We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Weddingmoon at Whitehouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Weddingmoon at Whitehouse”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited the resort 4/20-4/26 for our weddingmoon, and it was a wonderful experience. It was our first Sandals experience, as well as first time visiting an all-inclusive resort, and we were not disappointed! The service was top-notch. Every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful, and really made you feel like a valued guest. The gounds are beautiful. We stayed in the French village, which is the end of the resort that is furthest away from most of the restaurants and entertainment, but it's not a bad walk at all, and we needed the exercise with all the food we ate!!! Speaking of the food, it was sooo good!! I have to admit I had low expectations. I was expecting it to be average, but I was pleasantly surprised. Ofcourse, I'm pretty easy to please when it comes to food. We particularly enjoyed Guiseppe's. They serve the most amazing lamp chops...so yummy! We stayed in a honeymoon room, which is a notch above the basic accomodations. We decided on this room because we wanted a good beach front room, and that is what we got. Our fridge was restocked regularly, and it was nice to always have bottled water and cokes on hand when you wanted it. The room itself was nice and comfortable. We mostly spent our time on the beach. On one occasion, we had trouble finding a chair, but an employee quickly came to our service and hooked us up. The chairs with the thatched huts are hard to come by. You have to get up really early in the morning to reserve them. It's no problem to find a chair with shade, as there are plenty of trees on the beach to provide you with cover. It rained a lot while we were there. We were told by several of the employees that their rainy season had come early this year. It would usually rain for an hour or two later in the afternoon and clear up just in time for the amazing sunset. We soaked up the sunshine early in the day! The only days it rained really hard was on our arrival day and the next day. The day we got married was the most perfect day. It did not rain at all that day. In fact, we were initially supposed to marry at 2:00 pm, but asked if we could move it to earlier in the day due to the possibility of a rain shower, and the staff was very flexible with this. we got married in the concierge gazebo, which was a great location. It was on the beach, but yet it provided some privacy as well for us. We would particularly like to thank Delano for taking amazing wedding pictures. He is so talented at what he does!! Fabriella, our wedding coordinator, and Shaneika, our wedding assistant and witness, were very helpful and so friendly. Sandals really knows what they are doing when it comes to weddingmoons!!! We can't wait to go back! Melissa and Brandon M. Louisville, KY

Room Tip: We stayed in the French village, which is the end of the resort furthest away from most of the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelissaH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,508
    1,520
    495
    182
    95
See reviews for
181
5,526
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,087)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We've been to many island resorts, even other Beaches and Sandals, and this was our fifth trip to Jamaica, and I can say without hesitation that this is the most beautiful beach I've seen, beating out Antigua, Turks and Caicos, and Hawaii, so that is saying alot! The staff are all warm and welcoming, sincere and helpful, and there is plenty to do and see. Or you can do nothing but lounge on a chair at the beach and listen to the water. The resort is clean, easy to get around, there are a variety of restaurants, and you don't need a reservation for any which is perfect. Those reservations are sometimes the most stressful part of an all inclusive. The concierge suite in the Dutch Village was comfy and perfect. Krystal in concierge was an angel. Everyone was great. I really can't say enough. The entertainment was fun and there was quite a variety. The food was delish. Fletcher in the Martini Bar is quite the mixologist. Hurry to Whitehouse. You can even volunteer in the community for several hours to make the trip more perfect, if that is even possible.

Room Tip: Don't over pack. Only one restaurant requires long pants for men. They have figured out how to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WashCaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Visited Sandals Whitehouse for my birthday and I totally enjoyed the experience.
The property was just awesome, the staff - just no word to say how awesome they were. Mr G - the General Manager, Kadian, Kenoi, Fitzroy, and Ava in Concierge - they made my stay that special! You guys rock!. I have to say as well that Keisha the housekeeper - made me feel vey special as well. The team at Sandals Whitehouse makes you wanna come back again and again.

I had Dinner at Eleanor's and my server (oh shucks I forgot her name) was just the best. That restaurant was like a well oiled wheel - I have never gotten my food so quickly - the service was great!

I will recommend friends to this property always.
will be back

Anne M

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor - in Concierge - the view was just awesome. looking out to the sea - plus a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We just got back from a week at Sandals Whitehouse European Village and Spa in Jamaica. This was the first time we had ever visited a Sandals Resort and was very impressed with it. The beaches were beautiful, the food was great and the hospitality was superior by far. Check out Eleanor's Restaurant and Cafe de Paris! We have travelled to Cuba and DR, and the Jamaicans win hands down. We want to say a big thank you to Delano (takes awesome photos) and to Kenrick (room service). Sue, Dave Mike & Wanda from Nova Scotia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Let me start by saying that only other resort experiences in Jamaica the wife and I have had has been with Secrets properties. This was a last minute trip and we could not get in to Secrets and our travel agent talked us into Sandals Whitehouse.

Arrival/transfers to resort.
We were promised private car/van transport to and from the airport to the resort. Ended up on the 2 hour bus trip. Don't think this was the resorts fault. This one was on travel agent. So! confirm transport booking and have in writing when you arrive at MBJ. Bus trip was rough but fun seeing all the sights over the mountains. Weather was dry but if it was raining it would have been a very scary trip. Bus drivers are not working for the resort so tip them.

Resort arrival.
We had reserved a concierge room and check in was flawless. 10 min from arrival to room.
Concierge service was lacking the rest of our stay though. Ordered flowers for our anniversary two days ahead of time and asked for them to be delivered by noon the day of. Got them 8pm that night. Called desk to make dinner reservations. Not done. Called desk to make snorkel reservations. Not done.
So! up grade to butler room! They will do it for you. Or stay in standard. You will end up doing it yourself anyway.

Property.
Gardens and beach are the best I have seen in Jamaica. Take the garden tour.you will not be disappointed. If you are staying in standard or concierge room you will have to get up early(5am) to get pool/beach spots. Butlers start taking spots around 530am. Take extra pool towels to you room with you the night before to lay out. Also don't just put out towels. Leave a book, flip flops, hat, etc... To mark you spot. Saw several situations of just towels left out and issues of who's spot it was.
Be prepared to walk. Property is 55 acres with 2 miles of beach. Resort was sold out and even though full it did not feel like it. Plenty of elbow room.

Rooms
A little dated but very clean. Get a corner room if you can. Better views

Bars.
Top notch booze selection. Bartenders knowledgeable and can make just about anything you like. Bring your own large cups. Less trips to the bar while at pool/beach. If you are a premium tequila drinker bring your own. They do have tequila but it is Pepe lopez a lot like Cuervo gold/silver. No fresh limes/lemons are available either. Just juice. Very little if any poolside/beach drink service.

Restaurants.
Food was good to excellent. Breakfast buffet is a fire drill due just to the way they have it set up. But we went in and made our plates and took them to the thatch beachside. Way more fun this way. Wife has food allergies and chef's and staff were very accommodating.

Shopping
Had a couple of curious stores but due to location a little pricey. Had cuban cigars though at reasonable pricing.

Water Sports
Well above a average. If you are a diver you will love this resort. Unlimited diving and snorkeling with plenty of wildlife to see. Bring you own snorkeling gear beach snorkeling is great. Bring water shoes. You can not see the sea urchins in the seagrass. If you are walking in the sandy part of the water you will be ok.

Staff
General staff was great. Never have had a issue with any of the staff where ever we stay in Jamaica.
A little peeved that general manager Mr G walked right past us while stopping to see guests on either side of us. Which is probably good because i was not happy at the time. But looking back,
Overall a very nice resort. In my opinion they excel where Secrets lacks and Secrets excels where Whitehouse lacks.
Glad we went but due to distance from MoBay to resort and a few other things probably wont go back without heavy discount.
Do enjoy it for what it is!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SD2Jamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We are repeat visitors to Sandals/Beaches resorts, and this location was as expected. We were aware of the "dreaded" road from airport to resort (90 min. ride), so as tedious as that was, we were transported comfortably and efficiently. Our rooms were ready shortly after arrival and we were escorted to Guiseppe's to enjoy lunch while we waited. We stayed in the Italian Village; the closest to the main pool and restaurants. We stayed 4/20-4/28.
Although other reviewers say it is difficult to find chairs or shade on the beach, we had no problem. There was always available space and shade. The beach area extends the length of the resort and the sand is raked and cleaned every morning, but, much of the water is very rocky and uncomfortable to walk. There was, however, a roped off swimming area that was clean and rock free. This area was in front of the French Village ( a long walk from the Italian Village ). So, our first suggestion would be to extend this area, but I really don't know if it is possible. In any case, walking is a good thing because the food here is quite good..we ate ALOT!
The entertainment in the evening is really bad...somewhat of a disappointment for an adults only resort in this price range, but we find this to be true in all of the Sandals/Beaches we've visited. Again, I don't know what the answer is, but a good show and a talented entertainer would be nice. Aside from the theme nights, there is really nothing worth staying up for.
If you go, be very careful walking around the pool area. The tile gets VERY HOT and Slippery. We witnessed several people falling poolside, including my husband. This is a safety issue that I really feel needs to be addressed. There are many other materials available.
One more issue..if you use Internet (wi-fi), access is intermittent. Troy ( the IT manager ) was somewhat helpful in tweaking our IPads, but we still had problems. On the positive side, we were credited for several days access charges upon check out. And, Verizon access is not available on that side of the Island.
Every day, we were given a schedule of events (games, sports, etc.), but many times these schedules are not adhered too.
All in, these issues would not stop us from visiting again. The staff is wonderful! They stop at nothing to make the guests feel valued. That alone, for us anyway, is worth the price of admission. I can't say I had a bad meal, and the coffee cafe is a real treat! The grounds are lovely, the beach is lovely, the food and attention is excellent! If the minor issues I mentioned were corrected, I would give Sandals Whitehouse 10 Stars!

Room Tip: Italian Village is most centrally located. The corner rooms have a two sided balcony view, but all f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NyJustme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francisville, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The beach at Whitehouse is beautiful. We visited for 7 nights April 16-23. We stayed in the Italian village in a Coinceirge room. The room was serviced beautifully every day. We never had any issue with finding chairs on the beach, we were usually up and on the beach no later than 9 a.m. each day. There was rain every afternoon, but it started around 4 pm so we enjoyed the breeze and view from our balcony prior to dinner. The Cafe with pastries and coffee was a wonderul treat at this resort. Since we've visited other Sandals properties, we would like to see a pub or beach grill here, but overall the food was ample and very good. Service took the top kudos though...Everyone was great. The Monday night beach party was a lot of fun. Our personal preference is a smaller resort, but we have no complaints about Whitehouse....if you go, you will have fun and bring home wonderful memories.
David and Kathy Beauchamp
Louisiana

Room Tip: Italian Village is more centralized to everything...but such a beautiful beach, the walk to other ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy40411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
29.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
63.0 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
31.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,313 reviews
27.8 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
63.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Property: Sandals South Coast
Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing