We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hospitality”
Review of Celtic Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Celtic Ross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I thought it was a nice hotel to stay in! I stayed in for one night because I was at a wedding. Dinner was nice & Hotel is clean. Some of the staff were very helpful especially at breakfast time. The price is very reasonable

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yam1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Dear Melissa H,

Delighted you had a very enjoyable family holiday with us recently. Great to see the kids enjoyed our leisure facilities and the beautiful surrounds of West Cork. The whale watching has been fantastic in the past two weeks with reasonable weather, cold but no too rough.

Hopefully we will see you all again in Rosscarbery.

Regards
Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 735 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for three nights over half term. From the moment we arrived we had a warm welcome and our children (8 and 5) were given trick or treat bags with lots of goodies. Cathy on reception could not have been more helpful with tips of places to go, especially when our whale watching trip was in the balance. The room was clean and comfortable, the pool was great and the children loved it ( didn't realise we had to wear swimming hats so had to purchase at reception). The food was ok but children's menu needed some vegetables but I have to say the Thai red curry was delicious for adults! I would say all staff were very attentive and kind and we really enjoyed our stay. West Cork is very beautiful and we will be back. As it was half term there was a kids club in the evening run by Ciara who was brillian and great with the children, they went every night as they enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We recently stayed at The Celtic Ross hotel. This is a lovely hotel. There was a lovely halloween party on the night with arrived. Very child friendly. The food was excellent. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was great, its very close to Clonakilty, Skibbereen, Glandore & Union Hall. We will difinitely be back.

Room Tip: Look for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripadisormember_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights this week on a super valu break, we had adjoining rooms as there were five of us in the family. Our boys aged 5 and 6.5 were welcomed the minute we came in and given goody bags, the receptionist was very friendly as were the staff in the bar, restaurant, cleaning ladies etc, this hotel is better than any other for miles around, take note other hotels in nearby towns!!!! This is how you run a family hotel.

The swimming pool is small but perfect for our children and the kidz club was superb and well run. The food was nice but i did mention on check out that the children's menu could be healthier and was too expensive (e.g 6.26 for pasta with chicken), this is the only negative point that i have.

There was music in the bar last night and there was no problem with children being there, everyone is catered for in this hotel and it is in a stunning area. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhysethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Recently stayed at Celtic Ross Hotel for a three night midweek break. We have a 21/2 year old and everything was fantastic. All staff are so friendly and helpful and so good with kids one example giving bread left over from breakfast to go and feed the swans across the road - thank you Eileen. The hotel itself is lovely very clean and well maintained , if there is one complaint it is the rooms were too hot - but that was us others may find them ok. Pool facilites great even providing toys for toddlers to play with in the baby pool again very clean and well maintained. The food was greta a great choice both for adults and kids not just the usual sauages and chips. The location is very central loads to do and see.

Room Tip: View at the front over the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in October for the Girls Just Wanna Have Fun weekend in aid of Breast Cancer. It was a marvellous venue and the weekend was great fun. Staff were excellent,food good and ambience warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretto186613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My partner and I have just come home having spent the last 3 nights at the Celtic Ross hotel. We have stayed there several times before and always enjoy ourselves. We got an excellent deal for the 3 nights B/B. We ate in the bar in the evenings and found the food excellent every time. There was entertainment in the bar on Monday night which was very enjoyable. We used the pool facilities which are brilliant. The dining-room staff and the bar staff could not be nicer. Thank you to one and all and we will certainly be back again in Spring.
Frances and John - Co. Westmeath.

Room Tip: Rooms 202 - 210 are facing the lagoon and the view is fab. I don't think any part of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosscarbery
10.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
506 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
7 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
6.3 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
407 reviews
23 mi away
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Ross Hotel

Address: N71 | Wild Atlantic Way, Rosscarbery, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Rosscarbery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Price Range: $77 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Ross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located overlooking Rosscarbery Bay, the Celtic Ross Hotel offers fantastic accommodation, many rooms with Sea/Lagoon Views and is the ideal base to relax and explore scenic West Cork. West Cork is an area of outstanding beauty and the Celtic Ross Hotel is in the heart of it all. Surrounded by breath-taking countryside and coast, the Hotel is within easy reach of a host of activities and attractions. The Warren Beach is 5 minutes away by car and a short walk, Historic Rosscarbery (One of the Most Beautiful Villages in Ireland) is on our Doorstep with lovely cosy Pub's, beautiful Restaurants and fantastic Shop's. The area is perfect for families with Smugglers Cove Adventure Centre and The Lagoon Activity Centre fantastic family attractions next door to the Hotel. For those looking for relaxation our Serenity Rooms, using the luxurious Irish Voya Product cater for many different Spa Treatments to leave you refreshed and ready to get back to normal life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Celtic Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Celtic Ross
Celtic Ross Rosscarbery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing