We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tarraleah Estate
Nearby Hotels
National Park Hotel(Mount Field National Park)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn Gold Rush(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$94
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
West Coaster Motel(Queenstown)
$70
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Silver Hills Motel(Queenstown)
$91
$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Empire Hotel(Queenstown)
$55
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bronte Park Village(Bronte Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Forest Walks Lodge(Jackeys Marsh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Junction Motel(New Norfolk)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
35
13
2
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
13
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decothe cottagesunlike anythingone nighthydro electricitythe pubhighland cowsphone receptionwood firelounge roomhighlander armsair conditioningcomfortable stayweddinglodgehobarthistory
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 55 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Because of a late start heading to Strahan an unplanned overnight stay at Tarraleah was an amazing experience which we were glad that happened. The staff were more than helpful when we put in a call for accommodation late in the afternoon, yes it was a little expensive but in the end worth every cent. The house was spotless, more than comfortable and the art deco feel was amazing even the 4WD felt very comfortable for the night! The kitchen was well equipped and relaxing by the fire was most welcome after a couple of days hiking. Would return to Tarraleah in a heart beat.

Room Tip: The mauve house on the corner is lovely.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thekbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at Tarraleah just for the one night in March this year, in a self contained cabin. The cabin was comfortable and had all we needed. We ate and drank in the tavern which is located on site - but that is about all there is to do there.

The whole place is quite quaint, and looks to be in fantastic order - from the Lodge, the houses, the cabins and the caravan park.

The Tavern is fairly expensive but reasonable enough for the location I guess.

As others have said, it is very quiet here, and I am sure that there is much to do, but our stay was just a stopover on our driving holiday.

Very clean and comfortable - I would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WomanfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We were 6 people on an MBA reunion staying across 2 houses (1 and 7). We were blown away by the friendliness of the staff who worked across reception, cafe and bar ! We had pre-booked a cycling tour but were late being slightly hungover( !) . Julian (who we found later was the owner ) was completely fine and suggested a much better itinerary at St Clair lake with cycling the following day instead.
We did this and met the fit Mark and his lovely ( and even more fit !) wife Maryanne who took us mountain biking next day. Informative,fun,charming, (running outnof adjectives! )- we loved them. Especially when it got to 42 c and mark fetched the trailer to pick us up on last uphill leg!
He also gave us a tour of the lodge and extended our stay so we could have a shower after canoeing.

The houses themselves were perfect for us - well equipped , log fire and charming decor. The men loved chopping wood :)

I travel extensively for work globally and this is longest review i have ever written but truly had a great time and HIGHLY RECOMMEND to small groups ! Will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scottieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Tried to book in the Lodge, but that they said was full, so they recommended the Architect Houses instead. We later found out the Lodge was closed anyway, for reasons we still do not know. We were booked for five nights, but left after two, even thought it was pre-paid, that says it all! In the middle of nowhere, no proper hiking nearby - nearest National Park - 45 min. away. No real restaurant, just a horrid "pub" - part of the place. No service, nothing to do, and void of people except some staff from the power plant staying it some of the cottages. Their brochure in the cottage upon arrival recommended to bring food etc if you wanted to cook or do any form of self catering. A bit late, as the nearest ship is in Hobart - 2 hours drive away.... It is the weirdest, strangest, isolated place we have ever stayed - as the heading says, like the village in LOST, but worse. Probably soon going bust anyway, think the Lodge may already be closed for good. Awful!

Room Tip: Don't!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dag H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at Tarraleah in May of this year. The superbly renovated 'Engineers and Architects' houses offer a wonderful level of accommodation to visitors to this amazing part of Tasmania. We loved the art deco touches in the house....1950's couches, side boards, glass ware and even soda streams as well as the warm, inviting open fires that are permanently set ready to burst into flame on arrival (although the additional heating always ensures accommodation is warm at all times anyway!). We also loved being able to go the local pub...the Highlander Arms where we enjoyed great food, another roaring fire, fantastic local wine and beer and a welcoming atmosphere and the Teez Cafe for great coffee and brunch. The Tasmanian wilderness is beautiful and this wonderful resort, that recreates a snapshot the glory days of a working highland village, offers you a chance to see it in absolute luxury. We love it and will be returning with friends and family for many years to come!

Room Tip: Speak to the very helpful staff i nreception and they will provide you with all the alternative accommodation options available.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikitaHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews