We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eight times to this resort and it just keeps getting better!!! Amazing vacations at Sandals Whitehouse in Jamaica!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eight times to this resort and it just keeps getting better!!! Amazing vacations at Sandals Whitehouse in Jamaica!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

What can I say...the people at Sandals Whitehouse continue to surpass our expectations!

When we arrived this year for our annual vacation in May we were met by Shawn from Consierge Service who escorted us to the Consierge office where we were "welcomed home" with a lovely cocktail and lots of hugs. We were upgraded to a consierge room and immediately made to feel very special. When the staff learned that this trip was our 8th visit just to Sandals Whitehouse alone, they couldn't believe it and made us feel very special and as though we had "come home". This sentiment was echoed by much of the staff throughout our week stay. We have been told that we are officially "Jamericans" because we have been to Jamaica so many times.

We first visited this beautiful resort just after the grand opening in 2005 and have been hooked ever since. We have seen many wonderful additions and improvements to the property since our first trip but one key element remains the same and that is the wonderful staff at this resort.

We are so fortunate to have met so many wonderful employees over the years. Diving is a enjoyable part of our vacation and my husband typically dives daily. Several years ago we had the pleasure of meeting Jackie who works the counter at the dive shop. We see her every year and get a big smile and hug when she sees us coming. Roderick is the dive shop manager and Alton is one of the dive boat captains and they all just can’t do enough to ensure that you have a wonderful experience! This year we met Caveda who was working the outside bar by Neptune’s. She made the most amazing margaritas with muddled fresh orange and kept them coming all week. One of the most awesome things about SWH is the staff....whether it is someone cutting the grass or someone carrying a tray of food, absolutely everyone smiles, says hello and asks you how your vacation is going. The people at this resort are a main reason why we keep coming back!

We had the opportunity to meet with Mr. G this year. He is the General Manager and can be found at all hours day or night with no job too big or too small for this guy. I don't think this guy ever goes home! It's always nice when the GM stops and talks to guests to find out how their experience is going.

The food was absolutely wonderful. Eleanors is one of our favorite restaurants and we had the Red Snapper and Filet both nights that we dined there. These meals were seriously one of the best we have ever eaten. Eleanors is well known for their filet and they certainly delivered again this year! Melt in your mouth like "butta"! Guiseppi's is also a favorite and we just love their brick oven pizzas especially late in the afternoon! This year we were surprised by the beautiful improvements made to Bluefield's which is now open for dinner as well as lunch. They added more seats and landscaping and it is just beautiful sitting right on the ocean. What a lovely, lovely spot to sit and dine and watch the beautiful ocean just steps away!

The grounds of this resort are absolutely beautiful, kept meticulous and decorated with firepits and lots of outdoor oversized seating and umbrellas creating a "Pottery Barn" feel to these areas....so nice! Honestly I don't know that it gets better than this place!

Here's the thing about Sandals and especially Whitehouse....they know how to do things right and they know how to treat their guests. Both of our children have also been married at Sandals resorts and their weddings were amazing!

So you see we have a deep seeded love affair with Sandals, especially Sandals Whitehouse and with the people there. We can't wait to go back again next year and we say enough about how fabulous this place is. After 8 trips it just keeps getting better!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beach front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Darla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,419
    1,487
    476
    179
    92
See reviews for
173
5,395
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,049)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a nice time at Sandals Whitehouse for the most part. The bus ride from the airport to the Resort is ROUGH though! I would choose the Dutch village if I knew what I know now also. It has a quieter pool and is closer to all the restaurants. The French Village that we stayed at is nice. But it is more of a party pool. So it can get kind of loud at times. There is a volleyball net in the middle of the pool. So it is set up more for crowds. The food was great at the resort. Our favorite was Bluefields. They are certainly not stingy with their drinks either. Tip: Take your own insulated mug. They will keep it full of any drink you want.

Room Tip: I would choose the Dutch Village if I returned. It has a quieter pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sissy2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Ive been to Jamaica only once before stopping for a day when I was on a cruise. Now I can say I spent a week there with my lovely wife. We stayed in the European Village in a terrific room. We had a great ocean front room(all rooms are this way). This was an all inclusive trip so it was nice to eat and drink when we wanted to. The people here at the hotel and all over the Island were very hospitable. we did get off the beaten track but only with a tour guide or our own driver so we weren't hassled by the locals as we were told to expect.

Room Tip: As I said..all the rooms face the ocean but it is still a fantastic view. The bed was a pillow top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
220 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Another great stay at Sandals Whitehouse. First I will say I found nothing negative about my stay at this resort. In fact, it is our third stay at this resort and each time it gets better. This resort has made several improvements, from the staff to the infrastructure throughout the resort. As many people have written, the service deserves high marks and the staff is always ready to assist you. It’s up to you to have a good time. The General Manager Mr. G. truly wants to make sure your vacation meets your expectations. If you have any issues speak with him. He is highly visible during your stay. He can be seen greeting, taking pictures and clearing glasses from tables, from morning to evening. I believe his positive attitude sets the standards for employees.

Arrival –We arrived at the airport Saturday morning around 9 am and had no problem getting through customs expeditiously. The earlier you arrive on Saturday the better. The airport website has a listing of arrivals where you can see the volume of arrivals for a particular day. After going through customs the Sandals lounge will tag your luggage and put you on a bus to get to your resort.

The ride – as many have already written, the ride to the resort is bumpy but at no time did I feel scared or sick. If you have difficulty with driving on the left, or vehicles passing on a narrow road, sit on the left side of the bus. The trip does take 90 minutes but sit back and enjoy the countryside. I would recommend not indulging in too many drinks in the Sandals lounge because restroom stops are optional.

Suite – We were upgraded to a one bedroom butler suite in the Italian Village, but did not have (or need) the service. Concierge really stepped up to take care of our requests and checked in on us just about every day. The room was very clean as we received housekeeping in the morning by Cheryl and turndown in the evening. Concierge rooms are also stocked with everything to make a perfect cocktail, sodas and beer. We occasionally received afternoon snacks delivered to our room by Concierge. Also, Concierge rooms are given free internet access for up to 3 devices; however, I found it to be a bit choppier than when we have paid for it. The hotel has a business center just off of the main lobby. Hairdryers, shampoo, lotions and soap are provided. Almost all rooms have decent ocean views. Some walkout rooms in the French village will have an obstruction by the pool, but that is minor. All rooms are stocked with water, soda, coffee and tea. Concierge level rooms have beer, wine and liquors.

Villages- Each village has its own theme, French is the liveliest, Dutch is the quiet pool and the Italian village just has a huge hot tub. The Italian village is the closest while the French is the farthest. Since they’ve added a beachfront walkway it cuts down on the walk to the main area. The French village has a restaurant , swim-up bar and bathrooms. Dutch pool just has a bar, there is no music piped in as done in the other villages.

Nightlife – There are no reservations required for dinner. We tend to eat later while on vacation so we never encountered a wait. The dress code has been relaxed for men, allowing dress shorts at dinner. After dinner there are several entertainment options to choose from. The Cabaret has evening shows that starts at 9, ranging from Silver Birds Steel Drum Band (no to be missed) and game shows that involve guests. There are also special events such as white night that is held Tuesday evenings in conjunction with the chocolate buffet and a live band. This Sandals goes all out with live shows. The Martini bar also a happening spot .
Bartenders- Troy the bartender at the Martini Bar is a gentleman. Damian stirs up a nice rum punch and Damon, the entertainer at the Neptune Bar.

Reading Road Trip – Sandals Foundation built a preschool approximately two miles from the resort. Spending the morning reading with the children will have a lasting impression. If you have two hours to spare, it is totally worthwhile. It only costs $20, which is a donation to the foundation and if you are a Select Member, you can earn 2k points for the trip.
Spa- the spa is very nice and can be used for services or if you want to use the steam, sauna and showers during your stay. A basic couple massage starts around $230 to which they will add a service fee, which I believe is the tip.

Business Center – the main building has a business center where you can browse the internet or print boarding passes. There was no charge to use the business center. 2 out of 3 computers were working. Printing your boarding pass for the return flight may cut down your time getting process by the airline.

Photos – take a few photos throughout your stay and decide which ones to buy at the end of the trip. There is no expectation for you to buy anything at all. See Chavez for creative shots. He is amazingly creative.

Other tips- bring deep woods bug spray. There’s a store on the property that sells bug spray, OTC medication, but bring your own with you as they tend to charge more. There is a nurse’s station on site should you need medical attention. The cost to see the doctor is $150.00 but he is not onsite. The nurses are very nice. I recommend purchasing spa treatments and trips while at the property. The spa has daily specials that are usually cheaper than purchasing them online. The day trips leave on certain days. and it may depends on how many have signed up. It’s easier to plan while at the resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italian riviera coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Going back third time to this magnificent resort was again a great experience. Everything is above and beyond - the beach which is a mile long, the ground facilities, the entertainment during the day, the food and so on. Also, the staff is really nice at this resort. Will go back there again with no doubts.

Room Tip: All rooms at this resort are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was our 6th visit to SWH and will not be our last- coming back 12/22/13 for Christmas week.
We did meet so many wonderful employees and I hope I can remember everyone's name.
First, our butlers Omar and Kamar were over the top! We did not require a lot, but they seemed to know that we were there to relax and rest. The butlers were great and well worth the extra expense. We have also booked concierge rooms before and the service was great as well.
The restaurants are great. Pizza for lunch or Bluefields-( Juleyann is wonderful!)We ate both places for lunch almost every day.
I should mention the breakfast buffet is great and we did this every morning. Omelets, etc @Bayside.
Also, our housekeeper, Ingrid was great.Our room was tidy by lunch time which was nice.
We both had mani- pedis with Natashia,, Stacia and Jarret. The spa is wonderful!
Special mention to George who kept our mini fridge stocked just the way we liked it.
Cannot wait till December!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robinricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals Resorts Review Coordinator at Sandals South Coast, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing stay with us, especially knowing this is not your first visit to Sandals Whitehouse. We always strive to exceed the expectations of our guests. Offering the highest levels of service and quality is our top priority and we're happy to achieve that goal time and time again.

We can't wait to welcome you back in December!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this property. The resort is a bit too out of the way for my taste but if you are looking to really get away from it all and still have some people and activity around you, Whitehouse is a good choice. Because of the location of this property, most excursions worth doing will take all day while you are paying to be at the resort. I've stayed at several Sandals properties and I do think they are over priced for what you get. Do not pay full price for any of their properties; make sure you get in on a sale. I think you are paying for the name. They do a good job marketing and getting you to come back with their points program.
We loved the beach and the water sports. The water ski staff were probably glad to see me leave because I was out there every day several times a day! :-) The food was quite enjoyable and the staff was refreshingly polite and accommodating. (We have stayed at a lot of resorts all over the Caribbean and to actually not encounter one surly person on staff was amazing!) We stayed for 5 days and that was enough due to the remote location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
31.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
63.0 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
29.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,227 reviews
63.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
64.1 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Property: Sandals South Coast
Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing