We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond wow!...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of deBarra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
deBarra Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Rosscarbery B&B and Inns
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beyond wow!...”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Sinead and Dan are lovely people and I would like to think we ended up as friends. To be honest, there is absolutely nothing that I could find fault with: De Barra Lodge has stunning views, is as immaculate and clean as is humanly possible (frighteningly so!), the bed and bedrooms are beyond impressive, the welcome was warm and genuine and the rates charged represented super value. I have only one complaint - we all put on nearly a stone each after all those fabulous breakfasts...P.S. We were even entertained by their two gorgeous children during our stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, front one has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gnltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
42
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed for one night in De Barra Lodge, as we were attending a wedding in Glandore. The owners offered to drive us to the Wedding venue if we wanted to leave our car behind! The house is stunning and the rooms likewise, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and it was a very pleasant stay. My partner left his kit bag and wallet behind and Dan dropped it back up to us, very kindly taking time out to drive from west cork to the city to return it. Its an excellent guest house, I usually prefer to stay in hotels but after this stay i'll be looking more to guesthouses as a place to stay. Thanks so much for everything, i'll be recommending you to all my friends and family!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IrelandMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed 3 nights with our daughter meeting up with friends also staying in Rosscarberry. As my daughter commented (when she wasn't raving over the pancakes and syrup she had for breakfast!) more like a hotel than a B&B. Lovely quiet location yet within walking distance of Rosscarbery and the lagoon. Clean, comfortable room. Especially comfotable beds, large ensuite with an amazing shower. All absolutely spotless. The home baked treats at breakfast were amazing, sure I put on a few pounds during our visit!
Have to comment on the friendly, helpful owners who made us all feel so welcome. Thanks, especially for the box of chocs left in our room when our daughter mentioned our wedding anniversary. That's what I call the personal touch.
Don't be surprised if you see us again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shabser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SineadCB, Owner at deBarra Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Dear Shabster,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your comments and are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay so much, we certainly enjoyed having you.
I hope Molly got some more pancakes when she got home!!!
Looking forward to seeing you all sometime in the future.
Regards
Dan & Sinead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My wife and I had a short trip to County Cork in July 2010 to visit family.

We had a three day stay in West Cork and stayed at Dan and Sinead's deBarra Lodge.

The BnB is in a fantastic location just up the road from Rosscarberry village and within easy access of the stunningly beautiful West Cork coastline. The accommodation is spotless, the breakfasts are excellent and Dan & Sinead couldn't be more welcoming.

The deBarra Lodge is only a couple of miles from the Michael Collin's Museum just outside Clonakilty and the coastal villages of Baltimore and Union Hall are only short drives away.

We had no complaints and would have no hesitation in recommending this splendid BnB which feels more like a hotel than a "front room job".

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hilaryleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SineadCB, Owner at deBarra Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2010
Dear Hilary Leahy,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at de Barra Lodge and your trip to West Cork.
We are so lucky to have such beautiful scenery on our doorstep and sometimes we need our visitors to remind us of how beautiful it really is!
It was a real pleasure to have you as guests in our home, we really enjoyed your company.
Thank you for your kind words and we really appreciate you taking the time to post a review.

Best Regards
Sinead & Dan Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Great in every way. Beautiful, spacious and clean rooms. Modern and tasteful decor. Knockout food and wonderful hosts. Highly recommended stop off for anyone down west Cork way.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goldsoundz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SineadCB, Owner at deBarra Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2010
Hi Goldsoundz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor, your comments are very much appreciated.
We are glad you enjoyed your trip to West Cork and hope that you pay us a visit again soon!

Best Regards,
Sinead & Dan Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2010

This was the most relaxing, comfortable, clean, friendly and spacious accommodation I've ever stayed in. It is literally better than 4 star hotels in which I have stayed. Not only was the actual room and setting fantastic, but Dan, Sinead and their two beautiful children Cian and Eva were so friendly and helpful throughout our entire trip. When we stayed the weather wasn't the best and on some days we came back early to the B&B and relaxed in the guests' sitting-room. This was such a good feature to have. I really didnt want to come home, I loved this place so much. The breakfasts were delicious, especially the pancakes and the home-made bread. Sorry if we ate all your maple syrup Sinead lol. Thank u for everything, we will definitely stay with u the next time we are in Cork.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SineadCB, Owner at deBarra Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
Hi Amanda & Terry,
Thank you so much for your really lovely review, its always nice to get positive feedback and in this case very positive feedback!!!
We really enjoyed having you stay with us and are glad you enjoyed your first visit to West Cork hopefully it won't be your last!
Don't worry about the maple syrup my two children would give you a run for your money any day on maple syrup usage!!!!!!
Thanks again and hopefully our paths will cross in the future.
Sinead, Dan, Cian & Ava
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

From the beautiful setting, through the very warm welcome, the delightful bedroom, with a lovely country view, and the excellent breakfast we could have asked for no more. The perfect end to our touring holiday.
Roy and Patsy Bennett
Cornwall

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SineadCB, Owner at deBarra Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
Dear Patsy & Roy
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tpipadvisor.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at de Barra Lodge. I was thinking about you the day you checked out and hopefully the two flights were ok Patsy!
Hopefully you will make it to West Cork again, we'd love to welcome you back.
Regards
Sinead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rosscarbery hotels
0.0 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
652 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ethan House B&B
Ethan House B&B
#7 of 8 in Rosscarbery
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuan Dor B&B
Cuan Dor B&B
#3 of 8 in Rosscarbery
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bethel Guesthouse
Bethel Guesthouse
#4 of 8 in Rosscarbery
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosalithir Bed & Breakfast
Rosalithir Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 8 in Rosscarbery
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to deBarra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about deBarra Lodge

Property: deBarra Lodge
Address: Rosscarbery, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Rosscarbery
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rosscarbery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious family home, purpose built in scenic peaceful surroundings. Spacious en suite bedrooms, breakfast menu, power showers, wireless broadband, home baking. Ideal base for touring West Cork. Housekeeping included in the rate, which is provided daily. Management is on the premises daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your deBarra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing