We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Vacation Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals South Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful Vacation Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our second vacation to Jamaica but our first vacation to Sandals Whitehouse. It was outstanding! The resort was so peaceful and relaxing. The food and drinks were delicious and the staff was awesome. What made the trip even better was the planning of the trip by our travel agent, Carey, with Beach Bum Vacation. She made sure every detail of the trip was perfect and stress-free! I would highly recommend her services and will use her every time we vacation!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room you pick - you don't spend much time in there at this resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,344
    1,471
    471
    179
    91
See reviews for
172
5,311
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,024)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have spent a toatal of 10 weeks at Sandals Whitehouse and have just booked for another two weeks in May which in it's self I feel is a good recommentdation. Yes the trip from the airport is a pain but it's soon forgotten when you arrive.
We have never been disappointed with our vacations and always look forward to returning. We have made many great friends both staff and fellow guests.
The resort is a great place to get away from it all and relax, there is plenty to do and join in with if you wish but no pressure
The staff have always been great and a pleasure to be with. We enjoy the selection and variety of food with Elanors being out favorite, service can sometimes be on the slow side but that's not a real problem when you take in your beutiful surroundings.
We stay consierge and have always been well looked after by the consierge team, most recently Ava who was wonderful.
I enjoy diving and especially so at Whitehouse so far I have logged 100+ dives at this resort and have always been more that happy with the level of service at hand. The dive crew are great and Jackie manages things with her own style in a predominantly male enviroment and she does it well. We are always sad to leave all the guys but that makes going back even better. One thing worthy of mention is that this is not a dive resort it's a resort that offers diving and there is a difference.
The Martini bar in the evenings was always a good way to start the night after sampling the delights of the pool bar with friends in the afternoon, staff at both were faultless with Delroy being a reel asset to all bars.
For me to mention everybody who made each vacation special would take far too long suffice it to say nobody spoilt our vacation.
A great location, resort with great staff.

Room Tip: We always stay in the Dutch village which for us is perfectly situated and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2304stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is our third time at Sandals Whitehouse. We have now stayed in every village (Dutch, French and Italian). All are great and each has its own charm. The place is perfect. We were there with a full resort and still, it didn't seem crowded. The martini bar surprises us every year with a new, we have never tried before martini. This year, we were won over by the espresso martini made with Frangelico and Vodka and a few coffee beans. The exercise facilities are very adequate. There is a row of elliptical machines and a row of treadmills and some stationery bicycles available. The price is high, the food is just o.k., but the facilities, the service, the staff and the weather are worth the price. Be prepared to relax, relax, and do nothing but relax.

Room Tip: If you like a party pool, stay at the French village. If you like quiet, it's Dutch for you. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Around_The_World647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our first all inclusive vacation and it was lovely. The food and drinks are top notch, the staff is wonderful and really and truly try to do everything they can to make your trip memorable. I would say the only exception was the dive shop staff. We are avid divers and were shocked by the unprofessionalism of the diving staff. Even dealing with the dive shop manager was a nightmare. The worst part was nearly being poked with a spear whizzing past my head from an instructor who was spear fishing during our dive. First Lion fish I had seen in my life and it was speared right infront of me. Might explain why the reef has hardly any fish left on it. If you are going for a wonderful and fun all inclusive this is probably a good choice for you as the activities and service are superb. If you are going because of the all inclusive diving that is offered, I personally would recommend against it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

For all the whinners that I have read, the following. The bus ride is from one part to another with an awful lot of things to see. The ride can be bumpy at time but this is not an interststate or the Transcanada. The really good driver had here safe and sound. Our room is great and the staff is second to none.the restaurant service is relaxed but who cares, I am on vacation.
My biggest peeve is the requirement of all the rude guests that hoard all the lounges. From now on what I plan on doing is that if i see a resort towel on a lounge and nothing else, it will be removed and I will use it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our first Sandals experience and we would do it again, but at a different location. We went in the beginning of December and it was exceptionally quiet. The resort seemed to be empty, but we were told they were at 80% capacity.
The hotel was very nice. We had concierge service and got an upgrade upon arrival. But other than that, we didn't really benefit from the concierge service. We would probably opt out next time, especially if we went on an off time again. We were really glad we didn't get a butler. There was no need for one for dinner reservations, etc. We always found a table.
The room was nice and clean, housekeeping was terrific, and the toiletries were really lovely! Decor was a little dated, but nice pillows and linens, flat screen tv, etc.
The beach was very nice. Once, after a storm, some seaweed washed up on the beach, but it was gone within a few days. We never had a problem finding a good seat on the beach or by the pool.
The food was the only let down. Sometimes it was quite good, other times, not at all. And this was the same meal, same restaurant, just different days. Very hit or miss. Some very strange meals. I ordered a chicken salad with onion tart. The 'tart' was a piece of dried pita bread with onion sliced on it - that's not a tart! My husband ordered 'jamaican greens' and got melon. In another restaurant, on another day, 'jamaican greens' was spinach. It was just weird. Some meals were good though. I believe it all came from the same kitchen, so really just depended on who was cooking, rather than where you were eating. Overall, it wasn't a big deal; I always found something pretty good to eat. It was just a little baffling!
Service was relaxed (and by that I do mean slow). You should come at least 20 minutes after advertised opening times, or prepare to wait.
Drinks were terrific though. Not watered down at all.
Transportation to the resort was okay. We were worried after reading reviews, but it was absolutely fine. Not scary at all. Some narrow roads, but they were in pretty good condition. I can occasionally suffer from carsickness, but didn't have any issues.
The spa was quite nice. Prices were comparable to North American spa prices. The massages were quite hard! Good, but very firm! Keep this in mind when telling them your pressure!
Overall, I'd recommend this resort. We had a great vacation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mispig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Everything was perfect: AA was on time flying direct, breezed through customs, Sandles staff led us to the airport lounge, ride was via nice air conditioned motorcoach, we had pre checked in so were at poolside enjoying a drink 15 minutes after arrival!

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanview but get one on the fourth floor for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoosierhobbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
31.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
62.9 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
29.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
28.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,150 reviews
27.7 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Property: Sandals South Coast
Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing