We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Customer Service”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I highly recommend White House Sandals in Jamaica. The resort is breath taking but what makes this resort unique is the staff. The customer service is over the top. If you want to have a great work out visit Michael and make sure to go on the power walk, or see Troy aka "never" for tennis tips and lessons. Make sure you go on Ochio's garden tour extremely educational and fun! Make sure you try one of Chantal's authentic Rum Punch drinks! Make sure you visit the spa it is pure delight. Excellent resort!

Room Tip: French Village has a spectacular beach with trees for natural shade, has the best view from their re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stones5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We're so happy to read that you had such an incredible stay at Sandals Whitehouse. It seems our amazing staff was able to make your stay so memorable. We truly appreciate your choice to make us your vacation destination.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,468
    1,509
    485
    181
    95
See reviews for
176
5,473
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,073)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Spent April10-20th at this beautiful resort. This was our 3rd trip to a Sandals, but our 1st time at Whitehouse. It was also our 1st experience with butler service (to celebrate our 25th anniversary). I will start with the ride to the resort.....not as bad as I expected after reading the reviews before I went. You do see a lot of Jamaica while driving there, people who complain about the ride should look out the windows and be grateful that they are driving to a luxury resort. There are so many positives I don't know where to begin. The staff is outstanding.....everyone is friendly to a fault and will do anything to ensure that your vacation is pleasurable. Our room was lovely and very clean (thanks Keisha, sorry if I got the name wrong). We stayed in the Italian Village and had a beautiful view, loved our room. The property is breathtaking. The peacocks and hens were just an added bonus, it was awesome to see them everyday wondering the property, got some great photos. We are big foodies, and we were not disappointed. All of our meals were exceptional, but Eleanors and Bluefields were our favorites. The sunset at Bluefields is not to missed!!! There are lots of water activities (included) and shows to see. The steel drum band is terrific. Our butlers, Ainsley and Davion made us feel pampered and special.They made our 25th anniversary celebration one to remember. I also have to mention Prince, Cheldon, Angelita and Wayon. They made our trip so much fun. They always have a smile and a "hello" for everyone. They make all of the guests feel like friends. Finally, I must mention Copeland and Shamone who made our stay memorable. They were so friendly and happy and kept the Italian pool fun! Never had to wait for a drink and made all of the guests feel they were #1. I would recommend this resort, if you don't have fun here you might as well stay home because you are not going to have fun anywhere. The dinner for Sandals members was also very nice, Sandals knows how to treat their loyal customers. We like to try new Sandals every time we travel but we may have to return to Whitehouse and it is because of the staff. There are far too many to mention all of them, but the ones I did mention are like friends and when Sandals says "welcome home", it feels like it!!! Missing everyone already.......much love and respect to all of our new friends!!!!!!!!

Joe and Danielle Saxinger
(aka Joe Grind and Mrs Grind)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We're thrilled to read that you had an amazing vacation at Sandals Whitehouse. We strive to create stellar vacation experiences for our guests and I'm so glad we were able to make your visit so incredible.

Thank you for your review. We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Just spent the easter weekend at Sandals Whitehouse. ...an extraordinary property. Exceptional gardens, lush beautiful landscape, breathtaking views of the hills and the ocean. A captivating view of the sun setting in the evening is a must see! The many restaurants almost make you confused....the food is fabulous and the choices are endless. The staff...friendly, engaging and only aim to over delight! We loved our time there....cant wait to go back. Sandals is the place for love....truly a beautiful hotel from all viewpoints!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your Easter stay at Sandals Whitehouse. Your vacation seemed to be an amazing one and I'm glad we were able to be a part of your experience.

We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a 10 night holiday at Sandals Whitehouse which was nice but spoilt by the weather. Good points were= the accommodation is lovely ., the F&B of which standard and most of the staff very helpful. Special word of praise for Keon and the team at Neptues bar in the evenings - just brilliant. Beach is nice too . Not so good points = the 1.5 hour min transfer over potholed roads after a 9.5 hour flight from the UK, the resort is very remote , the general standard of beach chairs is average and needs improving, the cost of the Island routes tours is high but most of all the clouds and rain which came over the resort every afternoon we were there from c 3pm onwards defo did not help. One other point is that if you go with virgin holidays = you are on your own once you get to the Whitehouse as there us no coverage by their rep whatsoever.
In summary a good holiday rather than a great one, and would we go back again - no.

Room Tip: The Italian village was very nice and atop floor room worth that bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We're glad that you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms, great dining and the true hospitality of our staff. However, it seems you were not pleased with a few aspects of your stay. We regret to read that we were unable to completely meet your expectations. We realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process and we thank you for your review.

We hope to welcome you back for a stay that will surely exceed your expectations in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We just returned from an amazing week at Whitehouse!

Firstly, the airport Sandals lounge and shuttle system to the resorts is incredibly organized and well-run. Just sit and sip a complimentary Red Stripe while you wait for your shuttle for a max of 20 minutes it seemed. The ride to the resort was not nearly as bad as I was expecting after reading many other reviews about it. It was about 1.5 hours with a stop for a restroom break at a little rest stop that sold some souvenirs and beverages, which you can take on the shuttle with you. It was a bit bumpy, yes, but absolutely no worse than any other roads we've been on in other parts of the Caribbean. Don't let the ride deter you; being away from it all was more than worth it! It really wasn't bad at all, in our opinion.

The resort itself is beautiful. From the moment you get off the shuttle, you feel welcome and at home. Everyone is so kind and nice.

We stayed in the French village which was perfect for our group. It was the louder, funner pool during the day (where we spent nearly every day), but then quiet at night because all of the restaurants and bars are at the other end in the Italian Village. We felt this was the perfect combo of fun and quiet for sleeping. The Dutch village in the middle seemed very quiet when we walked by or through, but, we didn't really spend any time there so I can't attest to that personally.

The main thing that will be memorable about this trip for me is the staff. They have some truly amazing people working there, who made our trip 100x more fun than it would have been without them. The entertainment staff are truly awesome. They seemed to be there all day - incredibly long hours - but they were never tired! They were always 100% pumped up and excited about what they were doing, and their energy was contagious! They were all great but the ones who made our trip most memorable were Angelita, Prince, Wayon and Sheldon. They made us feel so welcome and involved the whole week. We will truly miss them!

Romeo in the martini bar was great too (make sure to go for a martini while he's there, as he will pour and serve it to you on his head - after doing bar push ups with it on his head - no joke!). Kemuel the snorkel guide was great too. We did the free snorkeling which was fun, but, if you want to see the best snorkel location I've ever been to anyway, go for the $30 7a snorkel trip with him. It's more than worth the money and if we'd discovered it earlier in the week I would have gone multiple times! He takes you to the Peter Tosh reef, which is about a 15-minute boat ride from the resort. He guides you through the reef, pointing out all kinds of amazing fish and creatures. It takes 1.5 hours to snorkel around/through it. It was like swimming in an aquarium, truly! Amazing. He was a great guide.

All the food we had was amazing, but my favorite meals were the tilapia sandwich for lunch at Neptune's, and the filet at Eleanor's, and crepes at Cafe de Paris. All of the waitstaff were great!

Overall, amazing, amazing vacation. We will definitely go back someday and will recommend it to everyone! The customer service we received was the best I've ever seen. Especially from those noted above. I hope Sandals recognizes how amazing their staff is; they MADE our trip.

Thank you to all of you, if you guys read these reviews!! We loved meeting you all and appreciated you making our trip so great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We're delighted to read about your amazing vacation at Sandals Whitehouse. It's so encouraging when guests post about how much they enjoyed their time with us and the genuine hospitality of our friendly staff. We're glad that you had such a wonderful stay, and we thank you for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We returned home last week after spending an enjoyable week at SWH.

The drive from Montego Bay was an adventure in itself because of the narrow, windy road and aggressive drivers, especially since it was raining hard and the road was flooded in places and all the vehicles travelling in both directions were fighting for the same side of the road, with the shallowest water but our driver "Bullet" did a great job and got us there safely.

We really enjoyed our location in the Dutch Village. We had a beautiful view and were kind of in the middle of the resort. We spent a little time at each of the pools but preferred the main pool the most. The entertainment crew did a good job involving guests in the various games and the aquacize was always very well attended. We always spend most of our time at the beach. Unfortunately, we were a bit disappointed in the sand as it's not the powdery soft sand that we love and there were quite a few rocks in places making you have to be very careful where you entered the ocean to avoid them. It was very windy for several of the days we were there which really stirred up the ocean, brought some jellyfish in, made the water visibility poor and prohibited any water sports. That, and quite a bit of rain over the week put a bit of a damper on our vacation but there were many positives that more than made up for it.

The landscaping is beautiful and extremely well maintained and it was great to learn lots about the trees and plants on Oshoi's very informative and fun garden tour.

The food was very good and we enjoyed most of our meals. Our favorite meal was at Jasmine's, although we loved the lamp chop's at Guiseppi's, steak at Eleanor's and crème brulee for dessert at Bluefield's and we enjoyed the live entertainment a couple of evenings while sitting outside eating dinner.The service was mostly great with Fiona at Eleanor's and Peta-Gay at Bluefield's being stand outs. We enjoyed our late afternoon crepes at Café de Paris and had fun watching the entertaining peacock's that hung out in that area.

Romeo at the Martini bar kept us entertained a couple of evenings with his charm and martini making expertise!

The steel drum band "The Silver Birds" put on an amazing show on Saturday night which in my opinion is a "must see".

I was able to get two morning dives in before the wind picked up and the rain blew in. Carlton and Demene were both friendly and competent dive masters but the visibility wasn't great, the coral wasn't in great shape and there wasn't an abundance of sea life. It was definitely worth going out a couple of times though but you just wouldn't come to this resort especially for the diving.

Our housekeeping attendant did a perfect job of keeping our room clean and everyday there were different interesting towel animals with fresh flowers.

We celebrated our 20th anniversary during this trip and we had a card and small cake delivered to our room to celebrate the occasion. Our travel agent, Mike from Dream Maker's Vacation Services had a little surprise delivered to our room on our anniversary as well which was a thoughtful gesture.

The Monday night beach party was fun. The food was good, we had great conversations with interesting guests who sat at our table and the entertainment on the beach was enjoyable. The guy doing the limbo under fire about a foot off the ground was amazing.We were lucky that it was able to go ahead as most other nights the outside entertainment was cancelled or cut short because of rain.

The Returning Guest Dinner was well attended,a delicious meal and we received our gold sandals on this visit.

We hired a private taxi to take us to Negril for a day. We did a little shopping, spent a few hours at Beaches, and then walked down the beach to Sandals where we spent a few hours and had the pleasure of meeting up with R&B and enjoyed a couple of drinks with them before getting picked up and returning to Whitehouse. It was a great day and our only excursion off the resort.

The SWH property overall is beautiful. Sure it could use some updates and fresh paint but we are not picky about that stuff. The staff, food, landscaping, pools and entertainment were all very good and we had a wonderful relaxing week. I am not sure if we will return due to the condition of the beach and water clarity although after so many other posters raving about the beautiful beach and calm, clear ocean, maybe we need to give SWH another visit, maybe at a different time of year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rockcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of Sandals Whitehouse. We're happy to read that you had an amazing anniversary experience at our resort.

We can't wait to welcome you back for an even better stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have travelled a lot in the Carribean. We loved this resort.When we arrived we had a staff member bring us to our room and had a nice welcome drink.Nice and cool in the reception area. Top notch service. Kevin and Shamone in the bar were outstanding. All the restaurants were great. The manager of each restaurant would always come by to see how you enjoyed your meal and the wait staff always asked if we had any allergies.The beach is nice and long. Nice white sand. Sandy bottom until you went further out and then it was too soft and muddy. The big pool was huge and nice. Our room very nice in the Italian village on the third floor.The maid was outstanding in room 1307. We met a lot of nice people here and had a great time. The whirlpools are huge. Everything is well maintained here.A bigger resort but well laid out. The buildings are amazing.They also have some shops here at the resort. We were upgraded here from the Caryle. We were very happy here. Although the diving was not great because of the reef. Our dive master AK StringBean was very good. All the dive team were safe and had a good sense of humour. The dive place has there own pool for teaching. What a well planned resort. We wanted to be transferred back to Montego Bay. Pauline at the front desk helped us with this for our last week. I will review the other resorts under them. I donot want to take away from the great week we had at the WhiteHouse. If we did not dive we would return here. The reef was damaged by a hurricane and it needs protecting and no fishing to make it a great dive place.Thanks again to all the great and friendly staff. This is what a Sandals should be.

Room Tip: Italian village closer to the major restuarants.Higher floor better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leighl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Sounds like you had a great trip to Sandals Whitehouse. We always love to hear of the amazing, memorable experiences that our guests have with us. We pride ourselves on the excellent customer service of our friendly staff and they will all be so glad to hear of your kind mention.

Thank you for your review. We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
31.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
63.0 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
29.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,282 reviews
63.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
64.1 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Property: Sandals South Coast
Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing