We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant, friendly & value for money”
Review of Celtic Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celtic Ross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2011

i have stayed at the celtic ross hotel on over 10 ocaisions. the hotel is about 20 minutes from the beach and is near rosscarbery village. the restaraunt is very nice and in the morning you can choose between a hot or cold breakfast which are both very tasty. (i nearly always get an irish breakfast!) if you want to feed the swans and you dont have enough bread to feed them you can ask the waiters or waitresses at breakfast to give you some of the leftovers. the swimming pool isnt very big but i still enjoyed swimming in it very much.
i would defenetly recomend this hotel to anyone! xxx

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fi-fi-xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

Hi Fi-Fi-xxx

Thank you very much for your recent review regarding your stay with us in March.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us, and feeding the swans is brilliant, for adults and children, for me, it brings you back to the simple things in life, a few minutes of peace and quiet with nature, its simple therapeutic.

See you again soon, take care.

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 743 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2011

We stayed here in January and we had a lovely time.I won a weekend break through a tv guide in the hotel suite. It was fabulous room was gorgeous lovely comfy bed and huge sitting area with wide screen tv and a smaller tv near bed.A luxurious bathroom where I spent a lot of time in the jacuzzi!! fabulous. The staff were very welcoming and helpful suggesting places to visit.The area is very scenic I can see how it would suit weddings We dinner both nights in hotel 1st night in bar and second night in Restaurant.
Food was delicious Service was great considering there seemed to be only 2 servers flying between tables on Sat. as the place was very busy a testament to the lovely food. Breakfast was included and plenty to choose from staff were very friendly and quick to table with tea and toast and a great selection hot and cold food to choose from. I also had a massage in their treatment room the most wonderful and relaxing 40 mins I have had in years I would highly recommend a visit but book ahead it was fully booked that day.All in all a wonderful stay thanks to all the lovely staff.The weather was lovely and this part of Cork is very picturesque.Thanks everyone in Celtic Ross I hope to get back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancesC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2011

Dear Doownelg,

Thank you very much for your very kind review on your recent visit to our hotel last month. Delighted you enjoyed your weekend with us and the coastal scenery of West Cork.
Our front of house staff, and kitchen team put a hugh effort into giving you, our guest, and truly West Cork experience, and are very happy to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your break with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rosscarbery in the near future.

Thanking you

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Celtic Ross Hotel
www.celticrosshotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We had a great weekend in Rosscarbery. The staff at the hotel looked after us very well. The leisure centre was perfect for the kids. The local beaches, even in January were a great hit. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Hi Michelle186600

Thank you very much for your review regarding your weekend break two weeks ago. Delighted you and the kids had a great time, and there’s nothing like a lovely walk along our local beaches on a crisp January day, especially if you get blue skies with a not too strong breeze.

See you again soon.


Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Myself and my husband spent a two night weekend break in the Celtic Ross Hotel, Rosscarbery. Our inital impression of the hotel was that it looks like a very nice hotel. Our arrival and check in was excellent and the woman on duty was very nice and welcoming. Praise to the check in staff. The hotel lobby is nice and comfortable. We had enquired previouly about an upgraded room or suite, but was told on the phone on two occasions that these floors were closed.

Our room was a good size, the bed was a king size made of two singles joined together and yes you could feel the seam right down the middle .
A simple good fleece mattess cover would elimiate this and should be put on the bed if selling as a king bed in our opinion. That said the bed was very comfortable once you stayed away from the dip in the centre.
The room was pretty ok , a little dated, for a three star, very clean etc...with kettle. The bathroom was a major let down apart from the good water pressure in the shower over the tub. It looked like it really needs upgrading and certainly regrouting. Not touched in twenty years by the look of it and really pales in comparison with a lot of other hotels out there.The walls are paper thin with absolutely no soundproofing or insulation. It is possible to hear clearly peoples conversaton from both out in the hall and in the room , it didn't help that someone had the tv up v loudly the first night and that all guests were obviously put together in a row , regardless of whether you were a couple or family with young baby as we discovered. We assume this was done for the purposes of making it easier for cleaning staff.

We have four kids of our own so have no problem with children , but having got away this weekend for a romantic realaxing break, we were disappointed to be in the thick of it again. !
It is not a hotel that listens to the wishes of its customers.V possibly the staff allocating rooms couldn't care less if you are couple or family given the noise levels despite reqest for a quiet room and to pay for a suite -as supposedly they were not open, although we saw people going to both 1st and 3rd floors aswell as the second floor where we stayed.
We were fortunte enough in that the families went to sleep at a reasonable hour anyhow so I
guess it could have gone on all night if there was a wedding or function on.

With regard to the food, it is only v ok. .Dinner was fair , the chowder was very nice, but the bread really needs to be revised upwards for a hotel. Plain sliced pan is fine at home but usually hotels make an effort to put out some sort of homemade breads etc... Dinner was v fair, we both had chicken which was pretty bland, butthe garlic potatoes added much needed flavour. Apple pie was good, but chocolate fudge cake was about five days old and totally dried out. Not exactly enticing for a return visit and certainly not standard of usual hotel food. Breakfast was surprisingly good and the irish breakfast was cooked fresh and plenty of it. Buffet was ok, could do with some fruit besides grapefruit and don't have pastries or scones on the menu if you are not going to have them in the buffet as was the case on Sat morning.

Leisure centre was again pretty average and quite relaxing, clean etc... pool is around 15m. Massage in holistic suite was average and they seemed to be v rushed due to over booking by the sounds of it.

If a client asks for a quiet room or for a suite and is willing to pay , perhaps the staff should listen. Normally families are placed together, couples etc... in a different area in our experience. Rosscarbery is a small quite picturesque seaside area and is suitable for a relaxing type of break only if you can get a quiet room which may or may not be available in this hotel in our experience. The area is suitable for walking , enjoying the views but you will need to travel by car to find restaurants or shopping.
We went to Clonakilty town to eat and found of the best restaurants in Cork at Costelloes Malt House restaurant. The food was superb, top class quality standard and first class service in a beautifully decorated restaurant. A real find. Should be on the best list of restaurants in the country at a value price. Highly recommended if you are in Clonakilty.In fact I googled it now to give its details I am so impressed -. It is www.clonakiltyrestaurant.com.

Overall the Celtic Ross is a fairly average hotel, it is no more than a three star, and needs improving in quite a few areas to match its equivalent three star standard elsewhere in the country.
Would we return? No we would not,we both agreed we have had much better hotels and a lot better food . It is good value enough for what you get but given the price competition out there, you will do much better elsewhere in our experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JellyKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2011

Hello Bilberry

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us last weekend.

Whereas, nobody likes to hear negative comments, it is only by guests bring these to our attention, that we can then review our policies and procedures, to improve for future guests.

It is unfortunate that you did not contact any member of the management team throughout your stay, and they would have been delighted to listen to your concerns and correct whatever they could have on the spot.

However, we do take your views seriously, and will be acting on these aspects immediately.

Thanking you

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I didn't stay but my friend and I went for dinner here , The staff were really nice you aren't kept waiting for someone to seat you and never feel rushed . I ate here before and the food is always very nice and well priced , I will be back before the year end .

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sightseer209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2010

Hello Sightseer209

Thank you for your recent review regarding your dining experience in our Hotel and I have passed on your kind comments to our front of house and kitchen teams.

Its always nice to hear the compliments, and its a great motivator for our staff to deliver great food and service in a genuine professional and friendly way. For January and February, we will be open every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (traditionally we close for these months) and hopefully we will see you soon or in the new year.

Trust you had a good Christmas, and the weather did not affect you too much.

Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Stayed for one night in the Celtic Ross with my partner. My first impression was very positive. The reception area was impressive and welcoming and the receptionist was lovely, a very friendly Irish girl. Our room was very clean and spacious and the view from our window was beautiful.
We had a light evening meal in the restaurant area and the food was acceptable and reasonably priced. The staff in the restaurant were also very courteous and helpful.
Breakfast unfortunately was a let down. As a similar review mentioned, the scrambled egg was deplorable. A mound of wobbly goo that tasted synthetic, i've never tasted anything like it in my life!
After my stay i left my charger behind. Evelyn was extremely helpful in retreiving it for me and i received it in the post shortly after my stay, thank you Evelyn!
If you are staying in the local area i would suggest staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberlyKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2010

Dear AmberlyKildare

I would like to thank you for your recent review and we are happy that in general you enjoyed your overnight stay with us, with the exception of the eggs for breakfast (as previous review).

We have reviewed the method of service of scrambled eggs at breakfast and will be trying different presentations to see how our guests like them.
Up to now we placed the fresh scrambled eggs in a bowl and up-turned them onto the toast, used extensively in hotels, purely for a neat presentation, we will be trying different presentations for a while and then proceed with the best option that will please most guests.
Already this week, some guests like milky eggs and some like a more dry style, one guest likes their eggs made with cream giving a more solid and heavier style of scrambled egg.

We thank you for your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in West Cork.

Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We held our wedding reception in the Celtic Ross in June of this year. From the moment we met the manager Mr. Byrnes we knew that we had made the right choice. They have a highly professional team, and put us at ease with their friendly and relaxed manner. The hotel hosts at least two, often three and four weddings each week, yet we were made to feel that ours was the only one this year. Every detail was noted and remembered. All our questions were answered clearly and they were also very helpful with their practical advice.
When we went for our tasting meal, we were invited to sample from a wide menu. The chef, Linda, also met us that evening and was very generous with her time and experience as we discussed dietary requirements and presentation of the food. We left that night feeling that if the standard of food was half as good on the day, we would be thrilled.
When we arrived at the hotel after the wedding ceremony, we were delighted to see our guests sitting outside the hotel, enjoying the drinks reception, the sunshine and the views. The swans even put in an appearance by the sea wall across the road. Many of our guests had not been to West Cork before and were amazed at the scenic location of the hotel and beautiful views from their bedrooms.
The wedding co-ordinator, Teresa, brought us to the function room to ensure every thing was to our satisfaction before bringing in the guests. I happened to mention that my dress was stained form the chocolate fountain and within seconds, a packet of baby-wipes had appeared and the stain disappeared. Apparently she has an emergency box to cope with all potential wedding dress disasters!
The meal was top-class, equalling the standard presented to us on our tasting night, some feat considering the difference in numbers.
One would expect the bride and groom to get the royal treatment from the hotel on their wedding day, but after the wedding many of our guests described how well they were also treated. One friend does not like crab, which formed part of our starter, the West Cork Seafood Symphony; she asked for the crab not to be put on her plate but was pleasantly surprised to receive an extra portion of smoked salmon instead. Another friend ordered two glasses of wine from the bar at some point after the meal and was handed a bottle of wine which was opened for the meal and had not been finished. She brought the bottle to her table, sipped for the night and wasn't charged anything.
At the end of the evening, when people retired to the residents’ bar, Teresa, who was still on duty arrived in bearing plates of sandwiches. This was a complete surprise to us, as it had not been mentioned in the lead up to the wedding, and again, it did not appear on the bill. We really appreciated this thoughtful and generous gesture.
To finish, we would like to say that we and our families were delighted with every aspect of the service we received for the wedding. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a wedding. If you want a venue that provides a superb service without any stress, fuss or hassle, then this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_camper_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2010

Dear happy-camper-now,

Thank you very much for your very kind words and everyone here is trilled with your review and more importantly, that you had a fantastic wedding day with your family and guests at the Celtic Ross Hotel.

Your review is heartening, and has been a great motivator to all our team to even go further in delivering a truly memorable wedding day to all our future brides and grooms.

Thank you so much, and we look forward to seeing you back in the Celtic Ross soon.

Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosscarbery
7.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
10.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
511 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
433 reviews
23 mi away
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
6.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Ross Hotel

Address: N71 | Wild Atlantic Way, Rosscarbery, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Rosscarbery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Price Range: $79 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Ross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located overlooking Rosscarbery Bay, the Celtic Ross Hotel offers fantastic accommodation, many rooms with Sea/Lagoon Views and is the ideal base to relax and explore scenic West Cork. West Cork is an area of outstanding beauty and the Celtic Ross Hotel is in the heart of it all. Surrounded by breath-taking countryside and coast, the Hotel is within easy reach of a host of activities and attractions. The Warren Beach is 5 minutes away by car and a short walk, Historic Rosscarbery (One of the Most Beautiful Villages in Ireland) is on our Doorstep with lovely cosy Pub's, beautiful Restaurants and fantastic Shop's. The area is perfect for families with Smugglers Cove Adventure Centre and The Lagoon Activity Centre fantastic family attractions next door to the Hotel. For those looking for relaxation our Serenity Rooms, using the luxurious Irish Voya Product cater for many different Spa Treatments to leave you refreshed and ready to get back to normal life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Celtic Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Celtic Ross
Celtic Ross Rosscarbery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing