We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best All Inclusive Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2010

I'm a travel agent and have travelled extensively, especially to All Inclusive Resorts, and this was by far the best I've been to! The staff, food & alcoholic beverages were top notch. We stayed for 10 nights in a Honeymoon Beachfront Walk-Out Room in the Italian Village which was a brilliant location, however the room was a little tired for a 5* hotel (but seeing as though you're only there to sleep it's no big deal.)
We spent most days on the gorgeous French Beach or by the Dutch Village Pool since the main pool was busy and too noisy for us!
Evening entertainment was limited, but we live in London, so we can party any time! It was nice to have dinner outside, a few glasses of Cabernet and then an early night.
It was the perfect relaxing holiday & I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,341 - 5,347 of 7,190 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2010

At the airport, the Sandals welcome area is very nice with plenty of comfortable seats and cold beverages. We heard horror stories about the bus ride to the resort, so we came prepared with plenty of Dramamine. It is about an hour and a half and fairly rough but not nearly as bad as some of the other bus rides we have experienced (the ride to the Regency St. Lucia). We were on a bigger bus with air conditioning, so that may have been the difference.

http://www.traveltheories.com/

Upon arriving to Sandals, guests are greeted with a lovely serenade and given cold towels and champagne or rum punch while they fill out paperwork. You can avoid some of this paperwork by pre-registering online, but you must do it at least four days in advance.

We stayed in the Italian Village on the third floor. This is an ideal location because it is close to the main pool and most of the restaurants. However, we went to the restaurant at the far end of the French Village quite a few times, and the walk is not that far.

The main pool was fairly crowded, and it was difficult to get chairs, rafts, and towels at certain times of the day. There were umbrellas with the chairs which is very important to those of us who burn after a few days even with sun-block. The primary drink in the pool seemed to be the Jamaican Smile, which tastes like a strawberry banana smoothie, with rum of course.

The beach is about two miles long and great for a long walk. It is not the best for swimming because there are a lot of weeds and no waves, but there are numerous starfish and other sea life to view. You can go out on a glass bottom boat tour without charge and see plenty of coral and sea life.

Most of the restaurants are in one area, and none of them require reservations. Usually, one restaurant is closed each evening. However, the evening Sandals was pushing its special dinner to collect donations for its foundation, all the restaurants were closed except one. Late at night, there are burgers and fries available for a fast snack that you can bring back to the room. Overall, the food was the same quality as the food at the rest of the Sandals resorts, but there did not seem to be quite as much variety. The Café de Paris was a pleasant surprise. It is a little coffee and pastry shop where you can also get ice cream and crepes.

The entertainment was mediocre. The Cabaret is a great venue for the entertainment. However, if you are not someone who likes to get dragged on stage, you should stay up in the balcony all week. Every single night, there was at least one planned event that involved bringing guests on stage, voluntarily or involuntarily. Toward the end of the week, there was almost nobody left attending these events. One factor may have been that the crowd at the Whitehouse is a little older than most of the other Sandals. There were much fewer honeymooners and more repeat guests. The entertainment staff should recognize this difference and cater to a different crowd.

The staff was friendly and helpful, but there seemed to be something missing at this particular resort. Apparently, new management came in after the renovations last year and cleaned house because the staff was not up to the expected standards. Most of the people we spoke to had only worked there for about nine months, so they did not have an immense amount of knowledge about the resort or the chain. We did meet one cleaning guy who had been there five years and was the most knowledgeable person we could find. When booking the trip, we saw that the week after our planned vacation was sold out, so we were concerned that further renovations were planned. We tried to find out what was going on by calling the resort and asking the online help but could not get an answer. The cleaning guy told us there was a special event for travel agents that week. It makes no sense that nobody else at Sandals could tell us that.

Overall, this is a nice resort with a lot of potential. This is a great choice if you are looking for a relaxing vacation without too many of the younger honeymooners.

Numerous photos, travel hints and additional details can be found at: http://www.traveltheories.com/

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelTheories23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Sandals Whitehouse it was a great experience. After clearing immigration we were greeted at the Sandals reception in the arrival lounge; within 30minutes my husband and I were boarding our bus for Sandals Whitehouse. The 90 minutes ride to the resort is challenging to say the least but the journey is worth it for Romance! We were greeted with a refreshing cold white towel, Jamaican chorus and a cold glass of cranberry and champagne punch. The staff was immediately welcoming. We sat in the lobby while the greeter checked us in. We were eight couples. It took only 20 minutes and we were escorted to our various villages. Our room was spacious, clean, fresh and welcoming. We were very hungry so the first impression at the restaurant sealed both my husband and my opionion. We were seated and served within a few minutes. The dining was under the stars...... It was dark so we could not appreciate the beauty of the grounds, beach etc. We could not wait to see what the morning would bring. Our room overlooked the pool and the beach. The rest is an enjoyable great dining in 5 distinct cusine, romantic opera in the gardens, beautiful sunsets, entertainment an incredible Steel Band with moves that would test Michael Jackson MOONWALK, availability of almost any brand of premium liquor, state of the art gym, I could go on, and on it was a wonderful experience. We had no reason to leave the resort. We met people from Canada, Great Britain, Australia, Asia, Caribbean and of course all parts of the US. Several couples had been there for 15days and were not ready to leave. If your choice is Jamaica, seclusion, great food, great service and are willing to spend 90mins of some challlenging driving I say you won't be disappointed when you get to Sandals Whitehouse

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pleabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Trip from Montego Bay:

The road is in poor condition and will prove intimidating for travelers not accustomed to rural travel in the third world. On the bright side visitors will get glimpses of rural Jamaica not seen by the majority of tourists. Be consoled that the bus drivers have every intention to go home to their family at night so try to enjoy the experience!

Accommodation:

We were upgraded to a beachfront butler suite that was definitely five star. The separate living room with flat screen TV and view of the ocean was a very inviting place to hang out. The grounds and beach were spectacular and very well maintained.

Food Services:

We found that the overall quality of the food was better than other all inclusives that we have stayed at in the past. We did find that the service was slow particularly at Eleanor’s and Bluefield Beach Club. Lunch at the Beach Club took an hour to arrive, but it was a nice spot to hang out and have a cocktail while waiting for lunch to arrive – “no problem mon”

Drink Quality:

House wines and bottled liquor was of much higher quality and larger selection that most all inclusives. The Café de Paris served specialty coffee shop quality beverages.

Entertainment:

Definitely the weak link at all inclusives and Sandals is no exception. The entertainment does not come close to the cruise ships or Las Vegas. Sharing a glass of wine on the patio, a drink at the martini bar or a walk on the beach are much better options.

Personnel:

Sandals has trained their staff to provide the level of service expected by the international traveler. Staff members went out of their way to help and several staff members told stories of being treated well by the management with opportunity progress in the organization.

Butler service:

Our butler provided us with a cellphone that was programmed to call him from 7 am to 10 pm daily. The butler took care of our specialty restaurant reservations and served us a breakfast and a dinner on our balcony over looking the beach. He provided us with treats each afternoon and reserved our poolside loungers in the location of choice each day if requested.

The problem with assessing the value of this service is the high level of the standard services at Sandals! I would opt for twice the time in a regular room if the total prices were equal but would opt for the extra service if vacation time was limited to only 3 or 4 days.

Overall Value:

Sandals is priced higher than most of the Spanish chains but do offer a higher quality experience than either Riu or Barcelo that we have stayed at recently. Sandals has discounted it’s rate up to 65% because of the recession. In my opinion, Sandals is the first choice at the discounted rate but I do not think I can justify staying at their regular prices.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

just what the doctor ordered , good food peace and quiet, no problems from check in to check out . airport transfers prolonged not because of sandals but jamaican roads . would return in an instant . thanks mauice our concierge always there but un - obtrusive

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerstar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

You can expect the odd hiccup! But the overall experience and rating is "Spectacular". Best holiday ever! Don't listen to any reviews with complaints.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowboardCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I've been to other Sandals resorts in Jamaica. This one is different. It has a much more European feel to it than other resorts like Negril. I'm not going to say it's better or worse than the other Sandals resorts, just different. It's not Bob Marley all the time. In fact, I was surprised about how little reggae music was played at the resort. This resort is huge and sits on it's own little piece of paradise. There are no other resorts close by. In fact, there is not much of anything else close by. So if you like staying at the resort, you will love this place. If you have never been to Jamaica and are looking to take in the full Jamaican experience, I would probably recommend Sandals Negril. This resort has a more laid back and sophisticated feel to it. Like I said, it is not really close to anything else so if you want to leave the reort and tour the island, there is not much close by. The staff is very friendly and there is a lot to do at the resort. Kamar and Omar were are personal butlers. These guys were great and helped to make the trip as amazing as possible.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sq1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
30.5 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,618 reviews
29.4 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
27.7 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
28.3 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,532 reviews
63.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range: $489 - $1,640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Unique Vacations Inc and Prestigia so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing