We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donegal Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Donegal Way”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This Hostel is value for money. Spacious with a good kitchen and plenty of room to manouver. Paul and his team are very helpfull in planning the trips in the somewhat rugged outdoor. Very good beach nearby but expect some stair climbing. We spend 4 days walking,cycling and touring by car. If you like cycling with a lot of climbing this is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertbrouwers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    39
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
40
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballinderry, Co Derry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Myself and my daughter were in Glencolmcille for the Fiddle Summer School, and stayed at Aras for the entire week. It was perfect for us - a very family orientated hostel, welcoming, easy-going and friendly - and was a perfect location to relax between our workshops. Excellent self catering facilities (especially the all day coffee!!) and comfortable rooms. Would definitely like to return with my whole family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our stay was very short, due to unpleasant circumstances: We booked our stay at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille on the 10th of February, and received our confirmation the same day. So it was very confidently and happy of our choice, that we arrived on the 21st of July, in the middle of the day, for our two nights stay. Only to find the owner's son, who asked our names, and on hearing them, told us his father instructed him to send us to the Ionad Siuil Hostel. His father was to be unreachable until 20 PM, and he himself couldn't help us. Is it because when booking, we had asked for a quiet room if possible? Who knows? In 5 months time, there has been no indication of any problem. Then at Ionad Siuil Hostel, we found no one, just 2 telephone numbers. After numerous attempts, we reached a woman who indicated that, yes, a room was booked for us, and we should just take possession of it ourselves. We were to have a room on the first floor with 4 beds for both of us, and a window opening directly on the parking! We just left. As I read the evaluations of Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille, I see no trace of the same happening to others. But those of Ionad Siuil Hostel show it happened to two others reviewers, and seems as such to be quite a common practice. You might not live the excellent evaluations of Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille if you book there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iledujour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We really wanted to see the Slieve League for our second trip to Ireland and found Glencolmkille to be the nearest town. After comparing it against a couple of other options, we decided to stay in this B&B. But for some reason both my husband and I had low expectations for this place. Perhaps the remote location was a factor. However we are very happy to say that they far exceeded our expectations. The staff is very friendly. They have a very nice well stocked kitchen for guest use. They even went out of their way to get us some tea which was really appreciated. The room and en suite bathroom was large. The wireless internet connection was strong. In the morning the owner recommended we swing by a crescent shaped beach only a few miles from the B&B. This turned out to be an exquisitely beautiful, isolated spot with a sandy white beach surrounded by plush green hills. It was one of the most scenic spots we have ever seen. We cannot thank you enough for the suggestion.

If there was one complaint, I would request better signs leading up to the B&B. We had a little bit of a hard time finding them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovely_planet14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very friendly stuff. Beautiful location! Excellent Internet connection throughout.Good place to chill out and just 10 min. drive to the most exquisite beach in County Donegal. Love it! We will be definitely back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batoka_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastically relaxing couple of days in Glencolmkille - largely due to the welcome and service we received at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille. We wanted to go away for a few days and wanted to take our dogs - on contacting the above this was no problem and it set the standard for the rest of the stay. The location is remote - but that is what you go to this area for - the scenery, the walking and the fact that it is not heavily commercialised - however, that is not to say there is not plenty to do.
The rooms are clean, warm and en suite. The kitchen is fully equipped and a great area to get chatting to the other guests. However, the main selling point (above from the price) is that the whole team - from Paul and Sharon, Cheryl and the other lady who served breakfast (sorry I did not get your name!) make you feel completely welcome and ensure you have everything you need. From stepping through the door, everything is explained from your room, to how the kitchen works to the free WiFi - information on what to do in the area is freely available and they will tell you whatever you need to know. Nothing is any trouble to this team and they work exceptionally hard from morning to night.
The rate is fantastic and I will echo the views of other reviewers that the breakfast is exceptional value and quality for 5 euro - all in all a great place to stay and very affordable rates in a brilliant location - We are already looking forward to going back!
Thank you and well done to all of the team - you really are something to write about!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 451KarenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

7 of us stayed here for 2 night's so we could go walking at Slieve League
We were very impressed with the facilities,rooms were clean and spacious good facilities for eating and making tea and coffee
The breakfast each morning was amazing Irish fry,cereal,toast,porridge etc etc didn't need any lunch after it
Thankyou for a very enjoyable stay we will be back again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steviedenim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencolmcille
13.8 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
625 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
16.9 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Slieve League Lodge
Slieve League Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carrick
107 reviews
13.6 mi away
Slieve League House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille

Property: Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Address: Malin More | County Donegal, Glencolmcille, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Glencolmcille
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glencolmcille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Slieve League with its breathtaking sea cliffs, Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille takes pride on offering excellent self catering accommodation at an affordable prices. Rather than the dormitory style rooms which may be available elsewhere in this price range, we have deluxe single, double/twin or family rooms available. All guests have access to a large and comfortable common area, plus a self catering kitchen with all modern amenities. Traditional Cooked Irish Breakfasts are also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing