We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy At Night!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
2 reviews
“Noisy At Night!!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2007

I was very disappointed by the sterile atmosphere that appears to be the new fashion for irish hotels. Not a 4 star hotel very poor attention to detail. The grounds at the abbey are well kept. I was nearly sick when I saw the service yard and concourse by it, smelt like urine.Extremely noisy at night with air extraction units making noise. They even empty the old bar bottles during the late 10pm and early hours of the night 1am, I complained but it didn't stop. Try finding the duty manager to complain no chance. Then there was what sounded like truck deliveries. I feel sorry for the people who live in the vacinity of the hotel......Being a keen golfer I would not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. If you want to sleep that is I have never experienced such noise (no seems to care either..........1/10

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — spoke to a local who suggested a ar better hotel in nass
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrainWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 23, 2016
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    306
    177
    82
    73
See reviews for
348
364
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Hotel is modern but very noisy. Included in the same building is a large supervalue supermarket where the trucks queue beeping horns in the early hours to deliver coupled with the bar staff throwing bottles throughout the night . A terrible sleep!
Restaurant and staff nice.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MadYoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 23, 2016
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

Stayed as part of a wedding party and have to say that we enjoyed it a lot.

The hotel has it all down to a fine art. The check in was quick and easy. The room's are well equiped and very clean.

The meal was fab and also was the service. I would love to go back for a weekend to try out the spa as we did not have time.

Big plus was the breakfast, has a fine chioce from cold to hot food.

Will be back

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BillyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 23, 2016
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2007

myself and my husband stayed for two nights in the westgrove with our two year old daughter and loved it. hotel is spotless and very modern and rooms spacious with lovely WHITE bedclothes which i love! swiming pool was excellent and cant wait to go back.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness pool & rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank N_irelandHk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 23, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Stayed for 2nights last weekend,hotel has a truly modern elegamt stlye throughout.

Breakfast:Very large selection of fruits, yogurts, bread, passtries and cooked food and juices.

Room:Adequte size room, bed a little small but comfortable,bathroom spacious clean and excedingly powerful shower.

Unfortunately we didnt get to use the spa or leisure facilites.

Would recommend this hotel for relaxing break.

  • Liked — Breakfast and room
  • Disliked — Small bed.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gracilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2016
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2007

We spent one night with a group of friends as a treat to ourselves after a hard week at work. The room while spacious was definitely not quality driven, it's just aswell it's newly opened, don't think i'd like to be staying a year from now. The restaurant wouldn't be a place i'd be going to again if i was actually hungry, novelle cusine is the dish of the day, also being vegetarian and having only 1choice of starter and main course was totally unaceptable. Retiring to the residents bar was the best idea of the night, well it would have been it there was one, there is a lovely Cigar Bar, big leather sofa's and subtle lightening, closed at 11pm, headed down to the main bar, closed at 11.30pm. Told to go sit in the lobby and the night porter would bring us drinks, what night porter!!

One good thing about this hotel, was the SPA. But i don't have to be guest to use that again.

If your looking for a night away as a couple or as a group of friends, look elsewhere.... i can recommend the Radison SAS in Caven.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trichIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 23, 2016
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

This hotel has only been open for 6 months or so and the furnishing are excellent as you expect. We had a very hospitable welcome form all the staff who made us feel that nothing was too much trouble.

We ate in the dining room and the food was good. My only criticism would be that it had pretensions to haut cuisine with small portions of excellent food and then a bowl with enormous chunks of roast potatoes and other veg appeared.

The bar was comfortable and the barman was very helpful with bringing drinks over to us. He gave the impression that he was used to the bar being open all night.

The rooms were spotless and comfortable and well sound insulated. I was surprised there was no mini bar though.

Breakfast was excellent and again the staff were eager to please.

There is leisure complex but we did not have time to sample this.

All in all a top notch hotel.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank ciderhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on trip advisor. We are delighted you found the Hotel excellent. Many thanks for all your kind comments.
We do hope we encourage you to visit us again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clane
6.8 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
5.3 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
556 reviews
8.5 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
6.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Abbeylands, Clane, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Clane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgrove Hotel & Conference Centre situated in the beautiful village of Clane in County Kildare; we are 30 minutes from Dublin City Centre with easy access from the M7 and M4 motorways. A four star property with extensive leisure club consisting of 20 metre indoor pool, kids pool, Jacuzzi and steam room and a large gym and fitness studio. We have The Oak Bar with a carvery lunch and full day menu, Assaggio Italian Restaurant and 24 hour room service. We have the award-winning Spa Haven featuring Elemis luxury treatments. We have our supervised kids club with mini cinema. We have two well appointed ballrooms, three boardrooms and two syndicate rooms hosting weddings, conferences, meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgrove Hotel Clane
Westgrove Hotel And Conference Centre Clane, County Kildare, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing