We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“star holiday resort yercaud”
Review of TGI Star Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TGI Star Holidays
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Yercaud
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“star holiday resort yercaud”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Affordable, decent and pleasant ambiance. star holidays is located 10 minutes walkable near the lake,deer park & children's park, we 2 couples went to yercaud from chennai catching kovaiexpress in the morning @ 6.15 reached salem at 11.15, took a car by paying rs. 700 and reached yercaud in 1 hour, checked in star holidays suit room cost rs. 2000 including tax per day ,suit had 2 rooms sufficient for 2 couples, food was good @ restaurant, but you have wait minimum 1 hr to deliver, resort had a children swimming pool, not so cleanly, has a park with all play amusements, has tennis court children's and kids can really enjoy. 1st days we did boating in the lake, visited deer park it is opened only till 5 pm and deer park is closed on Tuesdays,after 6 pm far sure it rains superb climate, Next day hotel has arranged a car for sightseeing paid rs. 800, fo 6 hrs , we have seen around 9 places including viewpoints like gents seat, ladies seat and children;s seat, bear cave world's largest temple, top of yercaud, we dint go to Kakalina falls as you have walk 1 and half kilometer to visit the lake, and poor thing you cant bath just you can do only sight seeing, if you have a baby below 2 years should be careful about milk, most of the coffee shops has only powdered milk which is causing diarrhea to the babies. we returned next day by bus reached chennai within 4 hrs through srm transport, good climate, peaceful atmosphere, good to visit yercaud for the climate from the hectic life cycle, we have spent 2 nights and 3 days days it cost us only rs. 6000/- including all travel and food expenses. visited on 30th sep 2012

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandhya82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
21
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
203 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This review is for the room and service provided to me. I stayed in Room# 118. Other rooms might be good but I felt very bad about my room. This is the worst served hotel I have ever stayed. The owner/manager (two persons) are really good but they lack the management skills. The boys/attendants were not responsive to our requests. The resort is not maintained properly. Rooms are very dirty. When I asked them to clean it, there were no proper response. The light bulbs in room were not working. Restaurant was so dirty that if you visit the wash basin your hunger will go away. Their so called swimming pool was also dirty, pics attached. When we checked in they didn't provide the towels and soaps, we had request 2/3 times and wait for 30 mins. The pillow covers were very dirty.

Food was average. They arrange bon fire too. Only advantage is it has a kid's play area and a badminton court and then provide the racket and shuttle.
In the morning time we used get heache and bodyache because of the mattress.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS RESORT TO ANYBODY.

Room Tip: If at all you choose this resort, choose the room which are left had side of the road when you face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Goutam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel from 25th Dec 2011 to 27th Dec 2011.

Good Things
(*) The suite was big enough to accommodate 3 adults and 4 kids.
(*) Manager of the hotel, Mr. Satish was very helpful. He offered his & his teams best service during the stay
(*) We were provided with Blankets, Extra pillows even before we requested it
(*) Just 500m away from Main Road and easily accessible
(*) Quality of food was okay

Not so nice things
(*) Cleanliness of the rooms can be improved. When we entered the room, Cigarette smell was killing. Room Service did a good job by quickly cleaning it up
(*) For people who have driven only in plains, deep slopes were very scary. Parking vehicles on the slope was a real adventure / thriller
(*) Prompt Food Service would have been great. Had had to order food at a minimum of 2 times.

Overall it was a good budget accommodation. Good for people who would love to spend most of their day outside the hotel. Will not suit people who want to lazy around the hotel / resort.

Room Tip: Good budget accommodation. Good for people who would love to spend most of their day outside the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalyan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel for a night, a group of 160+ Students in November 2011. The cottages & Rooms are too good. Excellent service. The food is worth. We had fun upto 2:00AM in the resort. Rooms, Bathrooms are clean. N series cottages are like 3 *** Cottages.
all rooms are with Individual water geyser. Staffs are too good with helping nature. Over all we rate this hotel is one of the best hotel in yercaud.

Room Tip: N series Cottage are too good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anbuvel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

no room service...no facility...not clean...room sucks..bathroom were not clean...not good service....swimming pool was filled with dust n dirty water...badminton court was for to keeping unused bricks...electricity problem...overall this place sucks...:(

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank response_nit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

our group of college students planned a trip to yercaud. we found this resort within our budget. The amenities, they provide are excellent and the service is gratifying.It is is very much near to the lake and other notable places which is an added advantage. the food is worth the bucks you paid. the ambience of this place is also appealing. we would never forgot our stay and are craving to comeback for a second time.

Room Tip: go for master suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janakanChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

* Water was not provided even after repeated requests
* All the phones were switched off. To my surprise, when I went to the reception, they receivers were kept aside!!
* It was raining heavily & customers needed help/ assistance. I would expect the hotel to be prepared for rains... it is a hill station & they are there for a long time!
* Ask everything - towels, carpets, BLANKETS, soaps.
* Looks like the restaurent doesn't have sufficient food.
* They mention indoor games available - but not really
* Kids swimming pool - available but cannot use. Ridiculously, when we asked why it can't be used, they mentioned that while it is raining why do you want to go for a swim!!! And finally they accepted that they are not doing maintenance & the water was very dirty.
* MOST IMPORTANT POINT: IF YOU START ARGUING, RAISE VOICE - THE MANAGER DOESN'T HESITATE TO SAY "GET OUT & COMPLAIN WHEREVER YOU WANT". We saw this literally happening with another group.

Room Tip: Don't get to Star Holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kalyan_Sangam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yercaud hotels
0.1 mi away
TGI Star Holidays Yercaud
0.2 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
2.5 mi away
LA Four Seasons
LA Four Seasons
#3 of 28 in Yercaud
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Yercaud - Rock Perch, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.7 mi away
La Flora Paradise Residency
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shevaroys
Hotel Shevaroys
#13 of 28 in Yercaud
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TGI Star Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TGI Star Holidays

Property: TGI Star Holidays
Address: Salem Main Rd | Opp. Union Office, Near Yercaud Lake, Yercaud 636602, India (Formerly Star Holiday Resort)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Salem District > Yercaud
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Yercaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TGI Star Holidays 3*
Number of rooms: 51

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing