We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Ireland”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge area of large open plan living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Lounge area of large open plan living space
The kitchen with dishwasher, range cooker and smeg fridge
Main bathroom downstairs with bath and basin (separate WC next door)
Utility area with washing machine, tumble dryer and microwave oven
One of the twin bedrooms
View from the back of the house. Coppingers' Court in the middle of the photo.
Mill Cove, a few minutes walk from the house
View from fields above Crab Cottage (cottage just visible lower left in photo)
View across the valley from the cottage
Ruins of another cottage within the garden
Sign at the bottom of the track
Wild flowers in the garden
Famous West Cork Fushias
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rosscarbery, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carnglave
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic Ireland”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was our first visit to West Cork in over 20 years and Crab Cottage ticked all our boxes in terms of location, amenities and comfort.
The cottage is beautifully situated on a hillside overlooking mill cove with views both towards the sea and Galley head and inland, with Coppingers Court clearly visible about a mile distant. Rosscarbery is the nearest village with shops, pubs, restaurants and hotel facilities, a five minute drive or for the brave about 45 minutes walk (each way!).
The cottage is set in good sized grounds, set well back off the (very) minor road (cul de sac) and not overlooked. The back garden, whilst not fenced in, was nevertheless ideal for our two year old golden retriever, Oscar and would be equally safe for children.
Mill Cove itself is a very short walk down a narrow winding lane and provides a sheltered spot for kids (and dogs) to splash about especially when the tide is out.

The cottage is very well equipped for both summer and winter living, with books, television and dvds when the weather dictates staying indoors and a timber deck, table and chairs when outdoor living is called for. The kitchen and utility room were both very well kitted out with every facility you could need.
The bedrooms were also well appointed and comfortable. The Lookout in the Master bedroom provided good views towards the sea and Countryside.
Location wise a considerable part of West Cork is easily accessible from the cottage. Skibbereen and Clonakilty are both short drives, Glandore with its pubs overlooking Union Hall and Union Hall itself with the Glenmar fish shop are even closer. There is a pleasant costal drive to Kinsale from Clonakilty and even Cork City is reachable in around an hour if you feel the need to visit the English Market - we did this on the way home.
This is also an beautiful area for walking, with a retriever we needed to put in several miles each day and there are numerous opportunities for beach and Country walks. Castle Freke and the Long Strand is an ideal combination of both.
One point to note: The laneway up to the cottage continues on past the house towards the top of the hill and provides access to farmland. Occasionally a farmer may drive past to the fields but this was an infrequent occurrence and did not disrupt the privacy and peace we experienced.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Crab Cottage and would recommend it to anyone looking for a little peace and quiet in this beautiful part of Ireland.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Going Home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyjanec
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful home away from home”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We loved this place so much that we were talking about coming back within hours of arriving. It's located a few mins drive out of town, roads a little rustic but it's all part of the experience. Lovely cottage, which really is a perfect combination of the quirkiness and charm you get with an old house, and modern convenience. The appliances in the kitchen were better than those in my own home, and there was nothing that we wanted for that hadn't been provided (apart from an umbrella - but we should have known better in Ireland)! The fact there is no mains water was barely noticed, there is a powerful shower and luxurious bath. It was very clean and cosy throughout. The bedrooms were magical, especially the master bed with its picture window, stunning
views and very comfortable bed
(and I'm quite fussy). My two small boys loved it too, and felt very at home. It was perfect for them and I didn't feel I needed to watch them the whole time, they had plenty of space to run around in. The basketball hoop on the deck was a nice touch, the boys loved that. The cove, only 5-10 mins walk away is very special. Pretty and great for crabbing. We caught 5 in an hour and also met some lovely locals and wildlife. We enjoyed spotting a little fox who walked past on his evening jaunt some evenings too. And the swallows were wonderful! There is so much to do within an hours drive, and Warren Strand beach is a must (best sea swimming I've had in years)! All in all a wonderful place, and we are looking forward to returning soon.

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel G
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“The minute you step out of the car you know you've made the right choice!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We've stayed here several times, in Autumn, Spring and Summer . The cottage is brilliantly equipped for all weathers and temperatures. One does not go to West Cork for the sun, but when it shines the views from Crab Cottage are spectacular! Beaches beckon if you can tear yourself away from the comforts at the cottage! The air is like wine, the scent of hay, hedgerows, and honeysuckle. At night the biggest surprise of all are the amazing skies. Great kitchen too.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaB41
Cork
2 reviews
“Heaven in west Cork”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Crab Cottage is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed in. The cottage is full of character and history but with cool contemporary touches and design details. Luckily the sun shone for us during our stay in April and the cottage was filled with light.

The cottage is well equipped in every way with lots of books, dvds and board games for rainy days as well as a basketball hoop and swing outside. The views from all the bedrooms are amazing, especially the master bedroom. If you love cooking then you will never want to leave - the kitchen is fab with everything you could need and a trendy Smeg fridge to boot!

The whole area around the cottage is gorgeous with a windy lane leading all the way down to Mill Cove, which looks great for swimming when the weather heats up.The owners supply a great little guide to places to visit nearby and the beautiful seaside villages of Glandore, Union Hall and Castletownsend are all in easy reach by car

Really, photos don't do Crab Cottage justice, we never wanted to leave

Only drawback is that the place is very remote - but if that's what you're looking for, its a positive! Nearest shop is Rosscarberry ( takes about 15 mins in the car as the roads are bad).

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the decor and the view
Liked least: despite the directions we were given, it was still very hard to find as it is pretty remote
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Secluded, relaxing & truly amazing.”
Reviewed September 1, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Crab cottage way exceeded our expectations. A five minute drive from the nearest town (Rosscarberry), it's perched high up, totally hidden away in a secluded little cove with breathtaking views over the valley & out to the sea. Make no mistake, this is the countryside at it's very finest.

It is spacious & somehow manages to balance the country cottage vibe with a modern, high spec feel. All the rooms are lovely & really well thought out in terms of both layout and fittings. All the liitle things other holiday lets get wrong in my experience are absolutely spot on here.

The kitchen facilities & utensils are so all encompassing, there is nothing you could need that is not here & top notch. Le Creuset pans, proper knives, modern range cooker, Dualit toaster, etc etc etc not a single trick is missed. All the equipment you could ask for is provided, washer, dryer, all top spec, even the vacuum cleaner is a Miele & sucks like no vacuum I have ever seen. We actually came home & bought one we were so taken with it.

Having got that side of things locked, now think comfy couches, raging log burning stove, endless hot water, waking up early & looking out the bedroom window to a observe a family of rabbits at 6 am muching on the grass verge outside & you get the general idea.

There are no other dwellings in the immediate vicinity & this is seclusion like we had never experienced before. We like luxury getaways & have been to loads of top rated holiday cottages & can safely say Crab cottage ranks up with the very best of them.

On top of all that the area & nearby towns are simply fab. That cliche about everyone in southern Ireland being ultra friendly & always saying hello is 100% true here. There are really great little bars, cafes & shops all over the place & fresh fish & lovely meat & veg on sale all over the place too.

The owners of the cottage have obviously been coming to the area for many years & provide a godsend of a written guide to the area that is waiting for you on the coffee table when you arrive.

Every worthwhile place to eat or drink for miles around they have properly reviewed, so we didn't have to waste our time hunting around for things, anything we wanted we knew where to find it & their opinions were smack on the money. It was such a great help & so detailed I really have to take my hat off to them (& their ODC... but in a good way!).

We took our dog who is a large hound with us & she had a whale of a time racing up the deserted beaches, wearing herself out ready for her evening log fire. There are some major beautiful woodlands called Gougane Barra a short drive away & if you & your dog love the outdoors this is a really cool place.

So there you go, Crab Cottage, it was the proper bomb, way above what we would expect for the price & we will deffo be back again. It's perfect if you want really leave the rat race behind & feel that natural vibe.

Tom, Rhian & Ronnie Caulker.

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fact it was so secluded & so comfy, homely & high spec
Liked least: we really did love it all
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquih92
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“idyllic rural retreat”
Reviewed June 25, 2011 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Have stayed here twice with our 4 children. The cottage is extremely well equipped, very clean and comfortable. We love the outstanding views from the garden and enjoyed sitting outside soaking in the stunning views in this tranquil setting.
There are many great beaches to explore and beautiful walks. The owners have put together an excellent guide which we used.
We can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: August 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 22, 2011 for a stay in September 2010

Date of stay: September 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing