We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we enjoyed a walk along the beach each day.”
Review of Owenahincha Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“we enjoyed a walk along the beach each day.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

a nice clean beach although it was to cold to swim the walk cleared our heads and made us want to eat,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    4
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Macroom, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful, sandy, rock pools...perfect beach for families”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had an amazing time here during our heat wave in July, huge sandy beach with hardly anyone on it, heaven!
The kids lived the rock pools and discovering all sorts of sea creatures. The water was clean and clear, no masses of algae like there tend to be at rosscarbery beach around the corner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank IndraDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very clean quiet blue flag beach. The area is a bit run down, but reminded me of the 70s, when everything wasn't 'developed'. My teenager described it as "like a scene from Fr Ted". The only commercial premises houses a chip shop shop (very good), sells all the basics required for self catering (at a reasonable price) and buckets & spades. Beside it, an almost derelict bar opens on Sunday nights with live music.
The beach appears small and stony when the tide is in, but when the tide is out, there is a massive expanse of clean sandy beach, with lots of rocky coves to explore. There is a wonderful short cliff walk with great views from Owenahincha to nearby The Warren, which is another blue flag beach. In the other direction, within walking distance is Red Strand and Long Strand.
We arrived when the tide was in, and the weather was wet and windy, and I wasn't sure that we had chosen the right place for our holiday. However, by the end of the week, we had fallen in love with the place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pity......”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fault of man...not nature. Pity to see what has become of a beautiful, natural environment. Run down, sad kind of place now. Hope the future brings better things.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank czechmateDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Beach has gone very bad with rubbish and looks like no one keeps it in order i was very dissapointed when i went to visit

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aishling_hurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owenahincha Beach also viewed

 
Rosscarbery, County Cork
Clonakilty, County Cork
 

Been to Owenahincha Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing