We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts in Maya Country”
Review of Posada el Jardin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada el Jardin
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ticul
Zacatecoluca, El Salvador
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts in Maya Country”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here while touring the Ruta Puuc and found it to be an excellent value. The room was less than $40.00 american, and had cable TV, AC, a ceiling fan, and two beds, both of which were reasonably comfortable. The room rate includes pan dulce and coffee in the morning. The host, Roman, took us swimming in a cenote and a tour of two more cenotes as well as a fascinating abandoned hacienda from the colonial period. The AC was awesome - in fact, we got cold and had to turn it off. Everything was acceptably clean, and there was plenty of hot water. There is a pool, and a beautiful garden setting with interesting strangle trees. Both the Ruta Puuc adn Uxmal were conviently close and there is secure parking on the grounds. We will definitely stay here the next time we come to Yucatan!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    15
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Posada el Jardin in May 2012. We had an extremely nice welcome from Roman and Amanda, who also gave us great restaurant advice. We recommend this place, which is nice and quiet. It is very close to the Ruta Puuc and Uxmal site, but not so touristy. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Depart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have a lovely one night stay in this unexpectedly delightful set of mini-cabins set in beautiful gardens with lovely trees (including a really impressive strangler fig tree). My kids made great friends with the owner's grandson whilst we enjoyed good conversation into the evening, and a fine coffee and pan dulce breakfast before setting off early the next day. Highly recommended simple accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winterdune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived at el Jardin. Roman and his mother, Amanda, were so inviting. We stayed in a room called Boxita. I believe there are four rooms on the property. We were the only guests there during a trip in mid-March. We enjoyed the use of the pool and sitting on our veranda enjoying the beautiful garden setting. Lots of birds and other small animals that we discovered during our three night stay. Amanda served us coffee, freshly squeezed juice, sweet breads and fresh fruit our first morning at a small table outside of her quarters. We opted for only coffee the remaining mornings. Roman provided maps and other information that was valuable in getting around.

This small establishment has a gated parking lot and is close proximity to the town square. Great proximity to the Punc Route and Uxmal ruin sites. Our room was clean and comfortable; screened windows with nice ventilation and a small refridgerator. Private bath with hot water, bottled water and fresh linens. Roman and his Mom made our trip memorable. We would visit again because of their hospitality. If you are looking for a 4-star hotel, this is not for you. Truly a bargain for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We staid here in March 2012. The rooms were clean and quiet. We were impressed by the simple breakfast on offer and the kind helpful assistance offered to us when we needed to find a puncture repairman ( Llantero). The owner found a bicycle rickshaw man who took the tyre away got it fixed and returned it to the Posada, while she plied us with breakfast sweet bread / cakes and hot coffee. We based our three days in the region at the Posada and were able to cover Uxmal, the ruins on Ruta Puac, The caves at Lol-tun, The chocolate museum and Mani. The Posada has a large garden, a car park, and easy access to the center of Ticul. A bargain, Roman and his mother offer a very good service even down to daily change of soap, bottled water and fresh towels, I do not know how they can do this for these prices !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertIanKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonJames2050
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Welcoming helpful, kind and very friendly. Basic room at basic price. Comfortable and clean. Internal bathroom so need to open windows in morning. Windows have mesh on them. Good breakfast can be had. Place for parking. No English but we got by. Gave us a helpful map of Ticul. Nice pool and garden. WIFI weak.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonJames2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Strafford, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We cycled into Ticul on our way to ride the Puuc route and stopped, first, at what was supposed to be the best hotel in town. However it was right in the noisiest, most congested part of this small market town. Posada el Jardin was not quite so easy to find, but we're glad that we did. There's nothing fancy about it, but the owner is very friendly, the rooms spacious (more like suites) and the pool is fairly large and delightfully cool. It's a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WallyandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ticul
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#2 of 2 in Ticul
25 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
15.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hotel Puuc
Hotel Puuc
#1 of 1 in Oxkutzcab
29 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
359 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada el Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada el Jardin

Property: Posada el Jardin
Address: Calle 27 #216 (entre 28 y 30) centro, Ticul, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Ticul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ticul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit us before stay.The best service in Ticul, naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada el Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing