We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat in beautiful sopt”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge area of large open plan living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Lounge area of large open plan living space
The kitchen with dishwasher, range cooker and smeg fridge
Main bathroom downstairs with bath and basin (separate WC next door)
Utility area with washing machine, tumble dryer and microwave oven
One of the twin bedrooms
View from the back of the house. Coppingers' Court in the middle of the photo.
Mill Cove, a few minutes walk from the house
View from fields above Crab Cottage (cottage just visible lower left in photo)
View across the valley from the cottage
Ruins of another cottage within the garden
Sign at the bottom of the track
Wild flowers in the garden
Famous West Cork Fushias
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rosscarbery, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jacquih92
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat in beautiful sopt”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Returned to Crab Cottage with our 4 children (including 2 teens). Our 12 year old son said it was his best holiday ever.
Crab Cottage was spotless, so well equipped and so tranquil.It has stunning views, is secluded but within easy reach (by car) to the shops and beautiful coast.
The kids loved exploring, blackberry picking, taking photos and playing basketball at the cottage.
The owners have everything one could wish for to make it a home from home.
We will be back!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness of the cottage and its stunning location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
footballl...
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a brilliant short break at Crab Cottage. Its a remote but not too remote, beautiful house and has everything in it that one could wish for. It has been very well thought out nothing has been left out from booklets and instructions for everything to great suggestions of where to go and what to do. We loved it.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole break
Liked least: Maybe a bit remote
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ailishans...
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in spectacular location”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for a weekend in Crab Cottage. The cottage is spacious, comfortable, warm and thoughtfully kitted out - we had lovely meals each evening round the kitchen table after a day walking. The window seat in the main bedroom looks out to the sea beyond. The location of the cottage in Mill Cove is so lovely and is surrounded by wild fuschia hedges. This area of West Cork is very special and we had fabulous walks including Long Strand and later we walked to Galley Head which was spectacular, we saw Seals swimming from a vantage point on the cliffs. Clonakility has wonderful cafés including Richey's where we had a delicious dinner on Saturday evening. The owners of Crab Cottage have done a great guide to the local area and were very helpful through the booking process.

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquih92
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A magical spot”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is our 3rd trip to Crab Cottage for our family holiday. It is in a stunning setting. The place was immaculate. It is all the small things which makes it so special. The kitchen is very well equipped. We picked blackberries from the hedgerows and made a delicious pie. The kids loved playing basketball outside (which made a change from being stuck on pcs). We used the golfclubs by the door on the course by the beach.
It was a great holiday and can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little touches which make it so homely
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorc_no
Skerries, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sooooo relaxing!”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We are a family of four and we stayed in Crab Cottage recently and I can honestly say I have not been so relaxed in a long time.
We spent time kayaking and swimming in the little cove at the bottom of the lane, had a little bbq in the afternoon on the beach with mackerel my 12 year old son caught.
This lovely cottage has fantastic views of the river valley to one side and sea views on the other.
It's very well laid out, three good bedrooms, two and a half bathrooms a large utility/coat room and a really cosy kitchen and living room with a great cooker and cute red fridge. The kitchen chairs could do with a cushion if you sit on them for a long time though.
Bring your own 3g dongle if you require internet, but the lack of phone signal and broadband was an absolute pleasure, we did things as a family instead.
A lovely cottage for a family holiday or quiet getaway.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and it's grounds were perfectly maintained and very comfortable and relaxing.
Liked least: The kitchen chairs need cushions, but I'm nit picking now.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2014
We are glad you had a relaxing holiday. For the benefit of future guests who do want more contact with the outside world I should point out that broadband is available at Crab Cottage. We have had that facility for over 2 years and it works very well with good coverage from the router throughout the house. It is mobile broadband which just requires an easy top up on the 3.ie network - full instructions provided and very simple to do. Up to 5 devices can be connected to the router at any one time. The broadband connection speed is very good with this system.
In term of mobile reception it does vary a little and sometimes you may need to move about a bit to get a good signal depending on your network. IT IS ALWAYS POSSIBLE TO FIND A SPOT TO MAKE A CALL. Our family for example has 4 mobiles on different networks and normally all have a signal.
We have just arranged for different dining chairs that have a padded rather than solid seat, so that should make everyone a little more comfortable!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cora m
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cottage.Great location.”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage was exactly as described on the website.Modern and bright and well equipped.It was a short walk to a private cove where we spent hours skimming stones and catching crabs with the kids.Roscarberry village is very quaint with great cafes and beautiful flowers.We had a lovely day on Sherkin island and great fish and chips in the Islanders Rest on the island.We also spent 2 days on the warren beach in Rosscarbery which was very safe .My husband had a great day diving on Fastnet Rock from Baltimore.Loved the wild fuschia and the fox who was out day and night.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: able to walk to the cove
Liked least: narrow road leading to cottage
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Reviewed May 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting out the back over looking the valley with a coffee in the sunshine watching the girls play on the swim
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing