We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Celtic Ross hotel is a charming, relaxed and friendly hotel in a picturesque location.”
Review of Celtic Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celtic Ross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I stayed at the Celtic Ross Hotel recently for the Girls Just wanna have fun weekend in aid of Action Breast Cancer. It was a fantasic weekend. Very well run and organised. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. The Hotel itself is very clean, charming and provides an excellent base for exploring West Cork.
The food was excellent and the atmosphere at the hotel is very welcoming. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back again.
Thanks to all at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orlao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2010

Hi Orlao,

Thanks very much for your lovely review, and I have passed on your very kind words to all the team here.
Our annual Girls Just Wanna Have Fun weekend in aid of Action Breast Cancer was a great success and has grown in strength every year, generating funds for one of our two house charities, the other being Bernardos.
A lot of the girls are already booking for next year, and we look forward to seeing everyone back again, and enjoying a great weekend.

Many Thanks

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 743 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2010

This is a spotless, tastefully decorated, very comfortable hotel in a beautiful setting near delightfully picturesque towns. I'd highly recommend it to anyone. But the reason I'm taking the time to write is to thank the staff and, I hope, bring the exceptional service they gave us to the attention of management. The night we stayed there was a wedding booked, and the music was rather loud on our floor. When I asked if we might move to a different room, the woman at the desk could not have been more apologetic or accommodating. Within twenty minutes--despite being very busy with the wedding--the staff converted a single room to a double, but not without first apologizing for the wait and offering us a free pint in the bar. Having taught in a college that specializes in culinary arts and hospitality management, I know that people in the industry are taught to view a complaint as an opportunity to improve service rather than as a nuisance, but very few people actually do it. Your staff took what might have been an unhappy situation and turned it into an opportunity to impress--and impress they did. Well done! I'd like to add that the welcome we received when we arrived at the hotel was also exceptionally warm and friendly. Management, you've got a treasure of a staff working at the Celtic Ross. Thanks again for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagotraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2010

Dear chicagotraveler34,

It is with great pride that we read your review of your stay with us recently.

I have posted your TA review up on our staff notice board and have complimented all team members on their efforts to give your, our valued guest a genuine friendly welcome and memorable stay, coupled with a professional approach to their work.

We have a lovely hotel, in a beautiful part of West Cork, of which we are all proud off, however, it is only a building until our staff make it a home from home for our guests.

Thank you very much for your very kind words, and we look forward to you being back our way in the future.

Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We take two or three hotels breaks per year and have stayed in many hotels but the Celtic Ross was the one we loved the most. It was our first visit there and we found it to be a warm friendly place---spotlessly clean and comfortable.The rooms were large and well furnished with very comfortable beds.The food was good quality and plentiful.Every staff member was friendly and helpful .The village was pretty and friendly and the walk up there provided a nice bit of exercise after a large evening meal.Thanks to all the staff you are doing a very good job.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOAN3576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2010

Hi Joan3576,

Thanks very much for your review on your recent stay with us. Your kind words are much appreciated by all the team here at the Celtic Ross.
We are delighted that you really enjoyed you visit to Rosscarbery and your stay with us. It gives great encouragement to all team members when their hard work is recognized, and we look forward to welcoming you back to West Cork again soon.

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Really enjoyed my stay here. The room was very spacious & comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank jmcnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2010

Hello jmcnam

Thanks very much for your very positive review regarding your recent visit to West Cork and our hotel.

We are delighted that you have had a very pleasant stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in Rosscarbey.

Take care for now

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed 2 nights with my husband and 2 adult sons. This lovely hotel has a beautiful setting and is perfectly situated for exploring the delights of West Cork. The hotel was very inviting - the grounds are attractive and well kept, the rooms were lovely, the beds very comfortable and the staff were welcoming and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting West Cork.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2010

Hi Leo49,

Delighted to see that you, and your family really enjoyed your break with us here in lovely West Cork. The great weather this year had been an added bonus all this summer, and Rosscarbery has been looking fantastic all summer long.

Don’t stay away too long, and we look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Just returned from 4 day trip starting on 9th August and would definitely agree with the rest of the reviews. This hotel was excellent from the reception staff to the cleaning staff nothing was a problem. We ate in the restaurant and the menu was very good as was the food which included sirloin steak but if we have any criticism during our stay it was that the menu didn't change at all. It would maybe be better to allow those staying 3 to 4 days to switch between the dinner menu and the bar menu and charge a supplement for any change. This could be explained on the dinner menu and bar menu to save any questions later. As i am coeliac sometimes there isn't much choice and it might be an idea to add a (C) to meals that are suitable so that we don't have to keep asking about each course.
All in all we will definitely try to return to this hotel as it was a great experience and i would highly recommend it to my family and friends. Plenty to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CYNDIFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2010

Hello CYNDIFAN

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent visit to our hotel and West Cork. We are delighted that you not only enjoyed our hotel and staff, but also the wider and beautiful coast line of West Cork. Just so many places to go and see, and a myriad of activities to do.

I have also noted your suggestion of inter-mixing our extensive Kingfisher Bar menu in Druids Restaurant for longer stay guest as an option and we are looking at this as I write, also the insertion of labeled dietary friendly dishes for ease of use by our guests.

Looking forward to seeing you back again with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at your hotel very much. We decided to bring our bicycles with us and when we arrived we asked your receptionist to provide a place to store them . She very kindly offered the Manager's Office which we really appreciated but declined as we felt this would inconvienence your staff. We managed to find a place in the corner of the car park and we were able to secure them there. The room was beautiful and we appreciated the sea view that we requested. There was, however, a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the room when we arrived which was probably due to the previous guest. By opening the window this soon dissapated. We know you have "No Smoking" policy in all of the hotel and appreciate you cannot control your guests in their rooms.



The two evening meals we had in your restaurent were excellent, the food was delicious and the portions were more than we could handle. On Tuesday evening we were approached by one of your staff after our meal who apologised to us for the delay in the service. We have to say that we did not notice much of a delay as we were so relaxed in the restaurent. She offered us a free drink as a goodwill gesture and after some insistance we gratefully accepted. We did not get the lady's name but if you can identify her please pass on our thanks to her. My wife did avail of your Holistic Suite and found the experience excellent and good value for money. We did not get to use your leasure facilities as we spent most days out in your beautiful countryside on our bikes and the hills there tested us to the limits.



We also appreciated that all your staff, including cleaning ladies, and the man fixing the carpet outside the lift greeted us on all occasions.

We would have no problem recommending your hotel to our friends and colleagues and would happily stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latestarter51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2010

Hello latestarter51

Thank you for your very positive comments on all aspects of your recent visit to our hotel and Rosscarbery.

Delighted that your experience with all staff was very good and positive,( I have passed on your kind words to all departments). To all of us her at the Celtic Ross, it is very up lifting to receive such a review and drives all my colleagues to excel even further.

Thank you very much and we are very happy that you had a wonderful time here in beautiful West Cork, and hopefully you will be back again soon.

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosscarbery
7.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
10.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
511 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
7 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
433 reviews
23 mi away
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Ross Hotel

Address: N71 | Wild Atlantic Way, Rosscarbery, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Rosscarbery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Price Range: $81 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Ross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located overlooking Rosscarbery Bay, the Celtic Ross Hotel offers fantastic accommodation, many rooms with Sea/Lagoon Views and is the ideal base to relax and explore scenic West Cork. West Cork is an area of outstanding beauty and the Celtic Ross Hotel is in the heart of it all. Surrounded by breath-taking countryside and coast, the Hotel is within easy reach of a host of activities and attractions. The Warren Beach is 5 minutes away by car and a short walk, Historic Rosscarbery (One of the Most Beautiful Villages in Ireland) is on our Doorstep with lovely cosy Pub's, beautiful Restaurants and fantastic Shop's. The area is perfect for families with Smugglers Cove Adventure Centre and The Lagoon Activity Centre fantastic family attractions next door to the Hotel. For those looking for relaxation our Serenity Rooms, using the luxurious Irish Voya Product cater for many different Spa Treatments to leave you refreshed and ready to get back to normal life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Celtic Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Celtic Ross
Celtic Ross Rosscarbery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing