We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and not cheerful!”
Review of Hotel Bystrina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bystrina
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Demanovska Dolina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at Bystrina as we couldn't find any other accommodation for 7 guests over the weekend.

Pluses:
The hotel was very clear, as clean as it could for the standard of the fixtures and fittings
The receptionist was very nice and really helpful
You can get the ski bus from just outside up to the resort

Minuses:
The "hotel" is dated beyond anything else we have ever stayed in in Europe
The legs on out bed had fallen off and were just wedged on to keep the bed up
The matrices must have been there since the hotel first opened! Horrible!
Nothing really work - bathroom ventilation broken/bed broken/curtains don't cover the windows/light bulbs blown/no wifi in room/tv made horrific buzzing noise etc etc
Ski storage room cold and dirty (in some shed outside)
No kettle or any way of making drinks
Awful onsite restaurant - Not worth going there!

All in all not a great stay, however the ski resort made up for the serious short comings of the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adrian_bester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBystrina, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bystrina, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Dear Adrian,

thank you for writting your opion about our hotel - for the cons and pros :) In autumn 2014 our hotel has undergone a huge reconstruction - all rooms have been refurnished and reconstructed as well as with the entrance hall, childrens room, lounge. New facilities has been built - mini fitness, playrooms, huge spa centre. Standard of the hotel is now higher - we have 3 stars instead of old 2 stars. So when you come for visit in the future, I hope you will be more satisfied. :)

reception
Jana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 33 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank martinlI464TP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Holinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robertzapoloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PetrS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mariannab46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Demanovska Dolina
1 mi away
Wellness Hotel Chopok
Wellness Hotel Chopok
#1 of 15 in Demanovska Dolina
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tri Studnicky
Hotel Tri Studnicky
#8 of 15 in Demanovska Dolina
159 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#6 of 15 in Demanovska Dolina
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Liptovsky Dvor
Hotel Liptovsky Dvor
#1 of 5 in Liptovsky Jan
252 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#3 of 15 in Demanovska Dolina
33 reviews
4.7 mi away
Eko-sport hotel Bjornson
Eko-sport hotel Bjornson
#2 of 15 in Demanovska Dolina
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bystrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bystrina

Address: Demanovska Dolina 23, Demanovska Dolina 031 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Zilina Region > Demanovska Dolina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Demanovska Dolina
Price Range: $89 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bystrina 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bystrina*** is located in beautiful mountain surroundings at the beginning of Low Tatras National park, in tourist centre of Demanovska valley. With its central position, hotel Bystrina predetermines the ideal vacation for active holidaymakers during both summer and winter season. Hotel Bystrina*** offers accommodation in double bedrooms, triple bedrooms, 1 room for disabled people and 2 family suites for five or six people. Rooms are equipped with own shower, toilet, TV, telephone and free wifi connection. Apartments have an entrance room, double bedroom on the ground floor, balcony, toilet with shower and other room on the first floor. It is equipped with TV, telephone and fridge and free wifi connection. Free wifi connection, lounge, children’s room, playrooms, mini fitness, wellness, massages and hiking information are at guests’ disposal. In the hotel area there are parking place of no charge, little basketball playground, children playground, open fireplaces, restaurants and camp site. Close to our hotel there is a football playground, summer bob slide, ski centre and tennis curt. During the summer and winter season we offer accommodation not only for groups and individuals but also for families as well as sport activities stays. Moreover we offer off-season stays for groups and individuals, weekend stays and company stays for special prices. We are looking forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bystrina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bystrina Slovakia/Demanovska Dolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing