We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Nearby Hotels
Bay View Hotel(Killybegs)(Great Value!)
$85
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tara Hotel(Killybegs)
$123
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highlands Hotel(Glenties)
$118
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creevy Pier Hotel(Ballyshannon)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nesbitt Arms Hotel(Ardara)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
123
42
10
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
42
10
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsslieve leaguethe kitchencooked breakfastfree wifithe ownershuttle servicetoastplace to stayfamily roomgreat placebudget accommodationexcellent valuewild atlantic waylocal knowledgeremote areabeautiful locationall ages
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 179 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hostel feels more like a family home, the host is wonderful and the rooms just what you need. We had a family room with bath room, the latter being a very modern surprise. Breakfast (the full Irish) - one of the best we've been served on our trip - is the greatest value for a fiver you can possibly find. In the evening you can gather in some rooms, the big one with a kitchen is very comfy to sit in at the fireplace. The location is stunning, a small beach in walking distance, a bigger one just a few miles up north and - of course - Slieve League nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

By far, the most hospitable host we have encountered on our journey. Our host took us though all the possible sites and attractions of the nearby towns so we could plan the following day. Good to have someone so full of local knowledge. Great value for money as the rooms are very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was amazing and again great value as it was only €5 for a full Irish.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishkiwi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille a few months ago while on a backpacking trek through Donegal. On this trip, I was fortunate enough to have, more times than I can count, experienced the hospitality and kindness for which the Irish are known so well. In few places is this hospitality so perfectly exemplified as it is in Paul and his family. You would be hard-pressed to find better people, the building is spacious with a great kitchen, and the area is perfect for sight-seeing. Just outside of the little village of Ghleann Colm Cille, it is a perfect home-base for a day on the breathtaking Sliabh Liag mountains, a must-see for any hikers, especially those daring enough to walk the extra length to the One Man's Path. For those with more relaxing aspirations, a ten minute's walk will get you to the town, which boasts a nice beach and is nestled in an inlet surrounded by impressive cliff faces. I couldn't recommend it more. Stay here if you want to see some of the best Donegal has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have been visiting Glencolmcille for a few years now and always stay at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille!

Paul and Sharon provide lovely accommodation in a stunning area. The accommodation is always clean and well maintained and the breakfasts are not be missed! There is plenty of space and there is nothing quite like coming in on a winters evening and enjoying the heat from the roaring pot belly stoves. Equally, when the sun is shining you really are in a beautiful place.

I have also brought a number of groups here because the area is perfect for adventure activities including climbing, walking and Coasteering.

If you are visiting West Donegal make sure you call in for a friendly welcome and top class hospitality!

I will continue to use this place time and time again!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoasteeringNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was at this hotel for 6 weeks doing research on the Irish language using this as a home base. Paul and Sharon O'Hare are the owners (family business). They are extremely kind, friendly, and helpful. Anne is the housekeeper who keeps the hotel sparkling clean. Paul, Sharon, and Anne take turns cooking a wonderful Irish breakfast every morning for only 5 euros--a full-Irish breakfast is a lot of food so you're getting your money's worth! The kitchen is available for the guests all day to store and cook their own food. Paul also provides free shuttle lifts into the village and to the pub. Excellent stay. I would highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews