We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome trip to Sandals Whitehouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome trip to Sandals Whitehouse”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent nine nights at Sandals Whitehouse and returned on the Sept 25. It was our honeymoon, so that made it extra special and we decided to splurge and take the helicopter both to and from the resort. That turned out to be one of the best decisions I've ever made and I would say it was definitely worth the cost. We traveled from San Diego on the red eye, so by the time we arrived in MJB we were really wiped out. The customs and immigration lines were really long and by the time we got through them nearly an hour had passed since we landed, however, seeing the Island Hopper guy standing there with our name on his sign raised our excitement level tremendously. From there it was a quick ride to the helicopter and then 20 minutes later we were at the resort. It was an incredible ride.

We’ve been to Jamaica two times before, but this was our first trip to Whitehouse. Check in was a breeze and Diangra took care of everything while we sat in the comfy chairs in the lobby. Then she escorted us to our room in the Dutch Village and gave us a mini property tour. Our room was 2327 and it has a great view of the pool, beach and ocean.

The resort grounds are beautiful and there are many beautiful fountains and nicely placed lounge chairs to sit in and just relax. We never had any problem getting a palapa down on the beach and we spent just about every day at the beach instead of the pool. This is a large property and you will be doing quite a bit of walking. There is some distance to cover from the French and Dutch villages to the main restaurants, but we always enjoyed the walks and everyone you meet along the way is friendly and will greet you as you pass. The level of service at this resort is outstanding and the GM, Mr G is a high energy, highly visible GM that goes out of his way to ensure everything is perfect.

The food at this resort is the best we’ve had at Sandals and some of the best we’ve ever had while traveling. Our favorite restaurants were Neptunes and Bluefields. During the day, we stopped by Café de Paris for their pastries and ice cream. The bartenders were also some of the best we’ve seen. Keon and Fletcher at the Martini Bar and Chilly Chill, Copeland, and Aneisha at the bar outside of Neptunes were major high energy entertainers and kept us entertained for hours. Also Kevin over at the small bar at the Dutch Village pool poured some great drinks and was great to talk to.

On our fourth day we decided to venture out to YS Falls and the Black River. The tour desk hooked us up with a tour and our driver Trevor did a great job getting us over to the falls and the river. Both are worth seeing and we had a blast on the tour. The zip line over the falls is awesome. After getting to know Trevor we made arrangements with him to take us over to Negril to check out Sandals Negril and then over to Ricks Cafe for a jump off the cliff. If you're the adventurous sort that likes to get out and do your own thing, Trevor's a great guy to call on for your guide. He lives right there in Whitehouse and grew up in the Black River area. The bell hopes at the entrance podium know him and you should be able to get in touch with him if you ask them.

Ricks was a blast and if you like jumping off cliffs, don't miss it. Plus there's a sea cave at the base of the cliff that goes back about twenty feet and you can either swim into it under water, or climb through a small opening in the rocks. Either way, it's a blast to check out, and you will likely be guided by some eager young Jamaican guys that want to earn a tip for showing you the cave.

This was definitely one of the best vacations we've ever had and with it being our honeymoon, it was extra special. We’ve already made our reservations to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jon_Gj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,467
    1,509
    485
    181
    95
See reviews for
176
5,472
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,073)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Yes it's a long drive but it' s really worth it! We booked a private transfer and it made quite a time difference, would recommend. On arrival we were shown to our accommodation, first impression was it's a little dated but it was spotlessly clean. We were a little annoyed that we were unable to order room service (as we had standard accom only), as we had been travelling for many hours, it was late and we only wanted a sandwich whilst unpacking before sleep.
Our room had a fantastic view of the beach and the gardens were beautiful and well kept.
All restaurants were excellent and we especially like Neptune's seafood restaurant, which was right by the waters edge, you could hear the sound of the waves as you relaxed, heaven! We were also pleased to see that people made an effort to dress for dinner.
It helps to be an early riser if you want a choice of sun loungers, many were reserved by 6.30am. The beach was amazing and we enjoyed our beach walks without people heckling you to buy goods. Goods are available to buy but in the resort market square only.
Overall the staff were friendly and helpful and we will definitely return to the Whitehouse again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BKTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrive sep 28th, and leaving tomorrow. It is the most beautiful place I ever been, white sand , warm and clear sea, non stop cocktail, we almost forgot next Monday I have to be back to work. Food is good, a lot options, it will be perfect if there r more seafood option, housekeeping is great, they clean twice a day, we did a lot water sports, and scuba diving, love our friends kemuel, tesheika and many more we didn't get names. great people! We would come back next vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We're thrilled to read of your fantastic stay at Sandals Whitehouse. We strive to create romantic and memorable vacation experiences for all of our guests and it makes us proud to hear your kind comments. Thank you so much for your review.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another amazing trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed eight wonderful nights at Sandals Whitehouse. This was our first time at Whitehouse and our sixth vacation with Sandals. From the time we arrived at the Sandals lounge we felt welcome. We did not have much time to sit as our shuttle to the resort left within 20 minutes. The ride was a bit bumpy past the halfway point due to potholes in the road. The driver did a great job avoiding most of them and getting us to the resort safely even through a heavy thunderstorm. Once we arrived we were greeted with a cool towel and a glass of sparkling wine.
Within a few minutes we were escorted by Kenoi to the Concierge lounge and told we had been upgraded to a Club level room, a welcome surprise. Check-In was quick, efficient, and we were in our room within 15 minutes.

Our room was in the Dutch section on the third floor. It was well appointed with a view of the Dutch pool and Caribbean. We decided to unpack at a later time so we could make the most of our first day. All of the pools were great. The main (Italian) pool was the largest with a swim-up bar and most of the daily activities happen here. The Dutch pool was smaller and seemed to be the place to chill. The French pool also had a swim-up bar and is the pool volleyball venue.
Sandals Whitehouse is well laid out with well manicured grounds. It is not really a long walk from one end of the resort to the other. The beach was well taken care of and there were plenty of palapas and loungers to sit and relax by the ocean. The sand was soft with a few rocky places in the water. The area near the French village had the nicest swimming area.

The restaurants we visited were all great. The pastries, crepes, and Blue Mountain Coffee are a great way to start off the day. We also enjoyed the buffet at Bayside and a-la-carte at Eleanor's.
For lunch the pizzas at Giuseppe's we great as was the Jerk Chicken and Pork at the Jerk Shack near the main pool. We ate at all of the restaurants at dinner time except Neptune's due to my wife being a vegetarian. The food quality and service at all were very good.

What makes Sandals Whitehouse such an outstanding resort if the staff. It starts at the top with Mr.G. I have never seen a more involved property manager at any resort. When he and his staff say "Welcome Home" they really mean it. One example: We booked an early morning small group snorkeling trip so we could see some better reefs a bit farther from the resort. There was supposed to be a four person minimum on the trip, but no one else showed that morning. Our two guides went ahead and took just the two of us out instead of cancelling. Other stand outs include the entire Entertainment staff, especially Ackelia, Shane, and Wayon.

Right before we boarded our vans for departure, Mr. G. and many of the staff sang a song for us.
Though only our first stay, Sandals Whitehouse will always feel like home to us. I highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: The Italian village rooms are closest to most restaurants and the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuckfett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We're so happy to read that you and your wife enjoyed a memorable birthday trip to Sandals Whitehouse. It was such an honor to host you for this special occasion and we're thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations during your stay. We're glad that we made such an impression.

Thank you for your review. We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle River, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

It's actually quite simple ... this place was A-mazing. We actually never been to an all-inclusive destination, and Jamaica, but were not disappointing and we though, that our stay was a wise investment - for our mental, romantic, and physical health.

Amenities: Very nice, very clean, well designed and most importantly a bit secluded, which made our stay a little more exotic. We stayed in a room service suite in the Italian Village. Very spacious room, comfy bed, constantly re-filled mini bar, tub and nice balcony.

Food: I expected cruise-like food - you know - the same ol' stuff, prepared buffet style, with some posh dress-up. No! Their food was great, different restaurants had a hint of international tastes with a strong Jamaican base. Neptune's was our favorite, and Paris cafe was amazing in the AM. We are not big foodies, but it was plentiful, and very tasty. (oh yeah, can't forget abut the pizzas ;)

Night Life: Not too crazy, with few local entertainment events. We were not blown away, although the entertainment organizing staff were brilliant. Unfortunately we are not very sociable, so connecting with just another couple may have influenced the night-life experience.

Beach: Long, thin, harsh sand (cleaned daily) but water was nice. Unimpressed with the coral, but snorkling staff made it interesting with help of local snorkle fisherman. Some people mention sand fleas ... I didn't find any.

Spa: Very nice, very calm, little too concentrated on selling the products IMHO - takes away from the experience. I would suggest approaching guests through a message on the phone, or a note suggesting the products based on needs. Their products are nice IMO.

Adventures: We did the island trip and the catamaran cruise. Island adventure, which took us to another Sandals, Rick's cafe and some shopping was nice. Don't exchange money ... US dollars are easier to deal with there. Remember to take large number of small bills. Don't buy everything at the mall, or the first store they take you ... there is a market with locals selling hand made stuff. it's 1/2 the price and stuff is not made in China (eh!) - Ask the driver.

Catamaran cruise was nice. Some dancing, some food/snacks, some drinks. It was worth the time and money.

Extras: Dinner on the beach was very nice. We enjoyed our anniversary and the food was really good. This was also a nice experience and well worth the extra money.

Staff: Glad we went to other resort in Jamaica for a day, because we had a nice comparison. Whitehouse staff were awesome! Very attentive, very well mannered and respectful.

The pools were very nice as well, although we preferred the beach - no drunk people there ;)

Overall we would gladly go back. Very nice place, definitely nicest Sandals on the island, well worth the trip, money and our time. We rested and enjoyed our anniversary in a very clean, safe and exotic place.

Room Tip: talking to other couples ... if you can swing extra money, room service is well worth it. Italian vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Infectedctrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Whitehouse. We're so thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us. You enjoyed our beautiful property, well-appointed rooms and our high standard of luxury.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing experience in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Our five night stay at the Whitehouse was much more than we expected. This was our first Sandals experience, and we're sure it will not be our last. From the time we arrived at the airport to the time we got on the plane home, it was such a pleasant and seamless experience. All the staff were very professional, courteous and friendly! A special mention to Roselea at Giuseppe, Everton and Glendon at Bayside for their excellent service! Bravo Whitehouse! We will certainly return!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Whitehouse. We are so happy to read that you had such a wonderful stay and our amazing staff played a big role in making your stay so great. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our General Manager and staff.

We look forward to seeing you again for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We recently enjoyed a long weekend with 4 other couples at Sandals Whitehouse. We had been to this resort in the past so we had high expectations. I can report that our high expectations were exceeded on this trip. From the moment we stepped into the beautiful lobby where were met by an enthusiastically friendly staff including the GM "Mr. G" until the sad day we boarded the bus to take us back to the Airport, I must say everything was perfect. The staff is very friendly and always willing to help. The service was great. Rayon, the Lifeguard at the Dutch Pool really showed a personal interest in helping us. Sherwin, the restaurant manager that greeted us at Jasmines was friendly and very accomodating to our large group of 5 couples. The food was fantastic and varied. The entertainment was enjoyable, especially the Silver Birds Steel Band Show. We really enjoyed the fact that although the resort was well occupied, the property is so spread out that we hardly felt crowded. Quite the opposite. The rooms are clean and the housekeeping staff is quick to respond to any request. We are certainly planning to return in the future.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Dutch Beachfront Rooms because it it centrally located and the pool is quieter than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyV01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
It's so great to hear of your awesome vacation! We're thrilled to read that you had such an amazing stay at Sandals Whitehouse. You enjoyed our delicious food, the excellent service of friendly staff and our luxurious accommodations. Thank you so much for your review.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
31.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
63.0 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
29.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,282 reviews
63.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
64.1 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Property: Sandals South Coast
Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing