We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Autumn Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Autumn Break”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We came here on a special off season offer for a large ( 35² ) room with a small balcony,and full board. The hotel is perfectly situated for a few days hiking in the mountains.
We had full board and the service and quality of the 5 course evening meal was very good. The huge spa area contains 2 saunas, a steam room, outdoor whirlpool/ hiottub, various rest rooms, an small pool indoor and outdoor, and various spa treatments ( which we didn't try ). Great for relaxing after a day in the mountains.
The staff were all very helpful and attentive.

The only negative was the queues for the coffee machines at breakfast!

Room Tip: Check out the special off season offers on large ( 35 m² ) rooms with full board ( 81 € per night )
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHodgeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ole K, Geschäftsführer at Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your friendly and nice review. We are enormous proud to be a part of your beautiful and relaxing hiking-vacation.
Did you noticed - that besides the two WMF coffee-stations for espresso and latte we are offering also amarican coffee right next to it.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the close future

Kind regards
Ole Kloth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    83
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
184
51
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited the Falkensteiner Sonnenalpe with our family of 4, after having spent a fantastic holiday at the Falkensteiner Katschber 2 years ago. There are several pros and cons about staying at the Sonnenalpe.

PROS:
Location (Nassfeldpass, Passo Pramollo in italian)
It is really beautiful, surrounded by gorgeous mountains and green pastures. There are plenty of hiking possibilities for all the family nearby the hotel, included the adventure mile and the rocky-labyrinth park at the intermediate station of the MIilenium express. At the Madritsche (at the terminal station of the ME) there is a wonderful aqua-trail with a gorgeous alpine lake (swimming in it was a wonderful experience) and an extremely funny bob-track, that the kids simply loved it. On the other side of the valley there are also other wonderful hiking opportunities. If you want you can also go to the Premsegersee (lake), at about 40mins distance by car.

Room
The rooms are really very nice. Quite large and spacious for a family of four, with a very nice bathroom. It has been designed in a very kid-friendly way, and everything was accessible to everybody. Only problem: the floor in the bathroom becomes slippery if wet, and the sliding door of the shower leaks a lot of water in the toilet area when open.

Facilities for kids:
They are nice, but not spectacular. The playroom is small and a bit claustrophobic, but its location close to the dining room makes it very hand for the kids to go at the end of the meals.

CONS:
The big, big problem of this place is the restaurant. First of all the dinner system is chaotic: it is a mixture of pre-ordered dishes and buffet, which means that you have to share the narrow aisles with fast walking waiters who have to avoid customers (and little kids) at every minute. The choice is quite limited both for the prepared dishes and for the buffet, and the quality is disappointing. They try to be a bit "nouvelle cuisine" but they are far from it. The quality improved a bit around the end of the week, but still away from 4-star hotel standards. The place is also not so well designed for hosting many families, with relatively little space and lights that are too close to the tables, so that you sweat like crazy all the time. The service has also been quite bad, mostly because of lack of coordination and leadership and despite the efforts made by the very nice waiters. Just to give an example, we asked to sit in the same table with some friends of ours, and it took 3 days before they managed to put us together. However, they moved us to a spot super close to the lights were the temperature was Sahara-style. In summary: dining has always been a stressing rather than a relaxing experience in this restaurant.

Heating:
For some weird reason, the heating keeps working all week, increasing the in-rooom temperature to unbearable levels, especially during the night. This worsened considerably the sleep quality, despite the nice rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svcalleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ole K, Geschäftsführer at Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the effort in taking this time and writing such an detailed review. We see, that a lot of things are perfectley well and to your full satisfaction. The surrounding, the attractions in the close area, the rooms and the facilities for the kids. Also we recognized that not everything fits well to you. Please be assure that we already took action in most of the parts to inform all Leaders and discussed it. The central heating was never activated during your stay - infact during hot summer days with a lot of sun - the wooden construction of our house is warming up during the day and its also holding the heat a bit.

Our new chef already changed the menu towards a greater choice - we hope you understand, that running kids are welcome in our hotel - and the waiters are well trained in avoiding "connection" :-)

Anyhow - we wish to see you again quite soon - to proof you that you made the right choice with us.

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moerzeke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a great summer holiday in Falkensteiner Sonnenalpe, it was the third time we stayed in a Falkensteiner hotel. Family room was very spacious and comfortable for 2 adults en 3 kids. Great service in the restaurant especially our waiter Atilla did a great job. The Nassfeld + card is a nice addition, plenty of things to do and enjoy. The restaurant was good but a few times a buffet a week like in Cristallo / Katschberg is more enjoyable. Portions a very small, although you can ask a second one without any problem or order something else for the kids. We certainly visit Falkensteiners in Austria again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lampemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ole K, Geschäftsführer at Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your very nice review! It is an honor for us assisting you to spend a perfect and remarkable holiday. Thank you also for your constructiv critics, we will work on this for sure! Next time - just ask Attila - so we can bring you bigger portions from the beginning :-)

We are happy to serve all guests - the desired needs.

Kind regards (also from Attila)

Ole Kloth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were a little disconcerted when our car was checked for snow tyres on the way up to the hotel by the police. A blizzard was blowing and the road up was NOT pleasant. However the welcome was warm ! (in winter best to choose the paid underground car park rather than the free outside car park !). The family room was ideal with a small room with bunk beds for the boys, double bedroom for us and a living area for us all. The views the next day were just stunning ! Skiing almost straight from the door of the hotel - ideal. Our only negative point was that at meal times the buffet was packed - but we were there during Europe's half term and the hotel was full. The spa area was a great place to chill out after a heavy days skiing and the swimming pool (part outside in the snow) was a place to be remembered by our children for some time (notably the snow ball fights in the outside pool.

Room Tip: The best family rooms are in the "new bit" overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4MarkK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ole K, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Great Holiday, Great Review and a very warm THANK YOU!
It is such a pleasure reading your comment. We are looking forward in welcoming your back to our hotel.

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is aimed at families with children aged 3-10 years, and fulfils its purpose very well.

It is located right on the piste, with ski lifts only a two minute walk away.
The rooms are very spacious and well-designed, with plenty of storage space. They are also perfectly isolated, so you can´t hear any noise from other rooms. The beds are new, and very good.
The staff at the reception is extremely helpful, and friendly.
The pools and slide, and also the spa centre are lovely as well, although they tend to get overcrowded in the afternoon/evening (also, there´s no lifeguard in the pool area).
The kids club is okay, as is the playroom, but the staff is a bit on the indifferent side.

My only objection is the restaurant. Although the staff seemed to try really hard, it was very often chaotic, and insufficient. I would also expect a better, and greater variety and choice of food. Dinners were served, and you could choose from two or three meals beforehand. The quality of food was good, as was the taste, but one would expect a rich buffet at a four star hotel. However, children menus were often plain awful - pasta and french fries plus some kind of cheap sauce and deep fried fish fingers or chicken nuggets. Ice-cream for dessert every single night. One would have expected a healthier choice in a family-orientated hotel. Also, with the cost of the hotel, I´d expect at least free water with meals (it was EUR 2 per caraffe). Free drinks were available only at breakfast. That´s why I rate this hotel only average.

All in all, if you don´t mind only average food for your money, it´s a good family hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Family rooms in the new wing have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rezuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ole K, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your comment. It is extremly important for us to have a given feedback of our guests. Especially if something went wrong.

We are happy that your stay was a good stay but we are also feel sorry that we did not show our high service and best performance all the time. All reviews will be shown to our employees and of course will be discussed with them.

The swimming area is monitored by cameras not only, but also from our lifeguard visited at regular basis.

Our children's buffet was created by our guests want. Of course, you can always order something else for your child - this is then cooked a la minute. We apologize if this was not pointed out to you.

We are looking forward of seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here from 21.12.12 till 26.12.12, 2 adl. and 3 kids (10/5/5 Y.old). we had family room in the newly build hotel part. The room was on the 2nd floor and was spacy enought for our family, with lot of space. Hotel has perfect position for skiers with ski in/out possibility. Front desk was always helpfull and proffesional. Check in/out was quick. Cleaning in rooms was very good as in common areas and spa/pool area (here you can find very simplle but exciting slide for kids and aduts). Only one thing which I would say in negative but not that much was the restaurant, food and service there. Waitres tryed to do their best but sometimes they were runnig lot of meeters without any sense and a bit chaotic. Food was served as a smaal portions, like in michellin restaurant on big plates, but qualitatively very good - except some starters - the restaurant serves breakfast as buffet, lunch - pasta bar, you can choose from 2 pastas and 2 sauces, one soup and salad buffet. Dinner is served as menu, 1-2 times in a week optionaly buffet. I was expecting tipicaly local fammiliar food prepared and served as at home. There was also children buffet, which was OK but almost the same type of food - fish fingers, french fryes, potato mash, some vegetables cooked in water/steam, pasta with tomato or meat sauce and kids loving ice cream. We missed there some other type of food like schnitzel or pure chicken breast prepeared naturaly or on grill, but staff advised us, that we can order for our kids also some other type of foods we wish, what we done twice. This was wery good. There is also lovely bar Gioia with very good offer on drinks and at the time we where there was also very good entertainment with life music. Falky almland - kids club is well equiped, our kids love it. Me as a tourism pro since 20 years can only suggest this house, and I hope that the new GM will have the opotunity make more from it and do more familliar atmosphere from & for this hotel. Good luck and maybe see you again next Christmas ;-)

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Horor74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ole K, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,

I remeber our talk at the bar. Thank you for taking the time during your vacation to a have a little conversation in the afternoon.I appreciate that very much!

Thanks for the praise and kind words. The team was very happy about it. Thank you also for this type of motivation - an honest word from the guest often causes more than words of the department heads or myself. :-)
Since we do not have any feedback of the guests you have recommended our hotel after your stay, we believe that we have succeeded - to fruition the constructive criticism!

We are looking forward to have you again on christmas 2013.

Wanna have the newest information about the Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe?
Follow our Twitter account: HotelNassfeld

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went for a short stay of 5 days in the summer holiday. The surroundings were beautiful and we did a lot of hiking. Although we were in Austria, the border with Italy was just a 5 minutes walk away. The hotel was very child friendly. The food was of good quality and for dinner the kids had their own buffet. A nice swimming pool indoor and outdoor plus a very nice slide inside. We enjoyed the warm water, not as cold as the pools in the Netherlands. The staff was helpful and friendly. Also the hotel organized a lot of activities for their guests, like morning walks or yoga sessions. We stayed in a family suite, 2 bedrooms with a living room and a balcony. Not very large, but nicely furnished. Included was also a Plus card with which you can take the cable cars in the surroundings and do other leisure activities for free. The package was a very nice deal for the whole family.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a nice mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appelgezicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonnenalpe Nassfeld
3.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia
0.0 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Wulfenia
0.0 mi away
Gartnerkofel
Gartnerkofel
#5 of 13 in Hermagor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Robinson Club Schlanitzen Alm
9.1 mi away
Alpen Adria Hotel & Spa
Alpen Adria Hotel & Spa
#4 of 13 in Hermagor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
6.1 mi away
Biedermeier Schlossl Lerchenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe

Property: Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe
Address: Sonnenalpe Nassfeld 9, Sonnenalpe Nassfeld, Hermagor 9620, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Hermagor > Sonnenalpe Nassfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonnenalpe Nassfeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish and cosy family hotel in Alpine design is located at 1,500m altitude in the ski and hiking paradise Nassfeld. A lot of stone, wood and loden give an Alpine charm to the modern designed hotel. Alpine pastures and nature are also reflected in the Falky Almland with loving child care. Further highlight: 15 metre long water slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing