We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most disapointing experience in over fourty years of world wide travel”
Review of Tarraleah Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tarraleah Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2009

The whole holiday was ruined by the lack of management . no one in charge, on one evening a hotel guest needed assistance becouse his partner was ill, there was no -one to pick up his call. my friends , husband and I assisted him in his moment of need.;

How on earth can a hotel be open and taking bookings from poeple as far afield as New York. The U.K.. we are the people who payed a very high price for the most unbelivable service imaginable, just to finalize which hotel do you know that runs out of Brown bread, Olives, Lemons the list goes on. and paying over eight hundred dollars per night.

This needs the Tourist Information Office to take an interest into the whole sorry mess.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulmottram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarraleah, public relations at Tarraleah Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2009

I respect our guest's constructive feed back and appreciate the value Tripadvisor reviews bring to the ongoing improvement of our business, however I do believe some comment can be subjective without the full facts. There are 4 points this guest has commented upon that I would like to clarify - 1) The lack of management response : Our Lodge guests have access to a 24 hour butler who was available onsite. According to our records the butler was not contacted, however I acknowledge that It is possible that the guests may have called an office hours number in error. - 2) Running out of olives : This guest stayed on a package deal which included a set menu of complimentary canapes, which are varied each day. Olives were served on day 1 and duck liver pate on day 2. The guests loved our olive canapes from the previous day and requested them again. We arranged for our chef to have them served with the complimentary canapes the next day. - 3) Running our of lemons: We offer our guests complimentary pre dinner drinks which are generally wine, champagne or beer. In this case our guests requested gin and tonics's, which we were happy to provide. Unfortunately we didn't have lemons pre-prepared in the bar at that time. This has now been rectified. -4) Running out of brown bread. As our guests had only selected white bread options at breakfast on the previous day we included some additional specialty white breads on day 2 in place of brown bread, however we would have been happy to provide them with brown bread had we known that was their preference. The staff and management of Tarraleah Lodge are committed to providing our guests with extraordinary service in a beautiful and unique location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 149 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2009

Two night stay with family and friends to celebrate a 30th. Awesome accommodation with gold star to interior decorator, huge bathroom with decadent warm floors. Looked after beautifully by Nicki and Wes who made us feel at home and were adaptable to our more informal style. The library and bath house were well utilized. The whiskey tasting, forest walks and town tour filled our time. Breakfast was great. Well done, the vision for the town blew us away.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank informallydecadant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed for two nights on a very cheap room only deal and were pleased with our stay. The Lodge itself is excellent, with plenty of character and ambience, and the bedroom was huge with an excellent bathroom.

On our first night we were the only guests and on the second night there was another couple. The two staff on duty were friendly and welcoming but have to agree with an earlier review in that the Manager made no attempt to ask if we wished to make any special arrangements for a tour the next day. It hadn't really been our intention to do so but it would have been nice to have been asked and, might even have booked something, if it had taken our fancy. Regardless they were still helpful in terms of telling us where to go for assorted walks and we certainly were shown all around the Lodge and Spa.

We had pre-dinner drinks in the Lounge both nights and we had dinner at the Lodge the first night ($110 each) and it was very nice but for that much money I was expecting a bit more wow factor. The wine list was extensive and the varieties of scotch available amazing. As we were the only guests the two staff were happy to chat to us which we enjoyed. Part of staying in a place like this is meeting and talking to the other guests but of course, as the only guests on the first night, the staff somewhat filled in that role instead.

On the second night we had dinner at the pub which was fine but nothing special, except that they gave us an excellent cheese platter which they happily set up "to go" and thus spent the rest of the night nibbling ensconsed on top of our enormous bed whilst watching movies.

It is not an area that I would wish to spend too many nights in unless you are into fishing and golf but it was very nice for a short break. It was certainly very peaceful and relaxing which is what we were after.

A couple of small let downs were that the excellent Molton Brown shampoo/conditioner was not replaced after the first morning and the bottles were not big enough for both of us to use the second morning. Also, upon using the rest room off the lounge there was no toilet paper at all which is completely unacceptable.

The continental breakfast was nothing to write home about at all, but the cooked breakfast was fine.

All in all, we found it a great short break for the price we had paid, but probably would have been a bit disappointed if we had paid full price: However I never felt that we were treated at any time as the "cheap" guests. Although we paid only a quarter of what the other couple did the second night there was no difference in their manner towards us.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shandy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Tarraleah is a unique experience. The rooms were large and exotic, on tap service makes you feel like a king. The food and views are spectacular. Value is in the associated wilderness activities. You must see the waterfall!

The character of the Lodge is enhanced be the professional service.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Our agent suggested this gem and boy were we surprized when we got there. First we were met by the man at the airport and driven via farming and historic properties for about one hour forty to the property. The wildlife is amazing and we stopped to see a little porcupine creature on the way up just by the side of the road. The hotel is part of a larger Estate but the Lodge we stayed in was quite separate. They said there was to be a butler so imagine our surprize when there was a girl to greet us. Very attentive and offered to carry our bags but the driver did it anyway. On our world tour this is the first 'exclusive' booking and so she said she would help with anything we needed and she was good to her word too. We were offered a champagne courtesy of our agent on arrival but had probably the best coffee we have had since arriving. The rooms are big enough even for our boys but having the place to ourselves was such good fun. I spent all day in the spa which is high above the valley and in a kind of wooden tub. Massage was very good but the boys went out on fishing and then golf - with little critters running everywhere. The wildlife guy showed us arounfd on the second day while I visited with the chef. Food was fine with out being too fancy and there were some amazing wines - and a kind of lottery as well. Altogether better than the Lodges we have been in back home because we got to do what everyone wanted to do separately - and the bathrooms... They light up at night. We loved it and will tell our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hudsonfamilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We recently booked a night at Tarraleah through a special online deal. The deal was for a night's accom (room only) and use of the spa for half an hour. We'd never heard of the place Tarraleah or the Lodge but are keen travellers and love boutique hotels. I read the blurb on the website and was very impressed by the credentials and photos so booked and thought we'd just go and try it and if we loved it come back for a longer stay.
We were impressed by the presentation of the Lodge when we arrived. It was in a beautiful setting on the edge of a valley overlooking a river about 2 hours drive from Hobart. Our room was very well appointed, spacious and tasteful with a great bathroom.
That was when the good experience ended. Bad points:
- Our check-in was brief and perfunctory with no explanation about the use of the room or Lodge facilities or surrounds
- No mention of activities even though it's a key point on their website
- We found a map in the room and walked to the village and discussed activities with the info desk there (no mention at the Lodge that was there either)
- When we arrived back at 5pm there was no one at the Lodge to discuss dinner or drink arrangements so we went down to the local pub and ate (which was fine).
- We arrived back to a dark and empty Lodge at 7pm and although had an hour between time for the spa had to sit in our room as we were unaware there was a sitting room, and when we found it the bar was closed and no fire was lit
- We went to the spa which was also dark and empty and found the key fit so let ourselves in and called reception. The staff member had no idea we were going there even though we had advised them earlier but just told us to take the cover off the spa and put it back on when finished. The spa was lukewarm and because there was no heating turned on we were freezing when we stepped out
- We felt like we were trespassing every time we walked through the Lodge that evening, we again had to go back to our room at 8.30pm as there was nowhere to sit and enjoy a nightcap
- No mention of breakfast even though there were 2 other couples eating breakfast when we checked out the next morning
If we were treated differently because we were there at a reduced rate (which I'm hoping we weren't) then they shouldn't be part of these marketing initiatives as they will give themselves a bad name. If I had paid full rate I would have asked for my money back. Overall very disappointing!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckstar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Wow! Location, Location, Location.

I thought I'd impress the wife with a romantic getaway for our wedding anniversary and The Lodge didn't fail to impress. Great rooms, brilliant wine selection and a spectacular location made for a great weekend. The outdoor hot-tubs at the top of the cliff are a nice touch, however it's probably not advisable to go for a romantic walk near the highland cow paddock after dark as they might mistake you for an apple.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John33Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarraleah
0.0 mi away
Art Deco Cottages at Tarraleah
10.8 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
15.8 mi away
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
#1 of 1 in Derwent Bridge
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tarraleah Cottages and Cabins
0.4 mi away
Cottages at Tarraleah
Cottages at Tarraleah
#2 of 4 in Tarraleah
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarraleah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarraleah Lodge

Address: Wild River Rd 1, Tarraleah, Tasmania TAS 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Tarraleah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tarraleah
Price Range: $149 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tarraleah Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tarraleah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarraleah Lodge Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing