We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prefect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Prefect”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

If ideal was a guesthouse this would be it! Gorgeous location. Very reasonably priced. Free great wifi and tea and coffee! Run by the lovely Paul who is more than accomodating to any needs you may have and will give you wonderful advice for onwards travel! Absolutely totally highly recommended!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    38
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
39
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my partner in a private room which was clean enough but terrible pillows my ears were sore lying on them.but other than that the room was adequate. Staff were more than helpful and lovely friendly family run hostel. Having the option for a cooked breakfast was good and it was tasty. Most beautiful place to stay and we visited ardara etc. Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisydo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Excellent facilities and most importantly for a scuba diving club - a wet room! Very welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Also very accommodating to our changing group numbers and excellent value for money - esp for students.
Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hostel feels more like a family home, the host is wonderful and the rooms just what you need. We had a family room with bath room, the latter being a very modern surprise. Breakfast (the full Irish) - one of the best we've been served on our trip - is the greatest value for a fiver you can possibly find. In the evening you can gather in some rooms, the big one with a kitchen is very comfy to sit in at the fireplace. The location is stunning, a small beach in walking distance, a bigger one just a few miles up north and - of course - Slieve League nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

By far, the most hospitable host we have encountered on our journey. Our host took us though all the possible sites and attractions of the nearby towns so we could plan the following day. Good to have someone so full of local knowledge. Great value for money as the rooms are very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was amazing and again great value as it was only €5 for a full Irish.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishkiwi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille a few months ago while on a backpacking trek through Donegal. On this trip, I was fortunate enough to have, more times than I can count, experienced the hospitality and kindness for which the Irish are known so well. In few places is this hospitality so perfectly exemplified as it is in Paul and his family. You would be hard-pressed to find better people, the building is spacious with a great kitchen, and the area is perfect for sight-seeing. Just outside of the little village of Ghleann Colm Cille, it is a perfect home-base for a day on the breathtaking Sliabh Liag mountains, a must-see for any hikers, especially those daring enough to walk the extra length to the One Man's Path. For those with more relaxing aspirations, a ten minute's walk will get you to the town, which boasts a nice beach and is nestled in an inlet surrounded by impressive cliff faces. I couldn't recommend it more. Stay here if you want to see some of the best Donegal has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have been visiting Glencolmcille for a few years now and always stay at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille!

Paul and Sharon provide lovely accommodation in a stunning area. The accommodation is always clean and well maintained and the breakfasts are not be missed! There is plenty of space and there is nothing quite like coming in on a winters evening and enjoying the heat from the roaring pot belly stoves. Equally, when the sun is shining you really are in a beautiful place.

I have also brought a number of groups here because the area is perfect for adventure activities including climbing, walking and Coasteering.

If you are visiting West Donegal make sure you call in for a friendly welcome and top class hospitality!

I will continue to use this place time and time again!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoasteeringNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencolmcille
13.8 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
13.8 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
16.7 mi away
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Slieve League House Bed & Breakfast
72.3 mi away
Riversdale Country House B&B
Riversdale Country House B&B
#30 of 270 in County Donegal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
6.1 mi away
Slieve League Lodge
Slieve League Lodge
#1 of 5 in Carrick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille

Property: Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Address: Malin More | County Donegal, Glencolmcille, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Glencolmcille
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glencolmcille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Slieve League with its breathtaking sea cliffs, Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille takes pride on offering excellent self catering accommodation at an affordable prices. Rather than the dormitory style rooms which may be available elsewhere in this price range, we have deluxe single, double/twin or family rooms available. All guests have access to a large and comfortable common area, plus a self catering kitchen with all modern amenities. Traditional Cooked Irish Breakfasts are also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing