We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teach Gleann Dobhar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

B&Bs have become more and more like small-sized hotels.
At Gleann Dobhan you will find the real experience of a B&B "just like the ones I used to know": you will get into the house of a real family, with smiling children running up and down the stairs, sounds of crockery from the kitchen, and photos everywhere.
I liked our stay a lot. The family were welcoming and very pleasant, telling us many things about their lives, their children, living in Donegal etc.
The fireplace in the sitting room was snug, the breakfast was plentiful.
I would definitely go back there, even only to say hello and thank the people there for our pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fabiopesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 62 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Martin and Margaret Cunningham and their lovely four kids run a very welcoming B&B with clean comfortable bedrooms, gorgeous fires in their supercosy guest lounge and their breakfasts will easily keep you going till dinner! Margaret's baking is legendary, her brown soda bread one of the best I have ever tasted. I would warmly recommend Teach Gleann Dobhar as a base from which to explore the stunning SW Donegal coast!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had THE opportunity to stay with the Cunningham family this week.Found the house clean and welcoming.Really enjoyed their Buffet and cooked breakfast which set me up for day.Most Of all I enjoyed Martin s warm turf stove.Beautiful part of Donegal.Leslie

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeslieDromod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I thoroughly recommend this bed and breakfast as a great place to base yourself when you are visiting South West Donegal. The Teach stands on the quiet outskirts of the charming village and you are assured of a good night's sleep in the comfortable rooms. Spotlessly clean and the friendly welcome makes you want to come back for more and more. Full tasty breakfast expertly cooked by the couple who are also qualified chefs! They are an Irish speaking family and if you are just a beginner in the tongue, you will be encouraged to persist and take your skills to a new level. Everything in the place is so friendly but as you step outside you are struck dumb by the incredible landscape that so influenced the musician Arnold Bax or the painter Rockwell Kent. The Language School and Heritage Centre is just down the road and you will find yourself learning the bodhran or taking courses in Irish Culture. These people are gold and nothing is too much trouble for them as they ensure your holiday is truly memorable. I have been back innumerable times and I will be back this spring.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hushpuppy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Teach Gleann Dobhar in County Donegal during our recent vacation. Martin was very friendly and welcoming. Our room was perfect, clean and very comforatable. Breakfast in the morning was filled us for a good a part of the day. Martin also provided some great travel and sightseeing ideas. Our only regret was that we did not have more time to spend at this location - but we are already planning our next trip.

Thanks,
Mike & Patti
Florida, USA

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Running26Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for a week during the summer. Breakfast and homemade Irish brown bread are amazing! Very friendly, talkative hosts. Lovely room and a great shower. It was very noisy but that's part of a family stay so we didn't mind too much. Only real downside we felt was the level of cleanliness. We were surprised the room wasn't looked at in the whole week we were there. We didn't expect the whole room to be done but couldn't believe bins weren't emptied or towels changed and considering we were bringing in sand and stuff it would have been nice to have the floor hoovered at least once in the week too. But otherwise a top place. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Absolutly very nice people, awsome place very clean & such a cool little dog !
Delicious eggs from their hens and home made bread.
A delightfull moment I recommende to all.
If they were another mark better than excellent I would have take it !
Thanks to them Annabelle & Lewis (Paris)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glencolmcille hotels
2.2 mi away
Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
#1 of 3 in Glencolmcille
174 reviews
3.9 mi away
Malinbeg Hostel
Malinbeg Hostel
#1 of 3 in Glencolmcille
102 reviews
45.8 mi away
Ionad Siuil Luxury Accommodation
Ionad Siuil Luxury Accommodation
#2 of 3 in Glencolmcille
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teach Gleann Dobhar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teach Gleann Dobhar

Address: An Gaineamh | Glencolumbkille, Glencolmcille, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Glencolmcille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glencolmcille
Price Range: $81 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Bed and Breakfast with modern ensuite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Teach Gleann Dobhar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing