We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Right”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Celtic Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Celtic Ross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just Right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

Stayed for one night over bank holiday weekend. Great location, overlooking the bay. Good hotel, nice big clean room, tasteful modern decor. Nice lobby, bar areas. Good bar food - reasonably priced. Great service all round. Would definitely go back.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Small bath
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Teddius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    193
    72
    31
    13
See reviews for
231
247
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Co. Kerry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

my boyfriend and i have just returened from a weekend (3 nights) in the Celtic Ross. first impressions are of a hotel that has tried in recent years to pick itself up and modernise it but that is just the exterior. internally some cosmetic work has been done to the bar, restaurant and reception. once one passes reception into the lobby to the lift the true style of the hotel is revealed. the lift had a certain unpleseant odour from it which carried through the the lobbies. we were on the first floor with a room overlooking a single storey extension - carpet was brown (off putting from the start), the interior of the room has had some effort with new curtains and modern bedthrow, unfortunalty the lamps didnt match nor did the old furniture, the bathroom has not been significantl revamped with a small bath, tatty shower mat and cheap toiletries, and the tiles needed to be replaced as the grout was discoloured (to be fair to housekeeping the room was clean and they were pleasant). the room we could tolerate as it was more issues with aesthetics but the food in the hotel was awful! we had breakfast included which was only vile - poached eggs which had a terribly strong taaste of vinegar making them indeddable along with a very offputting hair (not mine) cooked in the mushrooms! the buffet was ok but be warned that if you are late and the food runs out it seemed to be tough look! himself had rather raw boiled eggs (= one very ill man) and the morning he had the full irish the plate was decidedly empty and he was of the opinion that the cheapest meat was sourced - more disappointing given that we were so close to Clonakilty.
on our first night we ate in the bar - himself had soup (obviously close to the end of the lot cooked for the day with a distinctive burnt taste) and unedible toasted sandwich. i had an open prawn sandwich that would have been more at home in the 1980's - no effort at creativity and for what we paid a total rip off. neither of us are fussy eaters - just want good food like most people.

the pool staff were very friendly but again the pool needed updating - the chairs in the steam room very very strange (basic chairs rather than a bench) and the changing rooms were awful.

himselfs comments include - no stationary or pen in the room
poor room decor,very poor reception on the tv & poor choice of channels, the sauna had holes in it, not a lot of steam in the steam room!), the leisure centre was awful, the food was very poor.

unfortunatly its a terrible commentry on a hotel that is located in such a great location. Rosscarbery itself is a lovely little town and therre was a festival on when were were there - friendly people and there seemed to be a couple of restaurants but we didnt see them on time so didnt try them. people in the town seem friendly and its really clean.

  • Liked — some friendly staff, location
  • Disliked — food, leisure centre
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Daytripper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

Spent night at the Celtic Ross with my boyfriend. On arrival the receptionist failed to inform us that there was a wedding reception being held at the hotel that evening, this would not have normally bothered us if we had not been placed in a room on the first floor! Having returned from a restaurant in the local village (which was ridiculously over priced and I live in London!) we were looking forward to relaxing in our room after having spent the day surfing! Unfortunately the wedding reception was in full swing the music was ridiculously loud and I could hear the lyrics as clearly as if I was in the hall! At 12.30 am I rang reception to ask when the music would end and to complain that I had not been informed about it (if I had I may have requested a room on a different floor)- I was told it would be 2am before I would get any peace!
So next morning having not slept entirely well we headed for breakfast! I found the service incredible slow and some of the staff rude! Having got some juice, tea and taost we waited over a half hour to give an order for our full Irish (which didnt look very "full") we waited but eventually walked out as the wait was getting a bit ridiculous! I was incredibly disappointed with this hotel and will certainly will not be making recommendations to friends!

  • Liked — beach only short drive away
  • Disliked — music played until 2am and we were not informed this would be the case
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank londonlass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

We stayed in the Celtic Ross for a weekend in October to get away from the city. It was exactly what we were looking for, the staff were lovely, very generous helpings with the food in both the bar and restaurant and it was lovely to wake up in the morning over looking the bay. The location was also perfect for the nearby beaches and coastal walks. I would definitely go back again for a relaxing break.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Kit9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2007

Public rooms are very good food reasonable staff helpful and polite.
Bathroom/toilet extraction fan not working.
Brochure list a bay view room but omits that this is across a busy main road and is actually a muddy estury flooding at high tide. no sight of the sea.
Very strong smell when wind was in the west we were told came from the local pig farm

  • Liked — Staff and public rooms
  • Disliked — smell (staff said from local pig farm), traffic noise, bay view actuallya tidal estury.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank longalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

First holiday in Ireland for years. West Cork is well worth a visit. Rosscarbery is very picturesque. Warren beach nearby is a very clean sandy beach with a lifeguard present. Good base for touring West Cork.

Very good hotel but a little pricey. There were five of us, two adults and three children. I booked a room for three and another for two. The double had a double and a single bed - so I could have got away with two doubles and saved myself €500, The bill for 5 nights B+B was €2100.

The food was good value - excellent and big helpings.We ate in the bar every night, which can get a bit noisey with young children - the joys of parenting ;-) The mussels in garlic cream sauce is a must. There was roast beef one night with boiled potatoes, we been raving about it to friends and family. Loved the full Irish breakfast - excellent Clonakilty Black and White pudding.

The facilities pool/sauna/steam room are well looked after.

Staff are very attentive and friendly.

Ample car parking.

Would go back again, but would opt for two doubles.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AidoMaynooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

Eating in the bar - even with my own child - was indescribable. It seemed that all of the families (including us) were herded into one area. The noise, the mess, were awful but the staff took it all in their stride. Food was good but pricey. Restaurant staff were so unbusy that they were over eager to remove plates and deliver the bill. We were still swallowing last of the food as plates went.
Previous reviewers have mentioned smokey bedrooms. Well, the whole hotel is now a non smoking area and smokers have to go outside to the verandah. This is fine for non smokers (I am one myself) but my elderly Mum had to stand outside in the rain with no shelter so I think they need to at least provide a roof for their smoking guests. Be warned - some visiting diners (not even residents) verbally abused my poor Mum and used foul language on her for smoking even within the grounds. Manager of the hotel was horrified but hotel policy had placed her in the position.
I found the rooms to be adequate, bathroom was a bit dingy and after the first servicing of the room a patina of dust still had not been wiped off the bedside lockers. Also, be aware that if your room is at the back of the hotel you do overlook the cemetery not the sea! We had a 4 B&B 2D deal which caused a huge amount of confusion on checking out. Was overcharged by over a hundred euro, which was then revised down to seventy euro, and finally sixty one euro. Staff on the desk were friendly but couldn't figure out what I was saying. After an hour of checking and rechecking my bill we finally got it correct and we paid. Lucky we had kept tabs on our spending or we wouldn't have been able to fight our corner!
Overall, we won't be staying here again. It was a bit of a trial.

  • Liked — Extra pillows in bedrooms, not just one per person
  • Disliked — Swimming pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HolsMatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosscarbery
7.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
10.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Ross Hotel

Property: Celtic Ross Hotel
Address: N71 | Wild Atlantic Way, Rosscarbery, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Rosscarbery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Ross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located overlooking Rosscarbery Bay, the Celtic Ross Hotel offers fantastic accommodation, many rooms with Sea/Lagoon Views and is the ideal base to relax and explore scenic West Cork. West Cork is an area of outstanding beauty and the Celtic Ross Hotel is in the heart of it all. Surrounded by breath-taking countryside and coast, the Hotel is within easy reach of a host of activities and attractions. The Warren Beach is 5 minutes away by car and a short walk, Historic Rosscarbery (One of the Most Beautiful Villages in Ireland) is on our Doorstep with lovely cosy Pub's, beautiful Restaurants and fantastic Shop's. The area is perfect for families with Smugglers Cove Adventure Centre and The Lagoon Activity Centre fantastic family attractions next door to the Hotel. For those looking for relaxation our Serenity Rooms, using the luxurious Irish Voya Product cater for many different Spa Treatments to leave you refreshed and ready to get back to normal life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HRS, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celtic Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Celtic Ross
Celtic Ross Rosscarbery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing