We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here from 21.12.12 till 26.12.12, 2 adl. and 3 kids (10/5/5 Y.old). we had family room in the newly build hotel part. The room was on the 2nd floor and was spacy enought for our family, with lot of space. Hotel has perfect position for skiers with ski in/out possibility. Front desk was always helpfull and proffesional. Check in/out was quick. Cleaning in rooms was very good as in common areas and spa/pool area (here you can find very simplle but exciting slide for kids and aduts). Only one thing which I would say in negative but not that much was the restaurant, food and service there. Waitres tryed to do their best but sometimes they were runnig lot of meeters without any sense and a bit chaotic. Food was served as a smaal portions, like in michellin restaurant on big plates, but qualitatively very good - except some starters - the restaurant serves breakfast as buffet, lunch - pasta bar, you can choose from 2 pastas and 2 sauces, one soup and salad buffet. Dinner is served as menu, 1-2 times in a week optionaly buffet. I was expecting tipicaly local fammiliar food prepared and served as at home. There was also children buffet, which was OK but almost the same type of food - fish fingers, french fryes, potato mash, some vegetables cooked in water/steam, pasta with tomato or meat sauce and kids loving ice cream. We missed there some other type of food like schnitzel or pure chicken breast prepeared naturaly or on grill, but staff advised us, that we can order for our kids also some other type of foods we wish, what we done twice. This was wery good. There is also lovely bar Gioia with very good offer on drinks and at the time we where there was also very good entertainment with life music. Falky almland - kids club is well equiped, our kids love it. Me as a tourism pro since 20 years can only suggest this house, and I hope that the new GM will have the opotunity make more from it and do more familliar atmosphere from & for this hotel. Good luck and maybe see you again next Christmas ;-)

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Horor74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ole K, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear guest,

I remeber our talk at the bar. Thank you for taking the time during your vacation to a have a little conversation in the afternoon.I appreciate that very much!

Thanks for the praise and kind words. The team was very happy about it. Thank you also for this type of motivation - an honest word from the guest often causes more than words of the department heads or myself. :-)
Since we do not have any feedback of the guests you have recommended our hotel after your stay, we believe that we have succeeded - to fruition the constructive criticism!

We are looking forward to have you again on christmas 2013.

Wanna have the newest information about the Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe?
Follow our Twitter account: HotelNassfeld

Kind regards

Ole Kloth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 328 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went for a short stay of 5 days in the summer holiday. The surroundings were beautiful and we did a lot of hiking. Although we were in Austria, the border with Italy was just a 5 minutes walk away. The hotel was very child friendly. The food was of good quality and for dinner the kids had their own buffet. A nice swimming pool indoor and outdoor plus a very nice slide inside. We enjoyed the warm water, not as cold as the pools in the Netherlands. The staff was helpful and friendly. Also the hotel organized a lot of activities for their guests, like morning walks or yoga sessions. We stayed in a family suite, 2 bedrooms with a living room and a balcony. Not very large, but nicely furnished. Included was also a Plus card with which you can take the cable cars in the surroundings and do other leisure activities for free. The package was a very nice deal for the whole family.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a nice mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appelgezicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We visited this hotel several times over the last 4 years, in the past we've searched through quality service, excellent food and atmosphere. This year - after the reconstruction - we was in this hotel in January and March - and we were disappointment. The hotel is modern, with a nice spa, but it is a classic hotel, nothing special in this category at this price. Services are not very good, food has become common, cooked for large numbers of people (universal taste). Service in the restaurant can not cope with number of guests, tables often change places, everything takes a long time. Cleaning of rooms was very weak some days. But I must commend - an excellent children's playground with perfect babysitting and nice spa, good breakfast buffet. Results - now we know that it was our last stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karka73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gneist, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012
Google Translation

Liebe Familie Karka73!

Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit für ein Feedback genommen haben.

Es tut mir sehr leid, dass der Aufenthal in unserem Hotel nicht völlig Ihren Erwartungen entsprochen hat.

Selbstverständlich haben auch wir die Schließphase unseres Hotels genutzt, um Schulungen unsere Mitarbeiter und Umstrukturierungen vor zu nehmen. Voller Elan starten wir nun in die neue Saison und würden uns sehr freuen, auch Sie wieder zu unseren Gästen zählen zu dürfen!

Mit herzlichen Grüßen vom Nassfeld!
Ihre Sandra Gneist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Paid a lot for the stay,but service is poor for a 4 star hotel. Food was not good at all. I like comparing hotels:what they offer,pricing and the value..i would say i'll never go back again to this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Multikultii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in a group of friends for a week. It's perfect for skiing, as you go out of the ski-room directly on the slopes. The rooms are large and comfortable. After full day of skiing you have an amazing wellness centre with different saunas, laconicum, swimming pool with artificial wave, outside swimming pool with hot water (and the view on the Alps!) and an outside jacuzzi. The food is stunning and delicious. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malinowynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guydon1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Besser im Neubau ein Zimmer buchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zalewski_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonnenalpe Nassfeld
3.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Carinzia
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Wulfenia
Hotel & Spa Wulfenia
#4 of 14 in Hermagor
57 reviews
9.1 mi away
Alpen Adria Hotel & Spa
Alpen Adria Hotel & Spa
#5 of 14 in Hermagor
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Gartnerkofel
Gartnerkofel
#6 of 14 in Hermagor
110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Robinson Club Schlanitzen Alm
6.1 mi away
Hotel Castle Lerchenhof
Hotel Castle Lerchenhof
#9 of 14 in Hermagor
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe

Address: Sonnenalpe Nassfeld 9, Sonnenalpe Nassfeld, Hermagor 9620, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Hermagor > Sonnenalpe Nassfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonnenalpe Nassfeld
Price Range: $164 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish and cosy family hotel in Alpine design is located at 1,500m altitude in the ski and hiking paradise Nassfeld. A lot of stone, wood and loden give an Alpine charm to the modern designed hotel. Alpine pastures and nature are also reflected in the Falky Almland with loving child care. Further highlight: 15 metre long water slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing