We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff and service of the highest standard.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Celtic Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Celtic Ross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff and service of the highest standard.”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed for my grandads 80th last weekend. From start to finish the staff were excellent. Food was lovely for the birthday party meal on the saturday night and party balloons were even put along the tables. Very nice touch.I have stayed here before and didnt think it could get much better but I must say it has. The local touch is was makes it so special. Well done to all at the celtic ross, see ye all soon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidG54XC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    190
    71
    30
    13
See reviews for
228
244
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We are staying in West Cork for two months and last night we stayed at the Celtic Ross to take in an evening with Fawlty Towers. If you are ever in the area when this performance is on you must take it in. Everything happens in the dining room of the hotel and you are "served" by Basil, Sybil and Manuel. Wear loose clothing because you will split your sides laughing. The meal was vegetable soup which was delicious, followed by roast beef with mash, veggies and Yorkshire pudding which was almost as good as my wife makes. Considering that the dining room was filled to capacity with a great deal do the serving done by the playersthe food was served hot, well presented and very good. Dessert was pavlova.

We had a lovely huge room overlooking the water. It was well appointed and very comfortable and quiet. During the afternoon we walked along the water followed by a family of swans, met several fellow walkers and stopped to chat with them all.

Upon returning to the hotel we sat outside at the Kingfisher Bar and enjoyed Murphy's and a Bulmers. We talked with several guests many of whom come to this hotel for stays of several days on a regular.

There is a leisure center with pool, jacuzzi and nice to relax in. We did not use the facilities but they were active.

Breakfast the next morning was the full Irish self-serve.

Next time we are in the area the Celtic Ross will be on our itinerary.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a water view. Even though close to the highway the rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertram C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Not suited for couples getting away, but would return with kids. Food not stylish but lots of it, may suit people who dislike presentation over quantity. Had a noisy room, pity, kitchen staff finished late, started early, room uninspiring.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahsouthbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have just spent 5-days at this Hotel on a coach trip and although it was very nice and comfortable and in an enviable position, at breakfast it does need some reorganising. I went to get porridge and it was at the back of hot containers containing cooked foods, also I had to go to the other room to get a bowl and also for jam etc., Why not put all breakfast items in the same ropom. Also one lady burnt her arm getting at the porridge.
The village of Roscarberry is very nice and peaceful. I would certainly go back to this hotel.
It is also in a good position for exploring.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back overlooking the Spa Roof! It was however very quiet which is what I liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mave38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southam Warwickshire UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Have just spent five days at this lovely hotel overlooking Rosscarbery Bay. A perfect base for exploring West Cork, but tucked away in a quiet backwater.
The hotel was spacious, clean, the meals were good, the portions at times too much!
The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate requests. One night we asked for chips instead of mashed potato, and ended up with servings of both....
It has a good leisure centre with pool, sauna, gym etc., You can walk for miles around the Lough and coastal paths.
There was entertainment on several nights, plus a concert by a local choir.
As I said a perfect base to explore this part of Ireland and one you would want to return to!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here just a week ago for the first time and was very impressed. The personal touch reigns supreme here and that is not only unusual but very nice. The restaurant and reception staff were particularly to be praised - the attention to detail and helpfulness put this hotel a large cut above most others in the area. It is on the N71 which will take you to lovely places like Skibbereen, Glengarriff and Bantry or to Cork City. The red and white check flags of County Cork were flying everywhere in support of the team and I hope they did well but I left before they played.

Rosscarbery is a lovely little place. The village can actually call itself a city as it has the smallest cathedral in Ireland but the entire place runs around a square that can be walked in 5 minutes although you need much more than that to do it justice. Unsurprisingly for Ireland it has several pubs and it is as picturesque and traditional as you could wish for.

If you are coming here under your own steam, make sure you have a car so you can get out and about and explore this pretty part of Southern Ireland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view as this hotel sits on a bay of the sea and looks across to the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiritofFreedom1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I obtained a coupon from a discount site that allowed myself & my husband, our son & daughter-in-law to stay overnight for an extremely reasonable price. The rooms were comfortable, the staff pleasant. We enjoyed the food and ambiance of the public areas. The view is spectacular and the ancient graveyard at the back of the property proved fascinating to the young people. I would definitely recommend the Celtic Ross to anyone wishing to stay in this beautiful area of Co Cork.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillymama777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosscarbery
7.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
10.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
446 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
355 reviews
19.8 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,094 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Ross Hotel

Property: Celtic Ross Hotel
Address: N71 | Wild Atlantic Way, Rosscarbery, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Rosscarbery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Ross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located overlooking Rosscarbery Bay, the Celtic Ross Hotel offers fantastic accommodation, many rooms with Sea/Lagoon Views and is the ideal base to relax and explore scenic West Cork. West Cork is an area of outstanding beauty and the Celtic Ross Hotel is in the heart of it all. Surrounded by breath-taking countryside and coast, the Hotel is within easy reach of a host of activities and attractions. The Warren Beach is 5 minutes away by car and a short walk, Historic Rosscarbery (One of the Most Beautiful Villages in Ireland) is on our Doorstep with lovely cosy Pub's, beautiful Restaurants and fantastic Shop's. The area is perfect for families with Smugglers Cove Adventure Centre and The Lagoon Activity Centre fantastic family attractions next door to the Hotel. For those looking for relaxation our Serenity Rooms, using the luxurious Irish Voya Product cater for many different Spa Treatments to leave you refreshed and ready to get back to normal life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celtic Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Celtic Ross
Celtic Ross Rosscarbery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing