We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money and good service”
Review of Celtic Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celtic Ross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2009

On a recent three nights stay at the Celtic Ross Hotel in Co. Cork I found my stay most enjoyable. The breakfast we received at 8.30am kept us going each day until 2.30pm. Our evening meals were very tasty and we received plenty to eat. The swimming pool was very relaxing from 7 to 10pm. I rang the in-house beautician with five minutes to close and she fitted me in for a quick treamtnet - many salons would not take a booking at that time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimerickCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 737 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2009

My wife and I had an excellent stay in the hotel.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
The food in the main restaurant was excellent, the bar food OK.
Great view from our room overlooking the water and causeway.
Wonderful walks in the area.
We had the swimming pool/sauna to ourselves morning and evening.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarsideBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We booked a weekend package for 2 nights, inc dinner on one. Got a nice room overlooking the bay(requested when booking). Nice pleasent girls on reception, very helpful. Room was a good size and very clean. Eat on Friday night in the restaurant and both enjoyed the meal very much, so we decided to try their bar on Saturday, I had an excellent steak and M.had a very large toastie & chips. Overall we had good food and pleasant service. But just as good is the area, first time to west cork and will be back again. Good breakfast, but do go down early and avoid the last 1/2 hour which everyone seamed to wait forGreat walks, places to see, even had a great dolphin trip on the saturday, the smalest, but trickiest Pitch & Putt course on the bay, I have ever come across. All in all, a good area and hotel visit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

The views of the bay from the front of this hotel are simply breathtaking -even nicer is the fact that the hotel has been designed to display its best feature - scenery -to the maximum effect. Roscarberry is approx 75 mins south west of Cork City & the hotel is a weddings mecca from what the staff told us. Everyone was very friendly - there was a wedding on while we were there but noise etc didn't imact on us - we were fortunate in that a front of hotel reoom was assigned to us -hence the views. The pool area was good- bring a hat -even if the pool itself at 15m is a bit on the small side. The only negative I'ld have was the bathroom - it was like something out of the 1970's in design. The main room was fine however. We had got a good deal from the hotel with breakfast included -this was verey good -plenty of choice (incl my favourite smoked kippers!). All in all this is highly recommended as a base from which to explore West Cork.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Midland Corkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

I stayed at the Celtic Ross Hotel with my wife and 2 children for a few days. West Cork is a very beautiful area. We took part in many activities - surfing (yes it was cold!), walking, and the wife even let me play a round of golf! The Hotel was very comfortable. The staff were so friendly and helpful, telling us all about the local area. And the majority were Irish which you dont come across that much these days. We ate in both the restaurant and the bar, both were excellent, we really couldnt fault the food. The kids loved the leisure centre for the pool. Myself and my wife did find the pool a bit small but the kids were happy. It was quite in the hotel but that suited us as we wanted a quite breakaway with the family. We went midweek for that reason. Our room had a seaview, couldnt beat the sun rising over the water in the mornings.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

The Celtic Ross Hotel has a beautiful exterior in a lovely corner of Rosscarbery and that's the only positive comment I can make about this hotel.

The purpose of our trip was to attend a family wedding. The family has lived in Rosscarbery for 50+ years. Before the wedding I was rather surprised that they didn't arrange to have the wedding in their local hotel, instead they chose to give the business to a hotel in Clonakility. After staying there we now know why!

We had booked in for 2 nights, our room was small, tired looking, dirty but did have a wonderful view of the carpark and cemetary - even though we asked for a room at the front of the hotel. On our first night there was a bit of noise, but as we got in very late from the wedding we went to bed. The following morning the breakfast service was terrible. The staff didn't seem to know what they were doing and were unhelpful and rude.

On the second evening we had pre-booked to have dinner in the hotel, unfortunately they also had a wedding and a private party booked in, for hotel guests not attending either events there wasn't any where for guests to sit and have a drink except for a corridor.

All through the night there was constant noise with people running around the hotel and then at 6:00am there was loud screaming, we looked outside our bedroom window to see hotel staff running around having a fun time. We called reception repeatedly and finally they stopped the high jinks going on outside.

Again breakfast was awful, but then this was expected! We complained when we checked out and they reduced our bill by £20.00, but this did not compensate for such an awful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We very often stay with relatives in West Cork, but this year due to my wife's health, decided to 'hotel it.'
Celtic Ross is well worth a visit. Good location.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

Only drawback - we were there 4 nights and given a room overlooking the cemetery, rubbish bins and car park. On requesting, we were promised a room with a view over the causeway for our third and fourth nights. On our third day we were told the room had gone. When I asked to see the Manager, miraculously, a room was found for us.
If you want a room with a view, make sure you contact the hotel with this request before booking, It would be helpful if the hotel had different charges for the views - you would know what to expect then.

Otherwise we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tapyeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosscarbery
10.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
506 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
6.3 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
7 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
433 reviews
23 mi away
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Ross Hotel

Address: N71 | Wild Atlantic Way, Rosscarbery, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Rosscarbery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Price Range: $77 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Ross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located overlooking Rosscarbery Bay, the Celtic Ross Hotel offers fantastic accommodation, many rooms with Sea/Lagoon Views and is the ideal base to relax and explore scenic West Cork. West Cork is an area of outstanding beauty and the Celtic Ross Hotel is in the heart of it all. Surrounded by breath-taking countryside and coast, the Hotel is within easy reach of a host of activities and attractions. The Warren Beach is 5 minutes away by car and a short walk, Historic Rosscarbery (One of the Most Beautiful Villages in Ireland) is on our Doorstep with lovely cosy Pub's, beautiful Restaurants and fantastic Shop's. The area is perfect for families with Smugglers Cove Adventure Centre and The Lagoon Activity Centre fantastic family attractions next door to the Hotel. For those looking for relaxation our Serenity Rooms, using the luxurious Irish Voya Product cater for many different Spa Treatments to leave you refreshed and ready to get back to normal life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Celtic Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Celtic Ross
Celtic Ross Rosscarbery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing