We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Myself and my husband stayed in this hotel in mid october o8 ,i have to admit after reading one of the reviews on trip adviser i was worried but i can tell you now there was no need for me to be . when we arrived there was lots of parking beside the hotel and under ground beside supervalue (NO CHARGE) and there are lifts to bring you to lobby or right to your room.staff were lovely and friendly (apart from one blonde girl that never smiled in the bar and was quite rude but then theres always one and the rest of staffs friendlyness made up for her rudeness)Rooms were great. Big bed made up with lovely clean white sheets ,t.v. trouser press, tea and coffee facility ,lovely balcony and a lovely modern bathroom.When we arrived in our room my husband went to turn on the t.v. (as men do ) and realised there was no batterys in remote control ( due to the guest before us bringing them home )so we rang down to reception and with in ten minutes there was a staff member with new batterys . We went down for dinner knowing the main restaurant was closed due to renovations and was pleasantly surprised to see that the restaurant we were to eat in was nice and comfortable . We had no reservation and was seated straight away,food was lovely and service was excellent.Our breakfast was lovely next morning too.
We have stayed in many four star hotels and i can tell you there is nothing three star about this hotel .We paid 99 euros each for two nights b&b and one dinner which was a four course meal. (It was a fantastic deal) On the down side we wished there was better entertainment in hotel and a bit more to the town ,

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kavnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2016

Thank you for review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,099 - 1,105 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2008

I stayed here for 3 days and found it clean and modern. Clane is a quiet village but is only 25 mins from Dublin. The food was good and the pool is nice. It is a great place to go for relaxing and chilling out.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank haw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Last July I spent three weeks at the Westgrove with my 7 year old daughter and my 3 year old son on my own, my husband was working back in Spain, and I survived the experience, not only I survived it but I tend to repeat it next summer. Being on your own in a foreign country with two small children is not easy, but with the help from the hotel staff to find and get to all the fun activities was really lucky. we had a family room which was huge, small kitchen, with everything you may need, two TVS with DVDS. . . indoor swimming pool, really handy in rainy days, with even swimming lessons for children . . . the food was ok, not bad, not expensive, . . Good room service. Free indoor parking. . .
Another plus is that there is a convenient supermarket connected through the garage, really easy to get anything you may need . . .

The only negative thing I can say about the hotel is that they do not have non smoking rooms, and the smell of cigarettes is sometimes really disgusting, especially after weddings and celebrations! Other than that excellent!!!!


The only negative thing I can say about the hotel is taht they do niot have NON SMOKING ROOMS, and the smell of cigarrettes is sometimes really discusting specially after weddings and big celebrations!!!! OTHER than that EXCELLENT!!!!

1  Thank calceatense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2016

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Myself and my husband are just back from a weekend in this hotel, after staying in other Select hotels recently i was lokoing forward to a relaxing weekend with great food and service but was let down badly. the rooms were lovely, and the decor throughout the hotel was very new but the staff just seemed as if none of them knew what was going on. there was no tea/coffee making facilities in room and when oredring one it would take at least half an hour to arrive. when we arraive firstly we ordered an ashtray which didn't arrive at all until we called back down about 5 hours later.
we tried calling the spa on numerous occasions but the phone just rang out and wehn we called reception to tell them we couldn't get through they told us to keep trying! we had booked a deal to 2 night b&b and an evening meal but when we tried to book we were told that the nicer restaurant was closed for renovations and we couldn't book a table in the other one just to turn up. so we did and were laft waiting for half an hour, no problem there though, when we got to our table it was basically pub grub they were serving and they had no wine list just 3 different bottles if "plonk" not great for a 4 star hotel??? AVOID

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

This hotel is quiet pleasant but the rooms are sweltering and its impossible to get a good nights sleep. I stayed there in June and there was no air con but they were to get it installed. If you are staying there check this first or you WILL DIE FROM THE HEAT OF THE ROOMS! Otherwise nothing wrong with the hotel, our room was a very decent size and there is a nice bar and restaurant.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank Lormah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Booked this hotel on the recommendation of my sister-in-law. Arrived for a two night stay (1st wedding anniversary). Unfortunately picked the worst weather possible - flooding in Dublin, but thankfully it didn't affect our stay!

No complaints about the hotel - staff were pleasant and helpful. Food was excellent - both breakfast and evening meals - free use of the nearby swimming pool attached to the hotel.

The only thing that we had a slight issue with was the bedsheets which were quite coarse - perhaps due to being washed endless times.

There was a wedding in the hotel on the Friday night - naturally some of the guests were quite rowdy and when they were outside you could hear them quite easily .....it would have been nicer had the noise been more 'muffled'....but this was only a very minor issue.

So, in summary, happy to recommend hotel for a quiet, relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cadboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

The staff at this hotel are fantastic - efficient, friendly and helpful. Properly professional. For this alone, I would return to the Westgrove. I hope the Hotel appreciates what it has in its employees.

The rooms are fine, food good and nice ambiance generally. Fitzgerald suite needs work though.

No complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clane
6.8 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
5.3 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#3 of 5 in Naas
1,230 reviews
6 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
0.4 mi away
Maudlins House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: Abbeylands, Clane, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Clane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Price Range: $103 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgrove Hotel & Conference Centre situated in the beautiful village of Clane in County Kildare; we are 30 minutes from Dublin City Centre with easy access from the M7 and M4 motorways. A four star property with extensive leisure club consisting of 20 metre indoor pool, kids pool, Jacuzzi and steam room and a large gym and fitness studio. We have The Oak Bar with a carvery lunch and full day menu, Assaggio Italian Restaurant and 24 hour room service. We have the award-winning Spa Haven featuring Elemis luxury treatments. We have our supervised kids club with mini cinema. We have two well appointed ballrooms, three boardrooms and two syndicate rooms hosting weddings, conferences, meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgrove Hotel Clane
Westgrove Hotel And Conference Centre Clane, County Kildare, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing