We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awakening in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We have traveled to many places, but, this is the first time that we tried an all-inclusive resort. We found the staff to be professional, cheerful, warm and friendly. Two of the staff which you should get to know are Joshini and Bala. They helped to make our trip very memorable

The menu selection for your meals was ideal. What did we enjoy the most? Obviously the food as it was delicious, bountiful, extremely well prepared and marvelously presented. The drinks were limitless.

The grounds and buildings are beautiful and so well maintained. Everything was clean and tidy, which further added to the ambience of the site. The rooms are comfortable, adequately decorated and maintained, with a stocked refrigerator.

We specifically chose this site as we wanted to be able to relax and wanted to be as far from the madding crowd as possible. Even with 94% of the rooms occupied, when we were walking from place to place it felt like there were very few others at the resort, except for the swim up bars.

Beaches, pools, warmth, beautiful sunsets, food and drink; for what else could a cold northener ask?

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrrcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,811 - 5,817 of 7,371 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2010

From the greeting at the airport in Montego Bay by Sandals staff to the drop off at the end of the week we were treated with the utmost courtesy and warmth. Everyone was helpful and seemed genuinely glad to be able to serve us. Our room in the Italian Village was large, clean and comfortable and the fridge was kept well-stocked. The food was excellent and the restaurant service was first class in every location. The location is quite remote and the 90 minute bus ride makes one appreciate even bad Canadian roads. However for peace and quiet, the resort can't be beat. The undeveloped western part of the beach is apparently scheduled for development. That will not improve the place, so go soon before it happens!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OronoStewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

My husband and I spent our 25th Anniversary celebration at Sandals Whitehouse. This is our third Sandals All Inclusive Resort. We had a great and very relaxing time. The food was great, in all 5 restaurants. Each dinner was a 5 course meal to chose from, with perfect portions. We stayed in the French Village, which is at the opposite end of the resort from the restaurants, so the walk back each night was a wonderful way to digest all the wonderful food and drink. There were 2 pool bars and they were definitely not stingy with the alcohol. The overall resort was wonderful. We got special attention from 2 young hosts from India; Joshini and Bala. Everyone there was extra friendly and polite. Sandals is the only way to go.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ParktonPoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Absolutely beautiful resort tucked away all by itself. No persoal watercraft, parasailers or fishermen selling there wares. It was a wide open view of the Caribean. The staff could not do enough for you. They were wonderful. Loved Joshina, Bala, and Tijo as well as servers Martin and Mitchell. Orane at the front desk could not have been more helpful. We enjoyed it so much we booked for next year while we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MPH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Just returned from another fantasic trip at Sandals Whitehouse. This was our third stay and it just keeps getting better and better! We stayed from January 30th - February 3, 2010.

The resort is just gorgeous! The grounds are so well kept and there are beautiful flowers everywhere. The lawns are very well manicured and it's so nice strolling thru the grounds. The resort is set up like a little village and there are beautiful fountains. Since I was last there, they have remodeled the lobby with all new furniture and colorings and such. It looks really nice.

One of the things I love about the resort is the awesome pool!!! They have the nice comfy lounge chairs with the thick pads on the, and it was so easy to get a chair with an umbrella. We spent most of our time at the main pool, and would also visit the French pool to see meet friends and see our bartender pals.

In terms of the food and drink, we were very happy. The drinks were wonderful and we enjoyed all of our dinners at the restaurants. My favorite was Elenors and the Italian restaurant. We had concierge service, so we made all our dinner reservations made after arrival and we never had to wait for our table. Some of the dinners took over an hour, but you are on vacation, sit back and have a cocktail and enjoy your beautiful surroundings. The breakfasts had anything you could imagine to choose from including made to order omelets and for lunch, we ate at Bluefield's twice and had the pizza once and enjoyed both. I love dining outdoors and we were able to do this most of the time, which I really enjoyed.

We had so much fun at the martini bar with our favorite bartender -- Mervin -- my buddy from the past years. The nights where Rodney was playing at the piano bar were a lot of fun and we did make it into the cabaret a few nights for dancing too. I really enjoyed the live band that played on "White night" for dancing under the stars and the chocolate buffet, the resort really goes all out. I wish the band would play more than a few hours once a week, they were excellent.

We did one tour while we were there to YS Falls and booked directly with Sandals. It is so gorgeous there and only a 40 minute drive each way. We got some beautiful photos and it's really pretty and lush. If you don't want to go all the way to Dunns River Falls, this is closer and less touristy.

I don't know how anyone can complain about Sandals Whitehouse, it is paradise! The thing I love most about Jamaica is the people, they are so warm and friendly. Whitehouse has some wonderful people who work there. I'd like to make special note to some of the staff who made our trip even more enjoyable and who I consider friends and hope to see again year after year: Sasha on the playmaker staff, my pal Mervin at the Martini bar and his partner bartenders in crime -- as well as the wonderful pool bar staff: Anthony and Michael at the French Pool bar, and Wayne and Garth at the Main Pool. Service was always with a smile and it's so nice to talk with everyone and get to know them. Even the men who worked on the lawns and grounds were so friendly and would always waive and say hello.

It was a wonderful trip and I would return to Sandals Whitehouse in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimber60445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at Sandals, Whitehouse, Jamaica. We truly enjoyed the entire resort.....service was great....food was excellant and the bars were always FUN!! No worries while having a drink!

Especially want to thank, Gary (the Neptune Bartender for making our trip alot of FUN!!! Gary was always pleasant and providing us with delicious drinks!! (Jamaican style mon!)

Other employees that need to be mentioned for their service and friendliness: Alle (bar, Neptune), DWayne, Sanjay, Jason, Asauey, Tasheika and Carlene & Candy (spa) plus, Keifer.

Sandals Resort (Whitehouse) certainly lived up to their reputation. There is NO doubt that we will return to this great resort for MORE fun and relaxation!!!

Smiles, fun and plenty of sun, that's Sandals, Whitehouse, Jamaica!!

1  Thank SusieQWrightsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

My husband and I have been traveling to the Caribbean for 22 years - Our trip to Sandals Whitehouse was very disappointing. The disappointment started within the first hour with a bartender scamming us for $25.00 and continued throughout our stay - entrees not what ordered, not receiving ordered items, drinks not served, waiting over an hour for food - By the third day, we lowered our expectations and were able to enjoy the resort. On a positive note - the resort is on a beautiful beach, the rooms are wonderful, Housekeeping, Engineering and the Beach Staff are great - Bala (a waiter) is stellar. Unfortunately the departments who "get it" are outnumbered by the staff who do "not" - As a frequent traveler to the Caribbean, I can't recommend this as a place to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caribbean_coupleOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
29.4 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
27.7 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
63.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,656 reviews
24.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,706 reviews
63.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range: $489 - $1,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing