible nets over the balcony to prevent monkeys and birds from disturbance. Similarly, aluminium near-maintenance-free nets in windows to prevent insects but allow fresh, crisp mountain air will be good. Elderly guests or people with arthritis take the risk of having to climb stairs for almost everything from entering the room. The lift had failed when we were there. Unlike some other Sterling Holiday resorts, here they do not have a place for drivers to sleep. Based on Google map, I had planned to drive down from Yercaud through the northern side to link direct to the Hosur-Bangalore NH7 but an experienced bus driver told me that only a 4-wheel drive off-road vehicle can manage this since about 6km on that road is not suitable for cars. One normally expects all this to be shown in the map sent by the hotel when they send the booking confirmation packet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rama1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We, myself, wife and 4yr old son, stayed at Sterling and we had a wonderful experience.
Location : Wonderful, full valley view, very close to rose garden, lady’s seat. We like the location very much; it is really amazing the way the resort was built.
Rooms: Rooms are pretty good and just got renovated. Almost all rooms have very good valley view. Since we traveled in the off season, we got suit room for the cost of a normal room. The room we stayed was a duplex, living come dining in the ground floor and Bed room with balcony in the first floor. And we got a tree with full flowers just in front of our balcony.
Hospitality: Staffs are very attentive. Since the renovation work was just over, many of the stuffs in the rooms was not in order and on our request they made it ready immediately
Food: It is good, not so great. Items were limited for lunch. Dinner was buffet and that had a decent variety.
Recreation: There is a recreational room with decent variety of items, including some tri-cycles for the children. You can get a normal cycle for rent to roam around (it would be good if they can provide a geared one). They even arranged some programs in the open auditorium, could not make it as we came back late.

There are few areas where we had concerns and we had already shared with the front desk, hopefully they would have addressed by now. I sharing them for the benefit of others

There were lots of construction work was happening (thanks to the renovation activity going on), and we had to move from the initial room another one
Since we were the first inmates for the room we stayed after the renovation, there were lots of dust, we had to get it cleaned before we move in (thanks to the house keeping who immediately came with a vacuum cleaner and removed all dusts to the extent they can)
Cable Connection and Geyser was not working. Electrician had to come couple of times to get that fixed.
All of these are temporary problems and I hope that they would have addressed it by now.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binuvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I travelled to the Sterling resort on a company Organized trip which included the family members of all the collegues. I was primarily responsible for arranging the trip and what lay ahead was a pleasant surprise.

I got in touch with the resort manager - Mr. Thangadurai and he was my SPOC right from the day our communication began till we left the resort. I must commend the professionalism with which he communicated to me and got all the arrangements done as per my needs.

We reached Yercaud early in the morning (6 a.m.), though we had promised we will reach there by 8. Still, the staff there was completely unfazed by our early arrival and to my surprise alloted all the required rooms to us within no time.

We stayed at the resort for two days and the staff made every possible attempt to make our stay worthwhile. This was all the more important as both the days the weather was bad, and we were not able to go out of the resort.

The following points summarize my happiness staying in the resort:
1. Mr. Thangadurai was utmost professional in the way he approached our bookings.
2. The staff was very courteous and accomodative of the fact that we reached earlier than promised.
3. The food and beverage manager was prompt in arranging all the required items as and when wanted.
4. Though bonfire was not possible due to bad weather, the event manager organized events for families and kids and we were really pleased with the whole event management.
5. The rooms were neat and clean inspite of the constant rain.

All in all the trip was a memorable one just because of the hospitality of the Sterling Resort manager and staff.

Room Tip: The location of the resort is simply breathtaking, and I wish we had clearer weather. I would recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayankParmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Great Place to relax & spend a awesome holiday ...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooldecipher_Dn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yercaud hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
3.5 mi away
LA Four Seasons
LA Four Seasons
#3 of 29 in Yercaud
177 reviews
1.5 mi away
WOW Bison Woods
WOW Bison Woods
#2 of 29 in Yercaud
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shevaroys
Hotel Shevaroys
#13 of 29 in Yercaud
480 reviews
1 mi away
Happy Nest
Happy Nest
#14 of 29 in Yercaud
31 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aradhana Inn
Hotel Aradhana Inn
#15 of 29 in Yercaud
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Yercaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Yercaud

Address: Lady's Seat Road, Yercaud 636601, India (Formerly Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Salem District > Yercaud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Yercaud
Price Range: $45 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Yercaud 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Yercaud sits atop the mighty Shevaroy Hills, overlooking lush coffee gardens, the Mettur Dam and Salem City. It is located at a vantage point in the Servarayan Hills, surrounded by the serene and aromatic ambience of coffee and spice plantations. Almost 4,700 feet above sea level, the nearby Yercaud Lake adds a scenic charm and tranquility to this jewel in the Sterling crown. Key tourist spots are a walking distance from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sterling Yercaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing