We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay for a 50th celebration!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Emporia, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect stay for a 50th celebration!!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I surprised my husband with a trip SWH for his 50th birthday and it was perfect in every way! We arrived and we took Island Hoppers helicopter service to the resort, it was a beautiful ride and Chris was the best pilot ever! We were greeted by Sandals staff and taken to check in, greeted by staff and given nice lemon-grass face cloths to refresh with, such a nice touch after a long day of travel! We were quickly checked in and taken to meet our butlers for the week.....OMAR and KAMAR are absolutely the BEST in the business....we have already requested them for next year and are upgrading our son and his girlfriend on the their trip in May so they too can experience such pampering!!!!

GROUNDS: Immaculate and well manicured, lush greenery and gorgeous flowers every place you look. The tile is always clear of debris and even saw staff scrubbing the walkways!! It is spotless!!!

Room: We stayed in the Italian Village, it is the nearest to the center of the resort. We found we enjoyed being close with short walks to the shops and restaurants, the added bonus was sitting on the balcony and enjoying the other guests walking by.....everyone is so in love, holding hands and just being close.....so refreshing!! Our room was a butler suite with a king size bed, it was lovely and we enjoyed the bar always being stocked with our favorite spirits, water and soft drinks. The housekeeping staff seemed to intuitively know when we were out.....upon our arrival back to our room each day it was always freshly made and usually held a treat for us.....either a snack, a cute towel display on the bed or once a bubble bath for two!!!!! Did I mention how wonderful our butlers were???? They ARE amazing, I highly recommend you splurge on them!!!!

MEALS: Every meal we enjoyed was more delicious than the next, not kidding on this....the food was fabulous every time! I'm not sure what my favorite was, Neptune's has nice outdoor setting, Eleanor's has wonderful steak and Bluefield's offered relaxed outdoor dining...we enjoyed jerk chicken twice for lunch there. I had prearranged dinner on the beach for my husband's birthday and changed it once we arrived to a covered hut over the water, it was a full moon with just a slight breeze the night of our event. We ate at 8:00 by candlelight ......so romantic and our server was awesome.....the food again fabulous!!!! He LOVED turning 50 in Jamaica at the SWH!!!!

SPIRITS: All of our bartenders were delightful but we especially connected to Chavez, he was in training but his attitude, memory of what our drinks were and his kindness made him VERY special. He was in hopes of being hired full time and our vote is on him!!!! We will be looking for him on our next visit......he made the best "dirty bananas" of any I had during my stay....my favorite drink while visiting! My husband's fav was the Bob Marley, Miami Vice and Red Stripe!

BUTLER SERVICE: I can't say enough about this. So, so glad I decided to go all out and invest in them. OMAR and KAMAR were awesome, they thought of everything and not one detail was overlooked to make our stay "over whelming" .....they both were always just a phone call away. You are given a cell phone at arrival and any time you need something or have a question you just ring them up......often times they were a step ahead and had a special surprise every day for us. The day of my husband's birthday day was made extra special by their kindness.....we enjoyed lunch on the beach with wine, rose petals in the room, champagne and a nice hot bubble bath awaited us in the room.....it was a PERFECT day and PERFECT week! We look forward to having them again on our next visit!

I would also recommend Island Hopper Helicopter service, it was a short 20 minute ride from the airport compared to the 1.5 hour ride by bus. It offered breathtaking views and we got our own personal tour of the Island....this was a huge hit for my husband, he so enjoyed the ride. On the day of departure they returned to pick us up and delivered us back to the airport. We also found out about the MOBAY club.....it made our life easier and more relaxing....no lines at the airport!!!!


On a scale of 1-10, SWH is a 12.....we have already booked our next stay and we are both so looking forward to returning!

YEAH MON.....COOL BEANS......we loved our Island life while visiting SWH....miss it already!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Faye_Elliott_Gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Sounds like you had a wonderful stay at Sandals Whitehouse. We're so glad we were able to make your stay and your husband's birthday so special. Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,619
    1,544
    513
    183
    98
See reviews for
185
5,671
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is our second visit to a Sandals resort and we were not disappointed.
The staff from beginning to end were perfect.
We especially enjoyed seeing Sheree and Shadae everyday at the French Cafe... usually more than once a day!
We can't wait until next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kizzy6119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacoast
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was our third trip here, obviously because we like it. You almost get used to the two hour, bumpy, near miss with cars and busses ride.
Sandals Whitehouse is a wonderful property, secluded, you have your own beach, and a large one at that. We had an oceanfront room, which was nice, but these class of rooms have a tiny bathrooms. I'd forego the additional expense and have the larger standing glass shower instead of a tub with a shower. Plus, you can't sit outside at night because of the bugs. You WILL be bitten, and it's very unpleasant.

Having been here previously, we noticed a decline in the property. Quite a few little things, but noticable. For instance, I counted seven, yes seven water fountains not working. not a big deal, but sometimes it's the little things.Not turndown service. Most noticably, the quality and quantity of choices of food went down dramatically. Breakfast used to be excellent, now just ordinary. Rarely a change in selection. They've changed two restaurants, one from a grill concept to a "Mediterranean" concept. Probably because grilling meat is that much more expensive, but definitely a change for the worse. They opened a "Jerk Pit". I think they used pigeons, or some type of extremely small bird. By the time you get through the skin, bones and cartilage you get maybe two bites of chicken or pork. Oh, and Jasmine, their new Asian concept, we had the curry chicken that had so much ginger it was inedible. The Spa, nice, but an extra 27% on their posted prices.

Those are the negatives. The staff is very friendly, the grounds well kept, and the service, although at times slow, is friendly and caring. We probably won't return for a while. I think for this price we can do better, The Excellence at Punta Cana or Secrets in Maroma Beach, the same price or lower and better quality.

Room Tip: If you want oceanfront, be prepared for a very small bathroom and a tub shower. But if you insist on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalio44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable return visit at Sandals Whitehouse. We strive to offer top-notch, 5-star experiences and your feedback will help us to improve in areas where it is needed. We hope to welcome you back for a truly stellar experience in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014

we just loved this resort,wonderful staff,delicious food,clean and welcoming,however out of two weeks holiday were unable to get a sunbed at the french village due to people reserving them with personal belongings.beach was beautiful but very basic sunbeds.

Room Tip: choose the italian or dutch village as it's nearer the piaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveregae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review of Sandals Whitehouse. We're so thrilled to read that you had such an amazing stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Where to begin? ...

AIRPORT/Sandals LOUNGE/BUS RIDE
We arrived at Montego Bay airport in the afternoon of March 2nd. We were greeted by friendly staff at the Sandals lounge in the airport. Here you can relax in comfy leather couches, watch TV and grab some drinks before the charter bus arrives. There is Red Stripe on tap, but only one of the taps was working and there was a lot of head! It's ok though, a nice frothy cold beer after a 4hr flight is just what the Dr ordered. The staff at the lounge made sure the luggage was all checked together and secure while we chilled in the lounge. When the bus arrived, we filled up a few more cups of beer for the ride (roadies!) and headed over. The luggage was taken care of by the staff who took them over on carts (tipped 2usd). The bus driver was really hilarious! He took us on a bumpy and windy drive through the narrow mountain side roads. There is a lot of history to be told and the scenic view was a site for sore eyes. 1.5hrs later, we arrived at the SWH by friendly staff and managers who greeted us with cold cocktail drinks while we checked in.

ROOM
We stayed in a basic suite in the French village. It was the furthest away from the lobby and the main beach area, but the walk was enjoyable as the weather was just perfect! Room was 1 king size, very clean and kept well, rustic style with a completely stocked fridge (juices, 4x waters, coke, sprite) which was refilled on a daily basis. It's really unfortunate that there were no beers stocked at all. If you wanted a nice cold one at 3am, tough luck unless you stocked up before getting to the hotel or grabbed a bottle from the trading post store earlier in the day. I enjoyed the fact that the room never got really humid or wet like I've experience at some older hotels in Mexico who run their A/C 24/7. The maids would do housekeeping later in the afternoons, before dinner, and would leave a day plan/agenda for the next day's activities. That was great to look at to plan your day, as there was a LOT to choose from!

ACTIVITIES
There are activities planned throughout the day, from as early as 8am until 10pm at night. You had your sports - beginners/intermediate/advanced tennis clinics each day. The tennis instructor is very friendly and knowledgeable in tennis. He takes his time with each player, no matter how skilled or unskilled you were. I would even find him at 7am sweeping the tennis courts - very nice to see that. There was a squash court but I never saw anyone in there - probably because there was no ventilation in there, would've been a sweat box. Aqua sports throughout the day consisted of para sailing, water skiing, scuba diving (if you had your cert), glass bottom boat rides, etc. On the beach you had volleyball. The entertainment staff would throw beach events almost every other night.

RESTAURANTS/FOOD
This was hands down the best food we have ever experienced at an all inclusive resort. The fact that you have option of a la carte for every meal (vs buffet) made a huge difference. There was an obvious focus on quality over quantity (plus this prevented us from over-eating). The a la carte enhanced the experience of dining and we were always provided with excellent service by their servers. Every restaurant had a great menu with various options that would suit anyone's tastes (even low fat/healthy options). Note: none of us got sick once during the trip.

Neptunes - had the best atmosphere (especially at night). They had a killer roast beef on reuben and shrimp sandwich on their lunch menus.
Giuseppe's - the pizzas served during lunchtime were very delicious (especially the spinach, mushroom, goat cheese pizza). Try the salt fish calzone with ackee.
Cafe de Paris - lovely place to get coffee, tea, crepes, ice cream and sweets from morning till night!
Eleanors - our favorite place to have breakfast with mimosas (try the Jamaican breakfast)
Bayside Restaurant - we ate here the least since it was usually buffet. Good place to go if you want to grab a late night snack from 12-5am.
Bluefields - convenient place to grab a quick lunch by the beach - try the fish sandwich!
Jasmines - this was the only restaurant that we did not have a good experience at. The service took literally forever and we were starving! The food was also too sweet/salty and did not taste like authentic Asian food. The seafood appetizer was delicious if you like spicy cold seafood!

BARS/ALCOHOL
We fell in love with the Pinot Grigio and drank it every single day! Champagne was also something that we drank often. Wish that they served a wider selection of beer in addition to Red Stripe. Bar staff were always very friendly and provided quick service. The only complaint we have is that bar by Bluefields looked disorganized and not well kept/cleaned (i..e. ants on menus and overflowing garbage).

Overall, we had an absolutely wonderful time and would most definitely return. This is the resort to go to if you want to spend quality time with your partner. Nighttime is somewhat quiet, as this is not the "party all night" type of resort. Most people seem to be in their rooms by 1am. There is nothing around/outside the resort so the only reason to leave is to go on excursions.

One of the things that stood out to us the most was the friendly and caring staff. Hi Angelita! They sincerely make the effort to get to know you and make sure that you are having a good time during your stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank StereoStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. At Sandals Resorts, we take pride in providing a friendly and relaxing environment for all of our guests. We always want to ensure that all of your needs are met and it seems the team at Sandals Whitehouse did just that!

We would be more than happy to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We danced and sang to Georgia's great performance! Jamaican reggae music is why we come to Jamaica. We really don't want other ethnic performances in Jamaica. We can go to other countries to hear the music of their cultures. Reggae is what feels like Jamaica!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ateam11235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the entertainment. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubertus, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This truly is an amazing resort (second time here). Ideal for couples wanting to get away from it all. We stayed in the French Village which was recently remodeled. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff all made you feel like family! Food was very good...especially Eleanor's and Bluefield's. Never much of a wait to be seated if at all. No reservations required....that's a huge plus! 3 pools to choose from.

We will definitely be "returning home again"!

Room Tip: All 3 Villages do have elevators. But for those that want to be closest to the restaurants and ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your great review of Sandals Whitehouse. We're so glad you had an amazing experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
63.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,294 reviews
29.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
63.0 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
28.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,405 reviews
63.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Property: Sandals South Coast
Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing