We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the facilities were as good as the staff...”
Review of Celtic Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Celtic Ross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Plus:
Staff are very friendly and efficient
Reasonably priced
Good breakfast menu
Lovely walks around the lagoon.
Good leisure facilities


Negative:
Minimalist rooms. Clean but could do better.
No local amenities information in the room. Why no maps?
Internet connection? VERY poor
Noisy being so close to the road
I asked for some water when I was leaving...€2.40 for a small bottle. Are you kidding me?

Would I revisit? Maybe...maybe not.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmetontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2010

Dear Emmetontour,

I would like to thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

Your positive notes are welcome and appreciated. I have also reviewed the aspects that did not meet your expectations. We have a large local information stand in reception with lots of informations on all the amenities of West Cork, and we will ensure maps are available. The glass bottled water is what we normaly offer, but we will now also inform our guests of the vending machine alternative in our leisure centre which is more cost effective.

Thanking you for your helpful review and we look forward to seeing you in Rosscarbery again.

Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
There are newer reviews for Celtic Ross Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 711 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2010

We really enjoyed our short trip to West Cork. The Hotel was Bright and well presented. All the staff were very friendly. The Pool was a welcome facility after busy days sightseeing. We Will drop in again. Thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffygartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2010

Dear Buffygartland

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel. Your complimentary words have been passed on to all staff and management, which they really appreciate.

I know at this stage I am starting to sound like a broken record, but there is just so much to see and do here in West Cork. Today (Sunday ) the sun is shining and it is simply fantastic here by the sea, its no wonder last week one newspaper described West Cork as the Irish Riviera.

Looking forward to seeing you in Rosscarbery soon.

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Stayed at the Celtic Ross for three nights B&B. We got a warm and friendly welcome, rooms were large, clean and very comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful and very attentive. I cannot fault it in any way. The location is peaceful - if you want nightlife, go elsewhere, but if you want to stay in a peaceful setting with nearby beautiful countryside to explore, this is it. Breakfast was plentiful and plain, just what we like. Bar food of very high quality; we didn't use the dining room, no need to. all in all, a perfect short break.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbermanGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2010

Dear timbermanGalway,

Firstly, let me thank you for your kind words and review of our Hotel during your recent visit to Rosscarbery. Your views are most welcome, and our staff much appriciate your views as the best reward for their hard work and effort to you our guest.
Feed back from our guests is so important, as it helps us to constantly move forward in providing a positive experience for you, our guest.
I am pleased that all aspects of your experience at our hotel meet your expectations and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Rosscarbery again in the future.

Thanking you

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

West Cork is awesome, there are so many fantastic places to visit from this hotel. The hotel is a little dated but it is good value. The staff are friendly , the food is good, and the location is a1. I stayed in March and the hotel was quiet, but Rosscarbery is a delighful place to spend some time. Nolans bar is a must , it is one of the nicest bars you are ever likely to come across. It is seldom you can walk into a bar and have a coal fire at each end of the bar to warm you up. Glandore, Skibereen, Castletownsend and Bantry not to mention Clonakilty are all well worth visiting and none are a huge distance away. The hotel is comfortable , clean, and adequate to spend sometime in. I would stay here again and look forward to another great stay in the west cork region.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyaslarryIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2010

Hello Happyaslarryireland,

Firstly let me thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us here is beautiful West Cork.
Its good to hear you had a very positive experience with our staff and our food, and I will be passing on your comments to all concerned. Our refurbishment programme, as the saying goes, is a work in progress, with different sections of our hotel focused on every winter to improve our product to you our valued guest.
I must agree with you on West Cork and Rosscarbery, so much to see and do, it takes a lot more than one visit, and we look forward to your next visit to our Hotel.

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We had just a one night stop over at this hotel. Food is over priced for what you get. Rooms are very run down with battered furniture and a musty smell. The leisure centre is very cramped and small. The only positive was that it was quite cheap. We wouldn't stay here again. If I needed accommodation i would head for Clonakilty just a few miles down the road. There are so many more options there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

stayed there for a rally last year...good value for money and we all had a nice stay!........
loved it :).....nice food too mmmmmm........

great stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catrionaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Last time I stayed at The Celtic Ross was for a wedding a couple of years ago. I remember the food was excellent, especially for such a large number of guests, and I the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Yesterday I attended some meetings at the hotel and nothing had changed. The view was still amazing, the staff as friendly as ever and the facilities were perfect. Lovely relaxed atmosphere.. not a bad place to do business at all!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJCOrk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosscarbery
10.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
488 reviews
7.0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
414 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,196 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
6.3 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Ross Hotel

Address: N71 | Wild Atlantic Way, Rosscarbery, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Rosscarbery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Price Range: $89 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Ross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located overlooking Rosscarbery Bay, the Celtic Ross Hotel offers fantastic accommodation, many rooms with Sea/Lagoon Views and is the ideal base to relax and explore scenic West Cork. West Cork is an area of outstanding beauty and the Celtic Ross Hotel is in the heart of it all. Surrounded by breath-taking countryside and coast, the Hotel is within easy reach of a host of activities and attractions. The Warren Beach is 5 minutes away by car and a short walk, Historic Rosscarbery (One of the Most Beautiful Villages in Ireland) is on our Doorstep with lovely cosy Pub's, beautiful Restaurants and fantastic Shop's. The area is perfect for families with Smugglers Cove Adventure Centre and The Lagoon Activity Centre fantastic family attractions next door to the Hotel. For those looking for relaxation our Serenity Rooms, using the luxurious Irish Voya Product cater for many different Spa Treatments to leave you refreshed and ready to get back to normal life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Celtic Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Celtic Ross
Celtic Ross Rosscarbery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing