We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Celtic Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Celtic Ross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Certificate of Excellence
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A magical place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel with my mom and 6 year old daughter. The hotel is lovely and spacious and on arriving the girls at reception were extremely friendly and accommodating. My daughter got a lovely 'gift bag' with colouring pens, balloon, colouring book on her arrival. The hotel is very well geared towards the family market with a fantastic kids camp in the evenings allowing my mom and I to enjoy a glass of wine and a meal in the hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect - literally a stone's throw from the beach and different activities. The food was good but massive portions and found it very reasonable too. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2010
Hi Dublinwork,

I am delighted that your recent short beak was enjoyed by your mom, daughter and yourself. Your kind words are much appreciated and hopefully we will see you all again here in beautiful Rosscarbery Bay and West Cork.

We are blessed to have the lovely "Blue Flag" Warren beach opposite our hotel for the enjoyment of all our guests.

See you again soon.

Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    192
    71
    30
    13
See reviews for
229
244
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

This is our second visit to the Celtic Ross Hotel.
We first stayed here last year, delighted we went back and would have no trouble visiting again and again.
Brilliant light, bright and airy hotel, from the front line staff (receptionist) to the bar staff (barman remembered us from aprox 9 months ago) waiters & cleaners.
Everyone spoke to you and nothing was too much trouble.
Room was lovely with all mod cons as was the view overlooking the bay.
There's an abundance of well cooked good quality food served up by efficient friendly staff.
As you can see l cant compliment them enough.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minx1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2010
Hi Kathy071,

Thank you very much for your recent review of our hotel. Your kind words are very much appreciated by every member of the team.
Its a great feeling of being back home when you return to a hotel, and staff remember you from your last visit. We have a great bunch of staff and they put tremendous effort and pride into their work every day, I will pass on your compliments to them, and look forward to seeing you return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Stayed here with my wife end of June for three nights, our first visit to West Cork. Hotel was excellent, obviously well ran. Staff were well trained and so friendly, cleaning staff, bar staff, restaurant staff, reception - all greeted us whenever we met or passed by. We used all facilities, bar, restaurant, swimming pool, wife even had session in Holistic centre - all first class. Luckily we had very good weather. West Cork is so beautiful. We went to Baltimore and took boat trip to Shirkin Island. Also visited Schull and drove onto Mizen Head. Spent another day in Clonakilty and Inchydoney Beach - pure heaven. Clonakilty looked so well with lovely flowers and window boxes - must be big into Tidy Towns. There is so much to see. Didn't get to Sheep Head, Bantry or Glengarriff but intend returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldtimer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2010
Hello oldtimer61

On behalf of our staff and I, let me thank your for your very kind review of our hotel. It is great to see the tremendous effort our staff make every day in their work to you, our guest, result in such a positive feed back. I know our staff really appreciate your kind words and this adds greatly to their job satisfaction.

You certainly got to some beautiful places during your stay, but a lot more to see when you return. Hope you bring back the good weather, it’s a bit wet here today. Looking forward to seeing you back in West Cork

Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roscarberry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

Even though we only stayed one night we left feeling like we were here longer and really treated with special care thanks to all the staff including Anne and Kathy with whom we had a lovely chat, keep up the good work, a pleasure hard to find these days.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiritRoscarberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2010
Hello spiritRosscarbery,

Thank you for your review, and I have passed on you comments to all our staff and also to Ann and Kathy. I am delighted that you enjoyed your short beak with us and look forward to you returning soon to us again.

Apart rom the rain last night, its been fantastic here in West Cork for the past month, ideal for touring West Cork, so lets hope we get a good long spell of sunshine this year.

Once again, thanks and see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

I really enjoyed my short trip to West Cork.
The Hotel was bright and located in beautiful surroundings.
All staff members were very friendly and made sure that my stay will be unforgettable!!
The Pool was a welcome facility after a busy few days. I will definitely drop in again & I will make sure to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2010
Hello LauraMcCarthy,

Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted you had such a good time during your stay with us and in particular your interaction with our staff. I must say, we are very proud of all our staff and in the genuine friendliness they give to our guests.

Once again, thanks very much, and we look forward to seeing you again.


Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grays essex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Spotlessly clean rooms with a comfortable bed. The hotel is a short walk to alll the local amenities and is not too far from neighbouring towns. A car however is essential.
Discover the most amazing scenery of the West Coast.
Absolutely nothing to dislike which is why we have been visiting the area for the past twenty two years so we must like it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dafferswestgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2010
Hello DaffersGraysEssex,

Thank you for your kinds words and our staff appriciate your praise for their hard work. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, and I have to agree with you on West Cork. I came here two years ago, and West Cork is an amazing place.

Thanks and we look forward to seeing again soon.

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

From the moment we walked in the door until the time we left everything was top class. We were attending a wedding for our stay and had no complaints whatsoever. We will definetly going back there again for a weekend break.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lols70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2010
Hello Lols70,

Delighted to see that you realy had a great time here at the Celtic Ross for a wedding reception recently.

We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and West Cork in the near future.
Dont forget your map, and we have plenty of information on what to do and where to sight see in our information stand in the lobby. But our staff will be only be too happy to help you with information on local sights and things to do.
If you require specific information, ie whale watching, surfing, island triping, just let the girls at reception know when booking, and they will have all the info ready for you on arrival.

Thanks and Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosscarbery
7.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
10.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#4 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Ross Hotel

Property: Celtic Ross Hotel
Address: N71 | Wild Atlantic Way, Rosscarbery, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Rosscarbery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Ross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located overlooking Rosscarbery Bay, the Celtic Ross Hotel offers fantastic accommodation, many rooms with Sea/Lagoon Views and is the ideal base to relax and explore scenic West Cork. West Cork is an area of outstanding beauty and the Celtic Ross Hotel is in the heart of it all. Surrounded by breath-taking countryside and coast, the Hotel is within easy reach of a host of activities and attractions. The Warren Beach is 5 minutes away by car and a short walk, Historic Rosscarbery (One of the Most Beautiful Villages in Ireland) is on our Doorstep with lovely cosy Pub's, beautiful Restaurants and fantastic Shop's. The area is perfect for families with Smugglers Cove Adventure Centre and The Lagoon Activity Centre fantastic family attractions next door to the Hotel. For those looking for relaxation our Serenity Rooms, using the luxurious Irish Voya Product cater for many different Spa Treatments to leave you refreshed and ready to get back to normal life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celtic Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Celtic Ross
Celtic Ross Rosscarbery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing