We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and pool area”
Review of Tativan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tativan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Valledupar
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel has very nice large rooms, with a large bed and modern bathroom. internet quality is very good, or at least it was during my visit.
The restaurant is sometimes slow and service is average, but they have good food. Try the green mango juice. Ambiance is perhaps a little lacking in the restaurant...
There is a nice pool area but watch out for mosquitoes (and bats at night!).
I really enjoyed staying here and it indeed feels quite secure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 71 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Tativan is a modern hotel.. the staff might not be brilliant, but they are good, and for some reason, the place is very secure. I smell that some local businessman wanted a place that would feel safe from recent historical happenings. It's built like a bomb shelter, the walls are thick and the windows small, which is a bit of a shame because the views on both sides are amazing, towards both the Santa Marta and Eastern Mountain range bordering Venezuela. Some of the Bellmen carry guns as well. Everything is slightly better than adequate, and there is a bit of spirit in the photos of famous Vallenata musicians in the lobby. Things to watch out for are the music by the pool being endless, although not loud, and some preacher that rents out ther confrence room at like 9am on sunday morning, along with another one a few blocsk away, and rocks you awake as if to shame you for enjoying your saturday night with a full band. Interesting things nearby are a lot of fashion and fabric shops, which I found surprising, and there is one OK restuarant a block away, towards the center of town, which bills Carribean food, but is a better version of standard colombian fare. All in all Valledupar is a city you might want a reason to be in, but this hotel works well enough...

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the hotel because we had an invitation for a wedding party in the same property and also wanted to visit the Valledupar Cattle Show. The room was very clean and has very comfortable bed & linen. Air conditioning is very good. The hotel is under some repairs by the pool area. Breakfast is a buffet that can be improved a bit, making eggs on demand. The hotel location is near downtown just 3 blocks away from "La Plaza Alfonso López", surrounded by shopping and banks. We called maintenance and they responded quickly to our requirements.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mau151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We rented two rooms bothe were very clean. rooms had cold ac and hot water. safe parkinf under ground for our car was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank defender1619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Eduardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TATIVAN H, other at Tativan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Aire acondicionado para el calor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bryanolayamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TATIVAN H, E-commerce at Tativan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valledupar hotels
2.1 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Valledupar
Sonesta Hotel Valledupar
#1 of 11 in Valledupar
1,073 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Valledupar
Hampton by Hilton Valledupar
#2 of 11 in Valledupar
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arawak Upar
Hotel Arawak Upar
#9 of 11 in Valledupar
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Sicarare
Hotel Sicarare
#7 of 11 in Valledupar
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vajamar Hotel
Vajamar Hotel
#5 of 11 in Valledupar
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Valledupar Plaza
Hotel Valledupar Plaza
#6 of 11 in Valledupar
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tativan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tativan Hotel

Address: Calle 16a No. 9-50, Valledupar 2513, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Cesar Department > Valledupar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Valledupar
Price Range: $59 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tativan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Tativan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing