We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Team work in evidence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Team work in evidence”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We had lunch in the westgrove today and to say that there was a crowd there would be an understatement. We were to meet friends there and decided that we'd have a bit of lunch too. So I joined the queue and waited-not for long. The chef under hot carvery lights had a smile and a nice word for everyone and the dinner looked as good as it tasted. Vegetables were delicious and not overcooked or mushy. The chef and waiters showed a natural comradery that only comes from a good team and he was able to ask them to get water and trays which was instantly acted on.
And when I stumbled and nearly let the three dinners fall to the floor- there was a lovely waiter there who caught the tray and helped me bring it down to our table.
Proof how nice it was-my two little boys ate their dinner so quickly! They said it was yummy!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petularose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Customer
How kind of you to give us such a glowing review after popping in for Lunch on Sunday. John Carolan our Head Chef and the team in the Oak Bar will be delighted to recieve your praise. Yes it was a very busy day, the Hotel was full from the Night before and we had a Christmas Fare in our Ballroom.
Your review is very much appreciated and we look forward to hopefully looking after you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    305
    175
    80
    73
See reviews for
342
363
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Fine hotel, big rooms, huge reception, large bar. Had an excellent meal there with great service. Overall, very good value.

Unfortunately too quiet and as a result lacking in atmosphere. I was there midweek so maybe it would be busier at the weekend.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DanIelDMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor we very much appreciate your feedback. I am delighted that you liked our Hotel and that you enjoyed your meal and the service we offered.
I am sorry it was quiet while you were here and lacked in atmosphere but we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Recently popped into the Westgrove for a bite to eat while driving through Clane. Although the Oak Bar was warm and inviting and the staff very friendly, the food wasn't great:-( We both had Thai red curry and it was just bland and watery. I know it was only bar food, but if the standard in the bar is not great I wouldn't be bothered trying the restauraunt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. I am so glad you liked our Hotel but disappointed you did not like your choice of food from the barfood menu.
I do hope you will drop in again when your passing and try another of our dishes.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just had our surprise wedding (for our guests) at the Westgrove this weekend and we had an amazing experience. When we told them our plans for the day they were so supportive and managed to keep it a secret until our guests arrived. We can not say enough about how brilliant Nicola, Ellagh and the rest of the staff were. They were so attentive, efficient and caring. They made our day so special. The food was fab and everything ran so smoothly. Our guests were delighted with the rooms and the bridal suite was gorgeous. We would highly recommend this venue for weddings and will definitely be back!!! Thanks again guys from Luke and Katie

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Luke and Katie
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your wedding day with us and Nicola and Ella will be so glad to recieve your praise. We wish you many happy years together and look forward to looking after you when you are next in the Hotel.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. The staff are efficient and friendly and we had a superb room and an extremely good value dinner, bed and breakfast package when we stayed there while visiting the Kildare Outlet Village. The hotel is very modern with lovely decor and lighting and a spectacular Christmas tree in the spacious foyer. I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHC_PBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our package good value for money. I am so glad you found our staff friendly and efficient and that your bedroom was to your liking.
Thank you for your comments on our Christmas Tree in our Lobby. It is quite a feat to erect and decorate it each year but the end result is fantastic and we get many comments on it.
Many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here in October 2012.
Great value and comfort.
Great space all over the hotel reminds me of a Las Vegas Hotel.!
Room was fine and breakfast adequate.
Hotel is a short walk to the town centre.
All in all very satisfactory would return again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BangorBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyeed your stay and found the design of the Hotel to your liking. We are so lucky to have so many open spaces for our guests to relax in.
Thank you for kind comments and we look forward to welcoming back at sometime in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Well it has been 2 months since I had my civil partnership at the Westgrove Hotel and memories of the hotel are still as good as they were the day after our celebration. We had been planning our big day for 4 months and met with the wedding co-coordinating staff on numerous occasions, they were absolutely fantastic. We had so many of our own ideas and wanted to use our ideas to decorate the venue. There was never a hesitation by staff in offering us their help our allowing us to bring whatever we wanted to decorate the venue. We also had our ceremony there. We requested to have this on the Terrace area beside the Cigar Bar which they agreed would be a beautiful idea, (assuming the weather was ok, we are in Ireland after all :-)).

The day before the big day we arrived to setup, the staff greeted us and helped bring everything to the room and help setup, at one point one of the managers offered to let us go home and relax and they would finish off all the decoration we had brought which was lovely.

We arrived on the day and of course, as usual, someone had motor trouble, what was amazing was the fact the general manager offered to go out and pick these guests up. Now if that is not going beyond I don't know what is. We arrived out on the terrace to all our family and friends waiting (yes the weather amazingly turn out fantastic), the job the staff had done was fantastic and we could not have been happier. Especially considering we were the first large ceremony ever held on the terrace.

Anyway this review is becoming longer than expected so I better keep the rest brief :-).

As the day and evening went on the staff were so attentive yet not overboard and very accommodating. The food was amazing and the staff were so friendly. Neither of us, our top table or anyone we have spoken to had to ask for anything. The venue was beautiful and the bedrooms faultless.

What was even more surprising was to receive compliments from the staff on how well behaved and polite our guest were, which was very heartwarming.

Don't get me wrong, we did have a couple of issues with the hotel, (what hotel is perfect?) not with the venue or accommodation however these issues were resolved by management to our total satisfaction.

I would sincerely recommended this hotel, regardless of weather it is just for dinner, or a one night or week stay or a wedding celebration.

One piece of advise though, regardless of the venue, if you have an issue you should always make sure to bring it to managements attention. After all, how can the fix it if they are not aware of it.

Regards
Tom

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bornfree17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Tom
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your kind comments about your big day. It was fabulous to to be able to use our roof garden for your ceremony and we were blessed that the sun shone.
I would like to wish you both many happy years together from all the team at the Westgrove Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clane
5.3 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
2.6 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
8.5 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Abbeylands, Clane, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Clane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgrove Hotel & Conference Centre situated in the beautiful village of Clane in County Kildare; we are 30 minutes from Dublin City Centre with easy access from the M7 and M4 motorways. A four star property with extensive leisure club consisting of 20 metre indoor pool, kids pool, Jacuzzi and steam room and a large gym and fitness studio. We have The Oak Bar with a carvery lunch and full day menu, Assaggio Italian Restaurant and 24 hour room service. We have the award-winning Spa Haven featuring Elemis luxury treatments. We have our supervised kids club with mini cinema. We have two well appointed ballrooms, three boardrooms and two syndicate rooms hosting weddings, conferences, meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgrove Hotel Clane
Westgrove Hotel And Conference Centre Clane, County Kildare, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing