We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

we stayed at sandals whitehouse from aprl27th - may 3rd this resot is far more beautiful in person truly amazing we were their celebrating our honeymoon everyone is friendly and courtesy we enjoyed the beach even found some starfish we stayed at the main pool mostly if it wasnt the beach and enjoyed teh bartender's they all made sure you were entertained and drinking we didnt eat at jasmines so cannot say anything about that restraunt but we ate at bayside for first few morning then tried eleanor's and from then on ate at elanor's the rest of our trip for breakfast amazing they always mak you feel like royalty we felt thatthe rooms were a good size more than enough room for 2 people enjyed ou breathtaking view from our balacony ... would recommend bluefields is a must for dinner at sunset dont wait til your last night ... we can not wait to come back we went on the ys falls and zipline tour and our tou guide was wonderful and mario and dillion at ys falls are definalty wonderful and enjoy thei job's. the ride to the resot was not bad bumpy but not bad you are traveling up mountains just enjoy the scenery lots of beautiful things if you want to relax have fun enjoy the sun ,sand and each other welcome to jamaica where their is no problem mon .....

Room Tip: french would have the best view for sunsets but furthest fromall the activities if you are in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovebirds428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,467
    1,509
    485
    181
    95
See reviews for
176
5,472
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,073)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beecharmer1982
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband is 36 and I am 30. We stayed from April 28-May 3rd, 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our vacation! We got married at the Grande St. Lucian 2 years ago, had a fabulous time, made lots of life long memories that we will always cherish. However...if I were to compare the two resorts, the Sandals Whitehouse was more fun, more beautiful, and half the price! There were couples of all ages there, and everyone seems to make friends quickly. Ok, now for the actual review...Where do I start?!

The Bus Ride to/from the Airport:
Not as bad as everyone talks about and not by any means scary. Yes, it's a little bumpy but you could see the recently repaired potholes so I imagine our ride wasn't was bumpy as say even a few months ago. There are a few sharp turns, because you're driving through the Jamaican mountains, but the driver goes slow and you feel completely safe. I would suggest taking a Dramamine just in case you get car sick, only because of the many turns. Neither my husband or I get car sick/motion sick so we didn't have a problem at all, and really enjoyed seeing the country. The only downside was that it took about an hour before we left the airport (after going through customs/immigration/getting luggage of course), as they were trying to fill the bus all the way. The ride itself took about an hour and 15 minutes.

The staff:
All of the staff members are so warm and friendly, and everyone seems to really love their job. Anytime you pass an employee just walking about the resort, you're always greeted with a smile and a "how are you?" or some sort of "enjoying your day?" pleasantry. You can tell they all work very hard to make sure their guests feel right at home.

The rooms:
I had read other reviews on Trip Advisor that said the rooms were extremely humid and looked dated. I found that to be completely false. We stayed in a honeymoon oceanfront suite in the Italian Village. The room itself was nicely decorated and clean. Our room got nice and cold! We cranked up the air conditioner every night, and slept like babies! The bed was very comfortable, and the sheets were high quality. We had some friends meet us there that stayed in the French Village that complained of a white residue build up around the sinks and tubs, but our bathroom in the Italian Village was spotless. I will say though, it is a VERY LONG WALK from the French Village to anywhere else on the resort. It's a beautiful walk, but long nonetheless. We were glad that we stayed in the Italian Village. We felt close enough to all the restaurants and pools, but far enough away to have a nice, quite room to sleep. MY ONLY COMPLAINT about our room was that the phone didn't work so we were unable to ever call for room service. Despite asking the front desk to have it fixed (once or twice a day) it never got fixed. That was a little frustrating by the end of our trip.

The food:
We ate at Bluefield's for dinner our first night there, and what a way to start our vacation! The sunset was breathtaking, and the food was delicious! We ate at Bayside for breakfast every morning, and loved it! The spread at Bayside was wonderful for breakfast. The one time I ate there for lunch, I was not impressed though. Neptune's is much better for lunch! Giuseppe's has the best pizza and pasta and is good any time of day! We stopped at the Paris Café for specialty coffee and desserts at least 2-3 times a day! By the 2nd or 3rd trip there, the young lady at the counter knew what I wanted before I even had to ask! We even had them wrap a plate of goodies in cling-wrap a few nights so we could take it back to the room with us. Eleanor's for fine dining is wonderful. The restaurant looks elegant, the food is fantastic and it's a great excuse to get dressed up! We did not eat at Jasmines at all, so I can't comment on that one.

The beaches:
The beach was groomed every night, and is every bit as beautiful in person as it is on the Sandals official website. Make sure you bring deet bug spray to use along with your sunscreen, because there are sand fleas that can be a bit pesky.

The pools:
We seemed to stay in the Main pool the entire time! It's so big, so you don't ever feel crowded and there is a great view of the ocean, so you don't feel like you're missing out on the real beauty of the island by sitting in the pool. Delroy the bartender is so charismatic and always makes sure you have a drink in your hand. You must try the "Dirty Banana" drink... Or the "Strawberry-Banana Daiquiri" So yummy!!! There are tons of little cabanas that you can hide away in, and plenty of spots in the sun!

The Spa:
A MUST! I highly recommend getting the hot stone massage at least once while you're there. It feels wonderful, even if you're a little sunburned. :)

Entertainment/The Adventure Tours:
The nightly entertainment is awesome! One night they had fire-throwers and gymnasts that put on a "Cirque De Soleil" type of show that was so fun to watch! They also had a dance competition and pulled guests up on stage that was hilarious!! There was also a water aerobics and dance activities you could take part in during the day near the main pool that were lots of fun, and fun to watch if you're just wanting to chill. The PELICAN BAR tour is an absolute must!!! That was the only time we left the resort, and it ended up being the highlight of our entire trip!!!!! The boat staff are hilarious and make the trip to the actual Pelican Bar lots of fun. Once you get there, you're on a bar made of driftwood in the middle of the ocean!! It's so cool! You're greeted by two friendly locals who only want you to have a great time, they feed you freshly caught fish/lobster and make sure you have plenty of Red Stripe to drink. Make sure you bring cash, a camera, and any sticker/t-shirt/hometown memorabilia you want to leave behind. And be sure to carve your name in the wood planks somewhere!

The overall appearance of the resort:
AAA 5 Diamond Quality! The lobby is gorgeous and gives a great first impression. The gardens are immaculate! There is a gentleman that gives an educated (and passionate) tour of the gardens every morning at 9:00am, explaining the different species of plants/flowers they have on the grounds. There is always someone grooming flowers, cutting/trimming the grass, cleaning the side walks, or tending to the rooms everywhere you look. You can tell the employees take great pride in what they do there. There are friendly peacocks that meander about the resort and lots of cute little birds that scurry around everywhere that seems to add to the fun atmosphere. I'm an animal lover in general, and I particularly enjoyed seeing all the wildlife around the resort without feeling like it was a bother. There are beautiful statues and fountains peppered all over the resort that make for a beautiful picture ops!


All in all, we had a wonderful vacation and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Beecharmer1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I just spent an enjoyable and relaxing week at Sandals Whitehouse. We loved walking the beach, the glass bottom boat ride, and our view from the room was lovely. We were located in the Dutch Village and enjoyed the peacefulness of the pool and beach. When we wanted more activity we headed over to the volleyball pool at the French Village which is exactly what we were looking for. The pool with the most activity was the main pool and the view from the main pool is amazing with the mountains and valleys in plain sight. We enjoyed the managers dinner once the rain had stopped. Upon leaving to come home the managers came out to greet us and wish us safe travels which we were so impressed with.

Room Tip: It is our understanding that all rooms offer a sea view. We were located in the Dutch Village and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higgins Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

12 of us celebrated anniversaries from 4/25-5/2. The main pool bartender's were outstanding! Oshina, Cameka, Kevin, and Anthony made sure we had the time of our lives, and kept smiles on our faces every day. The concierge service was above expectations and fulfilled every request, including moving us to a room with the most beautiful view in the world. Food was excellent, and service was superb throughout our stay. O'Shay at Eleanor's is a top notch waiter, who even brought us lamb chops from Guiseppe's for our table of 6 when requested. The grounds were pristine, the staff really attend to every little detail of the resort to make it truly a 6 star resort. Kudo's to Mr. G and all the staff for running such a tight ship and giving us all a vacation we'll never forget! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Stayed in a concierge room on the 4th floor, highly recommend concierge service, worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve888_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Staff was wonderful! They took care of everything for our beach wedding and it was perfect! The photographs taken at the resort were top quality and the photographer made us feel comfortable too. Staff at the resort were super helpful and friendly. We felt pampered the entire time and wished we could have stayed longer. Food was delicious, drinks were very good and they were not stingy with the alcohol. It was nice to be offered campaign while we wait and when I went to the salon for a hair style before my wedding. I highly recommend this resort to everyone that wants to relax, have fun, be entertained or enjoy the beach and water activities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moniceta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

"The best week ever! The staff members are so friendly. They make you feel so welcome. This place is a little slice of heaven on earth .We recently returned from our 4th visit to Sandals Whitehouse. Our 5th and 6th returns are booked as well. This was the first visit since Mr. G had assumed responsibility as Resort Manager. We were quite impressed with the obvious impact his presence has placed among the Staff. As many have stated the ride to the resort isn’t the greatest, nor is it impossible. The Property is everything we imagined and then some. Improvements are taking place presently next to Neptune’s and along the beach. We truly believe Mr. G’s presence has impacted the property in a positive manner. Numerous times throughout the day you will see him along with other various managers chatting with Guests, shaking hands etc.

Upon arrival we were greeted by our Travel Agent and some friends we have met through a Social Media site "Fan’s of Sandal’s Whitehouse". We joined this Group in order to stay connected with our adored vacation resort and have formed many treasured friendships.

Our stay was simply magical. We were upgraded to a luxurious Butler Suite, which we greatly appreciated and enjoyed immensely. Each day during our stay we’d come back to magnificent towel art animals adorned with fresh flowers. The day of our departure she even took time out of her busy schedule to wish us well until next time. Special thanks to the housekeeping staff.

Our Concierge (Krystle) delivered snacks in the late afternoon, which were a pleasant treat. Concierge Staff would also check daily to see if we required any of their assistance and our stay was enjoyable.

Our Travel Agent checked with us daily to make sure all of our expectations we’re being met and to ensure we were enjoying our stay. I might add for those of you that don’t use a Travel Agent I’d highly recommend using one. In the five years we’ve been visiting Sandal’s Resorts, this was our first trip using one and we see many advantages.


Team members of the bar remembered our drinks and promptly served us. Anthony and Rudy remembered us from previous stays and really went out of their way to greet us on property. Many times upon approaching the bar our drinks magically appeared.

Bayside’s French Cuisine dinning experience is viewed by us as a welcome addition. Choosing this location for dinner with members of the social media site.

We feel the addition of Bluefield’s as a dinner option is brilliant. Having the option of enjoying Jamaican Cuisine makes the entire experience. The pumpkin soup is the best we’ve ever had. Eleanor’s is our all time favorite tied with the new Bluefield’s dinner menu. We enjoyed both of them so much we frequented them twice during our 7 night stay. Additional dinning experiences included Giuessppe’s’s and attending the Sandals Select Guest Dinner. All of our dinner dinning experiences were exquisite and flawless.

We visited Neptune’s, Bluefield’s, Giuseppe’s and the Jerk Shack on two occasions for lunch. The second visit to the Jerk Shack has left the jury undecided. Our Jerked pork contained numerous bones and fat. It was quit the disappointment after the first very pleasurable experience.

I know Sandal’s isn’t fond of Guests belonging to social media sites, but it allows us to stay connected with others who enjoy visiting the property along with Staff members. I had become friends with Chef Cahane and waitress Kemeisha. Throughout the year we have shared conversations and family events via Facebook. Both of these individuals went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. While standing in line for Chef Cahne prepared my omelet, I mentioned to him who I was he came from behind the counter to give me a hug and welcome us. He had offered to cook us a special lunch which we didn’t feel we wanted to impose or possibly get him in trouble.

The most magical moment we can share was saved for last. You always save the best for last. Again after conversing with Kemeisha for numerous months, I sent her a message that we were on property and had plans to visit Eleanor’s. She suggested I mention upon arrival and request a table in her section so she could serve us. Eleanor’s is very busy, and happens to be our favorite restaurant on property. Upon arrival we requested seating in her section, which was granted. We weren’t expecting anything more than finally being able to meet someone we had crossed paths with due to our connection with Whitehouse. Our table had been set with a beautiful floral arrangement. There aren’t words to express the impression this made with us. We were promptly greeted with Kemeisha arriving at our table just as we were seated. She served us promptly, professionally and with the utmost respect. Even as we were leaving took the time to wish us well. We adore Jamaican Hospitality and Culture. It’s something that seems to come naturally to Jamaicans.

We don’t normally write reviews on property, however felt the obvious changes which have taken place in the last year at Whitehouse shouldn’t go unmentioned. The addition of Mr. G. along with numerous appointments such as Mr. Moreira in Food Services has made this property even better. During our stay we didn’t encounter any disgruntled employees everyone would great us with hello and some would even engage in small talk. There is an obvious change in moral among employees which I credit to new Management techniques.

The only negative experience we encountered was securing lounge chairs in a desired location. It wasn’t a deal breaker, and we were able to secure chairs daily. We were told the resort was booked at 100% capacity so it is understandable. I believe some guest would get up early in the morning and secure chairs in multiple locations which caused the difficulty. Perhaps there something they could implement where each room or suite to able secure a location by reservation associated with their room. We saw new Huts being erected which should alleviate the problem in the future. We were there and saw numerous guests securing chairs prior to 6am.

Whitehouse was our first Sandals experience and will remain our favorite. We were engaged here and prior to leaving booked with Adrian at Soon Come Back to celebrate our 5th Wedding Anniversary here. We have visited other properties will remain loyal Whitehouse Guests based on the Employee moral and genuine gratitude expressed for our hard earned vacation money being spent.

The managers who gathered to sing us a song prior to boarding the bus touched us. Whitehouse employees realize money can be spent on other properties and resort chains and really show they appreciate our business. Customer Service is something that is sometimes lost in the shuffle. That isn’t the case with Whitehouse.
.

Room Tip: Book Concierge level WiFi and Room Service are included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CCarro0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Resort is beautiful but service is extremely slow. Eleanor's had the best food and prompt service for dinner. I was able to FaceTime with family back home on the resorts wifi so not as slow as some have said. With all the other resort choices I would find it difficult to choose another sandals resort for our next trip

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhansen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
31.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
63.0 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
29.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,282 reviews
63.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
64.1 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Property: Sandals South Coast
Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing