We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon Spot”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My wife and I got married at the end of last June and spent a week at Sandals Whitehouse. The place is wonderful and we had an amazing time. Although it does make for a longer bus ride to the resort and for day trips the fact that the resort is so secluded is a real plus. It is so great to walk past the edge of the property and down the beach with nothing but sand and jungle for miles. We had a wonderful experience at Whitehouse and it was our first time staying at a Sandals resort as well. We thought the food was great. We will definitely be back. Everyone working here is great from the bellhops to the bartenders. I would highly recommend this hotel if going to Jamaica.

Room Tip: We went with concierge and while nice to have it probably is not essential. We had a first floor wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
We're so happy to read that you enjoyed a memorable honeymoon at Sandals Whitehouse. It was such an honor to host you for this special occasion and we're thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations during your stay. Thank you for your review. We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,516
    1,520
    495
    182
    95
See reviews for
181
5,533
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,089)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We just got back from our Honeymoon at Sandals Whitehouse. What an experience!! From the moment we arrived we were blown away! The staff was very friendly and always willing to help out. Our Room was in the dutch village which was the perfect location for us as we were looking for a quiet relaxing location. We had the perfect sunset view. The food was delicious in all the restaurants. Service at couple of the restaurants left a little to be desired, we had to wait quite a while to get a table, the staff just kind of ignored you while you waited at the hostess stand. But other than that every meal was a great one. We ate lobster at Bluefield 3 times on our week stay. The beach and water sports staff were great. and Kevin the bartender at the Dutch pool was amazing. He made the Best Dirty Bananas. We enjoyed the nightly entertainment. The steel drum band was amazing. And we really enjoyed the great outdoor firepits. Watching the movie on the beach was truely romantic. We are already saving up for our next trip back to Sandals Whitehouse. A trip of a lifetime that we plan on doing again and again.

Room Tip: Dutch Village if you are looking for a quiet romantic setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
We're ecstatic to hear of your great honeymoon spent at Sandals Whitehouse! You enjoyed every moment of your special vacation and we couldn't be happier. We're so glad that your visit was the kind of stay for which we strive! Thank you so much for your review!

We can't wait to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

we got married a year ago in SGSL and decided to try whitehouse for our one year anniversary.
After arriving on property we were greeted promptly and moved inside to do our check in process, we did not have club or butler level so the normal check in process was very easy and we were in our room within 15 mins. of arrival.
The grounds are spectacular we were in the French Village the farthest building on the property and enjoyed the walk to and from the main area. It would take us about 5-10 mins so some times it would have been nicer to be closer to the action but we knew this before going. As others have said the French pool is loud so dont expect to sleep during the day if your room is by this pool. Many days there were sing alongs and dancing going on until atleast 4-5PM The italian village is bythe main pool but still off to the side and the dutch pool seems very quite. The Beach is wonderful and was walked almost every day. Make sure to venture off property past the french village and walk as far as you can to the untouched beaches and water it was wonderful.

The food at the resort was great we did not have a bad meal. We got to try all the restaurants at night expect Neptune's for dinner and we also go to go to every place for lunch. Don't be shy to ask for food to go. dinners were great we loved Jasmines and Elenor's

Our room was adequet nothing spectaular but then again how much time do you spend in the room. The room toilettries that are given are perfect to use for a few days away. our housekeeper was great and we always came back to towel art and flowers on our bed.

Thank You to Sandals Whitehouse and everyone envolved in making our anniversary so special, from managers to the housekeepers to Elenors for the song it was truly a special day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanagoly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
We're so happy to read that you had such a wonderful anniversary with us at Sandals Whitehouse. We strive to create romantic and memorable experiences for our guests and I'm so glad you had a fantastic stay.

Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We just spent a week at this resort. It was our second visit. We will be going back again and again. The accomodations, food, entertainment, staff were all top notch. I especailly appreciated "Michael". He was in charge of the fitness activities. I participated in power walks, yoga, and water exercise that he led. I learned much about the Island culture from him as well as felt almost like I had a personal trainer. He was very aware of each person's fitness level and supported and encouraged as appropriate. We also had lots of fun with the water sports. Again, the staff is very supportive and makes even the most inexperienced folks feel very comfortable with the activities. There are also many, many super comfortable couches, chairs, etc, (both in the shade and in the sun) to relax and soak up the beautiful gardens, fountains, pools, and of course, the gorgeous beach (and beautiful sunsets). There are even peacocks roaming around! Every room / suite is ocean front. By the middle of the week, I didn't even know what day it was- just that I was relaxed and had totally "escapted" to another world. The weather was mid 80's in the day time and mid to upper 70's in the evening. A truly magical time!

Room Tip: Dutch section is quieter. We had a corner room which gave us an amazing view of the ocean. 2nd or 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is our 4th stay, and it seems that every year just gets better, from the moment we arrived and were greeted by our favorite butler Ainsley and this year the opportunity to meet Omar as well, if possible if you can afford a butler go for it, the service is unbelieveable, form looking after dinner reservations, special treats on the beer and in your room, to reserving your spot on the beach, knowing what you like to drink and always making sure you have it. Drinks at the Marini bar, best martinis made by Fletcher, best service and most beautiful smile by Charisse in the Patierre, she greeted us like famil first night and remembered what we had every evening without asking. Favorite restaurant - Eleanors, love eating outside in the evening, yummy pizza at Guissippes had lunch 3 times, Jamaican Patties, its worth the walk to the French Village jsut for one. Fabulous vacation returning back next November. One of our favorite things about this resort is the location and beach, you can walk, swim, snorkel, dive or just lay around. Perfect holiday

Room Tip: Italian or Dutch, love the ground floor can walk right out to the beach, close to the restaurants an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LynneS4223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maraval, Trinidad
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend and a bit here before going off to Kingston for a business meeting. It was everything that I had been led to expect from Sandals. A good variety of restaurants for dinner each with generally quite good food. The sea sports were also quite good.

Generally the service was very very good in person; not so good if you need to call for service using the phone. With one exception, it seemed impossible to get a phone answered to get any service. I was having trouble getting the Wi-Fi connected and after repeated calls to the front desk went unanswered, I had to go down and eventually got the Wi-Fi sorted out after being put on to a call with the third-party provider.

The Wi-Fi, for which you had to pay, was generally available around the hotel but strangely enough it was quite spotty in our room. I sometimes had to move around the room to get a good signal.

Room Tip: The restaurants tend to be centralized and the rooms are spread out a quite bit. When it rains, as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonldH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ont. can.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was not our first Sandals trip.. we are actually Sandals snobs this was trip ??maybe 11 or 12. We have always loved Sandals because all the resorts are similar in the essence of a clean room good meals friendly people and a little pampering from staff!

The trip to the resort is long but if you go in prepared not an issue. The room was lovely. The food excellent!

We are not complainers as a rule.. as I stated this is not our first Sandals and will not be our last but this is our first trip advisor rant!!

This was the second Sandals trip we have had an item taken from our room (the first was Sandals Grande St Lucia and we had our charger cord for the camera stolen.. strange item to steal) The theft itself was not the fact that makes me want to rant on here it was the treatment of the resort. From the moment I called them they acted in disbelief (item was my iPod Nano shuffle that I only use on the plane and on the room stereo never was it taken out of the room by us and always replaced in it's little pouch holder) They searched the entire room including all personal items, drawers, luggage etc.! The entire time I received the feeling of disbelief as though I just lost it and was lying! Since returning home I have learned you can no longer buy a Nano shuffle and have had to purchase one on eBay that is used!

At the same time our friend complained about the scraping of chairs on the patio waking him on a whim to a manager he had met .. he received a letter of apology and a bottle of champagne!! All this and we did not receive recognition until I actually called the manager angry... to little to late I might add!!

When we were leaving the security manager made a comment to the effect of her briskness as I believe she knew she was over the top! Not a very warm and fuzzy felling at all!

In the midst of all that we managed to make some wonderful friends and have a good time, lots of laughs and good meals shared.

Will I go back, not likely!

p.s. Sandals Whitehouse told us they would send an update on "the investigation"... 1 month and we have not heard a word even though we were told we would be updated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sdenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
29.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
63.0 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
31.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,323 reviews
27.8 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
63.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Property: Sandals South Coast
Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Travelocity so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing