We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Nearby Hotels
$111
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The K Club(Straffan)
$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barberstown Castle(Straffan)(Great Value!)
$279
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club(Maynooth)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$314
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,156)
Filter reviews
1,156 results
Traveler rating
458
335
193
90
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
335
193
90
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantkids clubleisure centrelovely hotelset menuboth nightsfamily breakan overnight stayfood was lovelyreception areabar foodkildare villagefamily roommy mumhotel bara lovely staychecking out
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
880 - 885 of 1,156 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here early October 2012- the hotel was busy, there was a wedding on. We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist and directed to our room, which was nice, nothing over the top but had everything we needed. We stayed for 3 nights , we had one meal in the italian restaurant- this was absolutely delicious and the service was perfect. Great value for money.
Next night we ate in the bar and again had alovely meal- service at the bar was good too. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great staff, great food, 'great craic'. Rooms a little tired but clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you smoke ask for a top floor room- they have a balcony that you can go outside on- as its a fair trek to the smoking area.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had a grand time here and enjoyed your three night stay. Thank you for your comments about our Italian Restaurant Assaggio and our staff. Customer service is really important to us, so it is great to be recognised for our efforts.
I do hope you will visit us again in Co Kildare.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with family. It is a clean hotel but the rooms are a bit shabby - stained carpets and walls. The best thing about this hotel is that they have a great deal €92 for 2 nights b&b and 1 dinner and also the staff. They were so nice and helpful - in every part of the hotel. I would go again for a quiet break midweek.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. We very much appeciate the feedback. I am sorry you thought the hotel needed some TLC. We have a capital budget to spend this year and we will certainly be painting out all our hotel bedrooms. I am delighted you recognised our value for money deals and please be assured we will continue to offer good deals on our website.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our daughter booked Westgrove hotel for her wedding last year. The wedding was on December 29th but a number of family and friends stayed for 3 nights to see in the new year. All our dealings with the hotel were faultless. From starting to plan the wedding last January 2012 to checking out on New Years Day 2013 has been a wonderful experience. Helen and Nicola the wedding planners are so professional, friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble and no matter what we asked for they did their utmost to provide it. Our guests had a fantastic time on the day and all commented on the food and staff. The food at the wedding was superb and there was plenty of it. All the staff worked so hard and everything went so smoothly. Every thing we had requested was provided with great attention to detail, nothing was forgotten on the day. We had a room reserved with finger foods for the second night and again all was excellent. Then for New Years Eve there were 35 for dinner. The effort the staff put in for this was a surprise for us all. Chairs were covered, tables were set, and printed post wedding menus were provided. What lovely keepsakes to have. After that an area was reserved in the bar to keep us all together to see in the new year. All the staff in this hotel are friendly, polite and work hard to look after the guests.Yes this is a big hotel and therefore sometimes there can be little things that go astray but you just had to ask any member of staff for help or bring it to their attention and they would sort it. From Niamh at reception to bar, cleaning and catering staff we could not have asked for more. We thank you all for making our Daughter and Son in Law's wedding such a wonderful memorable occasion. They never stopped smiling for the whole weekend.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest
I did respond to your wonderful review but I used your names and is was not allowed on Trip Advisor. We were so delighted to read your review and to be given such a glowing report . Nicola and Helen were so happy that your wedding went off the way you all wished. We would like to wish your daughter and son in law every happiness in their lives together. We sincerely hope that you will come back for your anniversary and have a party. It was our pleasure to look after you all for the three days you were here and we are so happy you enjoyed every minute.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Was at a wedding here. Hotel was massive and theres shops attached to it, as its pretty much in the middle of a housing estate. Hotel was very dark and bedrooms were very basic but fit for purpose. Wedding reception room was lovely and decorated well. Wedding meal was lovely but breakfast was terrible.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missyjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed the wedding you were invited to and sorry you found the the location of the Hotel not to your liking. We are on the edge of Clane Village and in the parkland of the ruin of Clane Friary. We have an award winning Leisure Club and Spa Haven with Elemis Products.Our Hotel is attached to Abbeylands Shopping Centre which contains an array of retail outlets including hairdressers and a gift shop. Our accommodation is to a four star standard as rated by Bord Failte. I am sorry you found the breakfast not to your liking but I feel we offer an extensive selection of product to suit all tastes and diets. You do not mention what you thought was terrible and hence it is difficult to address. If you would like to discuss the issues you had further please contact me.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We had lunch in the westgrove today and to say that there was a crowd there would be an understatement. We were to meet friends there and decided that we'd have a bit of lunch too. So I joined the queue and waited-not for long. The chef under hot carvery lights had a smile and a nice word for everyone and the dinner looked as good as it tasted. Vegetables were delicious and not overcooked or mushy. The chef and waiters showed a natural comradery that only comes from a good team and he was able to ask them to get water and trays which was instantly acted on.
And when I stumbled and nearly let the three dinners fall to the floor- there was a lovely waiter there who caught the tray and helped me bring it down to our table.
Proof how nice it was-my two little boys ate their dinner so quickly! They said it was yummy!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petularose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Customer
How kind of you to give us such a glowing review after popping in for Lunch on Sunday. John Carolan our Head Chef and the team in the Oak Bar will be delighted to recieve your praise. Yes it was a very busy day, the Hotel was full from the Night before and we had a Christmas Fare in our Ballroom.
Your review is very much appreciated and we look forward to hopefully looking after you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews