We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and helpful staff.”
Review of Celtic Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Celtic Ross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff.”
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Stayed for one night in the Celtic Ross with my partner. My first impression was very positive. The reception area was impressive and welcoming and the receptionist was lovely, a very friendly Irish girl. Our room was very clean and spacious and the view from our window was beautiful.
We had a light evening meal in the restaurant area and the food was acceptable and reasonably priced. The staff in the restaurant were also very courteous and helpful.
Breakfast unfortunately was a let down. As a similar review mentioned, the scrambled egg was deplorable. A mound of wobbly goo that tasted synthetic, i've never tasted anything like it in my life!
After my stay i left my charger behind. Evelyn was extremely helpful in retreiving it for me and i received it in the post shortly after my stay, thank you Evelyn!
If you are staying in the local area i would suggest staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberlyKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
Dear AmberlyKildare

I would like to thank you for your recent review and we are happy that in general you enjoyed your overnight stay with us, with the exception of the eggs for breakfast (as previous review).

We have reviewed the method of service of scrambled eggs at breakfast and will be trying different presentations to see how our guests like them.
Up to now we placed the fresh scrambled eggs in a bowl and up-turned them onto the toast, used extensively in hotels, purely for a neat presentation, we will be trying different presentations for a while and then proceed with the best option that will please most guests.
Already this week, some guests like milky eggs and some like a more dry style, one guest likes their eggs made with cream giving a more solid and heavier style of scrambled egg.

We thank you for your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in West Cork.

Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    202
    72
    31
    13
See reviews for
235
252
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We held our wedding reception in the Celtic Ross in June of this year. From the moment we met the manager Mr. Byrnes we knew that we had made the right choice. They have a highly professional team, and put us at ease with their friendly and relaxed manner. The hotel hosts at least two, often three and four weddings each week, yet we were made to feel that ours was the only one this year. Every detail was noted and remembered. All our questions were answered clearly and they were also very helpful with their practical advice.
When we went for our tasting meal, we were invited to sample from a wide menu. The chef, Linda, also met us that evening and was very generous with her time and experience as we discussed dietary requirements and presentation of the food. We left that night feeling that if the standard of food was half as good on the day, we would be thrilled.
When we arrived at the hotel after the wedding ceremony, we were delighted to see our guests sitting outside the hotel, enjoying the drinks reception, the sunshine and the views. The swans even put in an appearance by the sea wall across the road. Many of our guests had not been to West Cork before and were amazed at the scenic location of the hotel and beautiful views from their bedrooms.
The wedding co-ordinator, Teresa, brought us to the function room to ensure every thing was to our satisfaction before bringing in the guests. I happened to mention that my dress was stained form the chocolate fountain and within seconds, a packet of baby-wipes had appeared and the stain disappeared. Apparently she has an emergency box to cope with all potential wedding dress disasters!
The meal was top-class, equalling the standard presented to us on our tasting night, some feat considering the difference in numbers.
One would expect the bride and groom to get the royal treatment from the hotel on their wedding day, but after the wedding many of our guests described how well they were also treated. One friend does not like crab, which formed part of our starter, the West Cork Seafood Symphony; she asked for the crab not to be put on her plate but was pleasantly surprised to receive an extra portion of smoked salmon instead. Another friend ordered two glasses of wine from the bar at some point after the meal and was handed a bottle of wine which was opened for the meal and had not been finished. She brought the bottle to her table, sipped for the night and wasn't charged anything.
At the end of the evening, when people retired to the residents’ bar, Teresa, who was still on duty arrived in bearing plates of sandwiches. This was a complete surprise to us, as it had not been mentioned in the lead up to the wedding, and again, it did not appear on the bill. We really appreciated this thoughtful and generous gesture.
To finish, we would like to say that we and our families were delighted with every aspect of the service we received for the wedding. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a wedding. If you want a venue that provides a superb service without any stress, fuss or hassle, then this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_camper_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Dear happy-camper-now,

Thank you very much for your very kind words and everyone here is trilled with your review and more importantly, that you had a fantastic wedding day with your family and guests at the Celtic Ross Hotel.

Your review is heartening, and has been a great motivator to all our team to even go further in delivering a truly memorable wedding day to all our future brides and grooms.

Thank you so much, and we look forward to seeing you back in the Celtic Ross soon.

Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for one night only. On arrival I was very impressed. Lovely lobby and decor. The rooms were comfortable and clean and lovely views. The only thing I was not impressed with was the breakfast. The scrambled egg is to be avoided at all costs. Never in my life have I experienced egg like this, if that is what it was. A cream, wobbly blob of something that resembled custard.
I had dinner there too in the bar area, which was fine. The staff are friendly and professional.
No drinking water available in the Leisure Centre. Other than that, it is a nice, comfortable hotel.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BarringtonDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Dear BarringtonDublin,

I wish to thank you for your recent review of our hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, with the exception of the scrambled egg served for breakfast.
We have altered the service method of our scrambled egg (this issue is also mentioned in a second review in approx the same week), I thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you again in Rosscarbery

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I stayed at the Celtic Ross Hotel recently for the Girls Just wanna have fun weekend in aid of Action Breast Cancer. It was a fantasic weekend. Very well run and organised. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. The Hotel itself is very clean, charming and provides an excellent base for exploring West Cork.
The food was excellent and the atmosphere at the hotel is very welcoming. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back again.
Thanks to all at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2010
Hi Orlao,

Thanks very much for your lovely review, and I have passed on your very kind words to all the team here.
Our annual Girls Just Wanna Have Fun weekend in aid of Action Breast Cancer was a great success and has grown in strength every year, generating funds for one of our two house charities, the other being Bernardos.
A lot of the girls are already booking for next year, and we look forward to seeing everyone back again, and enjoying a great weekend.

Many Thanks

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2010

This is a spotless, tastefully decorated, very comfortable hotel in a beautiful setting near delightfully picturesque towns. I'd highly recommend it to anyone. But the reason I'm taking the time to write is to thank the staff and, I hope, bring the exceptional service they gave us to the attention of management. The night we stayed there was a wedding booked, and the music was rather loud on our floor. When I asked if we might move to a different room, the woman at the desk could not have been more apologetic or accommodating. Within twenty minutes--despite being very busy with the wedding--the staff converted a single room to a double, but not without first apologizing for the wait and offering us a free pint in the bar. Having taught in a college that specializes in culinary arts and hospitality management, I know that people in the industry are taught to view a complaint as an opportunity to improve service rather than as a nuisance, but very few people actually do it. Your staff took what might have been an unhappy situation and turned it into an opportunity to impress--and impress they did. Well done! I'd like to add that the welcome we received when we arrived at the hotel was also exceptionally warm and friendly. Management, you've got a treasure of a staff working at the Celtic Ross. Thanks again for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagotraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2010
Dear chicagotraveler34,

It is with great pride that we read your review of your stay with us recently.

I have posted your TA review up on our staff notice board and have complimented all team members on their efforts to give your, our valued guest a genuine friendly welcome and memorable stay, coupled with a professional approach to their work.

We have a lovely hotel, in a beautiful part of West Cork, of which we are all proud off, however, it is only a building until our staff make it a home from home for our guests.

Thank you very much for your very kind words, and we look forward to you being back our way in the future.

Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We take two or three hotels breaks per year and have stayed in many hotels but the Celtic Ross was the one we loved the most. It was our first visit there and we found it to be a warm friendly place---spotlessly clean and comfortable.The rooms were large and well furnished with very comfortable beds.The food was good quality and plentiful.Every staff member was friendly and helpful .The village was pretty and friendly and the walk up there provided a nice bit of exercise after a large evening meal.Thanks to all the staff you are doing a very good job.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOAN3576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2010
Hi Joan3576,

Thanks very much for your review on your recent stay with us. Your kind words are much appreciated by all the team here at the Celtic Ross.
We are delighted that you really enjoyed you visit to Rosscarbery and your stay with us. It gives great encouragement to all team members when their hard work is recognized, and we look forward to welcoming you back to West Cork again soon.

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Really enjoyed my stay here. The room was very spacious & comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Hello jmcnam

Thanks very much for your very positive review regarding your recent visit to West Cork and our hotel.

We are delighted that you have had a very pleasant stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in Rosscarbey.

Take care for now

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosscarbery
7.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
10.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Ross Hotel

Property: Celtic Ross Hotel
Address: N71 | Wild Atlantic Way, Rosscarbery, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Rosscarbery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Ross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located overlooking Rosscarbery Bay, the Celtic Ross Hotel offers fantastic accommodation, many rooms with Sea/Lagoon Views and is the ideal base to relax and explore scenic West Cork. West Cork is an area of outstanding beauty and the Celtic Ross Hotel is in the heart of it all. Surrounded by breath-taking countryside and coast, the Hotel is within easy reach of a host of activities and attractions. The Warren Beach is 5 minutes away by car and a short walk, Historic Rosscarbery (One of the Most Beautiful Villages in Ireland) is on our Doorstep with lovely cosy Pub's, beautiful Restaurants and fantastic Shop's. The area is perfect for families with Smugglers Cove Adventure Centre and The Lagoon Activity Centre fantastic family attractions next door to the Hotel. For those looking for relaxation our Serenity Rooms, using the luxurious Irish Voya Product cater for many different Spa Treatments to leave you refreshed and ready to get back to normal life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Celtic Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Celtic Ross
Celtic Ross Rosscarbery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing