We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place to Stay”
Review of Tarraleah Estate

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tarraleah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarraleah Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarraleah
Longford, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Beautiful surroundings, friendly staff, cheap. We had a non powered site a awesome playground for the kids. The kitchen was clean included a kettle, toaster, oven and microwave attached to this room was a laundry with machines and dryers. The bathroom was clean and tidy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Fabulous stay in a really interesting, historic, beautiful and peaceful place.
We stayed in an engineers cottage, really well furnished, spotlessly clean, lovely sun room, plenty of space. All the little things you could need - fire set ready to go for example

When we ran out of wood, within 30 minutes there was some more, we locked ourselves out one night, the staff helped out really quickly. Just really lovely friendly people.

Great meals at the Highlander Arms Pub, nice to be able to walk back to the cottage in the crisp night air. The wine list at the pub restaurant great, had a lovely Pinot from a local windery - Observatory Hill

Went on a guided mountain bike ride, well worth it, got to see some amazing scenery and not another soul around. Highly recommended. Very close to some excellent fly fishing

The info booklets in the cottages were a bit tired and could have been updated

Room Tip: Cottage with a sunroom with a view (cottage 3)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed in one of the art deco cottages at Tarraleah for two nights in August as part of the Wellness Yoga Retreat run by inspiring Hobart-based instructor Geraldine Doyle. The accomodation could not have been better- the 'cottages' are spacious, beautifully restored and furnished with unusual attention to detail. They have lovely views. Despite the six inches of snow that fell, we were super warm and comfortable (at least until we stepped outside!)

Staff were friendly and knowledgeable and happy to give our group a very interesting guided tour of the ex-hydro town, as well as point out walks and other activities. The setting is isolated but beautiful and so peaceful, with the renovated church a perfect yoga studio. I imagine it would suit a variety of group uses like weddings as it has a nice mix of private and communal spaces, indoor and out.

The several yoga sessions were thoughtfully paced to complement our various needs/abilities and the workshops on juicing, nutrition, massage and other aspects of holistic well being were informed and fun. At the end of two days I felt wonderful, and a little disappointed not to be snowed in and forced to stay another night or two...

The owners have done a fantastic job of restoring and caring for an interesting piece of Tasmania's modern history, and it was a lovely and comfortable setting for calm reflection.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highhorsecollage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stain the Art Deco Cottages it is unlike anything else. This is the second time we have stayed in them and we just loveit. Tarraleah isa great stopping off point between Strahan and Hobart. It is lovely having an open fire and the space of a whole house after being in motel rooms for a few days. If you are looking for action packed things to do or shopping then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for relaxation,great views,peace and quite then go.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dowrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Yes Tarraleah, a rather hard one this. We stayed at Tarraleah in an Art Deco Cottage for 3 nights in April. There was a fabulous turn in colour in the trees’ foliage but there was always loads of duck and goose doo to step in. There was a feeling of being in a time that harked backed to a world that was simpler and better, but also where the service sometimes resembled an eccentric past.....

Tarraleah is remote to say the least, so you really have to make a choice to come and stay here. It is on the route from Strahan to Hobart, but we chose to come here as a base for trips into the few national parks that are within an hour's drive of Tarraleah. There is the feeling that the grand vision of delivering a once workers village into a luxurious country retreat has been somewhat been compromised by a lack of patronage. The spa was unattended; the high-end restaurant was closed; advertised activities were not available etc., which the website still advertises as a full service luxury retreat.

The cottage was lovely, beautifully restored and furnished that embellished its origins and history. The beds were superb, the bathroom was adequate. The original period kitchen was well equipped but with a fabulous echo of the past. The roomy accommodation could easily accommodate six, but they charge for extra for more than 2 people. The cottage Overlooked the valley below, which certainly added to the natural majesty of the place - the clear skies were a stella spectacular!

Breakfast was included at the onsite cafe and was good - even the coffee was good, which is saying something for rural Tasmania. The only evening dining option was at the onsite pub and again the food was good. We did note that the same chef cooked all of our breakfast and evening meals and we both felt (rightly or wrongly) that he was the key to the food's quality. We didn't see another cook during our stay. The staff were friendly, but the lady in the reception / visitor centre kept thinking we were staying in the caravan park for some bizarre reason!

We got to spend an hour in the hot tub in the spa treatment centre, which was only occupied by us and there were no other staff on hand. The experience was temprered by the tepid temperature of the water in the tub, so we got the distinct feeling that the spa centre has been somewhat abandoned.

Summary

Positives: accommodation, location, scenery, food (given its isolated location)
Negatives: location (yes), closure of some amenities

Do stay: if you love rural Tasmania and would love to see a charming, yet quirky village
Don't stay: if you think Surfers Paradise has a lot going for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage on the valley side of the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Because of a late start heading to Strahan an unplanned overnight stay at Tarraleah was an amazing experience which we were glad that happened. The staff were more than helpful when we put in a call for accommodation late in the afternoon, yes it was a little expensive but in the end worth every cent. The house was spotless, more than comfortable and the art deco feel was amazing even the 4WD felt very comfortable for the night! The kitchen was well equipped and relaxing by the fire was most welcome after a couple of days hiking. Would return to Tarraleah in a heart beat.

Room Tip: The mauve house on the corner is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thekbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at Tarraleah just for the one night in March this year, in a self contained cabin. The cabin was comfortable and had all we needed. We ate and drank in the tavern which is located on site - but that is about all there is to do there.

The whole place is quite quaint, and looks to be in fantastic order - from the Lodge, the houses, the cabins and the caravan park.

The Tavern is fairly expensive but reasonable enough for the location I guess.

As others have said, it is very quiet here, and I am sure that there is much to do, but our stay was just a stopover on our driving holiday.

Very clean and comfortable - I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WomanfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarraleah
0.0 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarraleah Lodge
Tarraleah Lodge
#1 of 4 in Tarraleah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bronte Park Village
Bronte Park Village
#1 of 1 in Bronte Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
0.0 mi away
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
#1 of 1 in Derwent Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarraleah Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarraleah Estate

Property: Tarraleah Estate
Address: 2 Wild River Road, Tarraleah, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Tarraleah
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarraleah
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tarraleah Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the lake, the local hotel and close to all amenities is the Tarraleah campsite. Clean powered and unpowered sites are available and there are plenty of activities for all including a kids playground, feeding the cows and ducks, or doing one of the many walks surrounding the town. You can also book in for one of the guided fishing, kayaking or cycling tours through reception. The local pub offers modern bistro style food and and a selection of local and international wines and beers. Teez cafe is just around the corner and offers great coffee, hot breakfast and a selection of cakes, rolls, quiches and pies throughout the day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarraleah Estate Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing