We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best wedding I have attended apart from my own.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of doing best man at a wedding in Kildare. The recption was at The Westgrove Hotel in Clane and if anyone is thinking of getting married and looking for a venue for your recption then look no furhter. From the moment we arrived and untill we left the next day the staff were fantastic. As we were part off the bridal party I thought that maybe they were doing extra just for us but speaking with the rest of the guests everybody had commented how friendly and relaxed everything was. We were met by the wonderfull Ella on arrival, whom as it turned out really contribuated to the wedding being so good. Every attention to detail was adhered to and any requests we had were seemingly no problem for Ella and her wonderfull team. The meal was superb, the service excellent and the athmosphere was electric. The band will not be bettered for a wedding and if I was getting married (again) I would have Vegas Nights help make it such a great day. Thanks to them too. Its hard to find fault with this venue and the staff of The Westgrove. Can I just finish with a huge thanks to Ella and her team for such a wonderfull experience at this wedding and to Chris the barman for putting up with us all day and night. I can't wait to get invited to another wedding at your hotel.

Regards

Colin O'Leary

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read your review and thank you for all your compliments. Ella and her service team that looked after you will be so proud to recieve your praise.
As bestman I know the organisation and effort that goes into the day so to make it special for the Bride and Groom. I am delighted that we exceeeded your expectations.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay in this fabulous hotel. The staff were very friendly. The hotel is kept very well. Did a have a small bit of trouble getting into room but there was a phone in the hall so it was handy to call down and we were helped very promptly. The food was ok but I thought it would of been a wee bit better. We ate dinner in the restuarant which was very pleasant and they have brilliant serving staff. The breakfast was ok too, everything was excellent but the sausages weren't nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tapa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted with the title of your review and most pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Westgrove Hotel, Leisure Club and Spa.
I am sorry you had difficulty in getting into your room.We have recently had all our automated doorlocks serviced so there should not have been a problem. I am glad that you were attended to promptly.
I am sorry the sausages weren't to your taste. Our butcher makes these for us and we change our variety often.
Once again thank you for your review Iand I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is OK - nothing special and you'd be disappointed if you went away for a romantic weekend, luckily I was on business. The room was nice enough - double bed, plenty of storage, work desk etc. Bathroom was HUGE but the sink was so small I couldn't wash my face or brush my teeth without spilling water - very strange indeed.

The rooms aren't very sound-proofed so I was disturbed a lot by annoying children running up and down the corridors screaming and also a wedding reception outside my window (outdoor seating/ smoking area).

I also found a copy of RAZZLE Porn Magazine stuffed behind my radiator which wasn't very pleasant to come across.

The staff are helpful and friendly although I had to wait in a queue for almost 20mins to check out of the hotel which meant I was late for my business meeting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richardsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to go onto Trip Advisor and give us a review. We very much appreciate the feedback. Thank you for your comments about our staff, customer service is so important to us here.

I am sorry you were disturbed by children running up and down the corridor and that you were delayed on check out and hence you were late for your appointment. We do have an express check out facility so may be the next time you might avail of that.

Thank you for the comments on your bedroom I will investigate the sink issue and see what I can do.

I am sorry housekeeping missed the magazine behind the radiator.

I hope you enjoyed your business trip to Kildare and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I cannot complain about the service or how helpful the staff were, however sadly the room was a complete let down. The room was clean bathroom spotless bed only one word............. terrible. When i got into bed i kept sliding into the middle of the bed hence ensuring a restless night. Upon checking out the receptionist was informed of the issue of the bed but just shrugged our comments off. So all and all we had a fantastic experience the bed and restless night proved very disapointing to say the least.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor . I am glad overall you enjoyed your stay at the Westgrove Hotel but was sorry to hear that the mattress you were slleeping on was not comfortable. All our mattesses are Respa which are an excellent brand.
If its not too much trouble I would be eager to talk to you to find out which bedroom you were in. You may contact me on 045 98 99 00 or on jerryrussell@westgrovehotel.com.
Thank you for your report it is very much appreciated and I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back the the Westgrove Hotel, Leisure Club and Spa in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

decent hotel,good staff tho a rather strange waiter,visit was ruined by the private partys room not being soundproofed meaning that having to get up for work at 6am was very difficult after being kept awake til nearly 2am.
portions in assagio could be more generous also
breakfast was at 8 ,no use to a working man

Room Tip: do not stay on lower levels at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moz-dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry you were disturbed by noise from a private party while staying at the Westgrove Hotel.
Our cooked breakfast starts at 7.00am every morning so I am at a loss to why it was not ready when you stayed. We are also only delighted to do a continental breakfast before this time.
Will you please contact me on 045 98 99 00 or on jerryrussell@westgrovehotel.com so I can talk to you directly.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on two occasions in September 12th and19th. The hotel was great and the rooms were comfortable, spotlessly clean and the staff were lovely and really helpful. We had a nice meal in the bar on our first visit but had a really great dinner in the Assagio restaurant on our second visit. Good hotel would stay there again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Gracann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to go onto Trip Advisor and give us a review.It is lovely to hear from a guest who has stayed twice recently and found the hotel to their liking.
Thank you for your kind words about our staff they will be so proud to read your comments. The title to your review is just fantastic and is very much appreciated.
Thank you for choosing the Westgrove Hotel and I do hope we have the opportunity to looking after you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were originally booked into a different hotel in the next town over, but we decided to stay at the Westgrove after my in-laws raved about it. I will definitely say it was an upgrade from the first hotel. I am American and my husband is Irish. We do quite a bit of traveling, and have seen hotels from one end of the spectrum to the other. The Westgrove holds its own against many of the nicer hotels we've stayed in.

The hotel is pretty big, and boasts a decent size pool, gym, and restaurant/bar. There is also a shopping center adjacent to the hotel itself. To some, the shopping center may sound undesirable, but the building is tastefully done and is actually quite convenient. The daily breakfast at the hotel restaurant is buffet style with the complimentary option to order hot dishes off the menu. The food is pretty good but the coffee was terrible.

As for the room, it was clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. We appreciated having a balcony as well. All the staff members were incredibly helpful and always very friendly. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel on Trip advisor.We are always grateful to recieve feedback and delighted when the guest has enjoyed their experience.Thank you for praising our staff and noticing that we are offering good value for money.
Many thanks for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Westgrove Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clane
6.8 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
5.3 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,212 reviews
2.6 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
601 reviews
6.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
454 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: Abbeylands, Clane, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Clane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clane
Price Range: $97 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgrove Hotel & Conference Centre situated in the beautiful village of Clane in County Kildare; we are 30 minutes from Dublin City Centre with easy access from the M7 and M4 motorways. A four star property with extensive leisure club consisting of 20 metre indoor pool, kids pool, Jacuzzi and steam room and a large gym and fitness studio. We have The Oak Bar with a carvery lunch and full day menu, Assaggio Italian Restaurant and 24 hour room service. We have the award-winning Spa Haven featuring Elemis luxury treatments. We have our supervised kids club with mini cinema. We have two well appointed ballrooms, three boardrooms and two syndicate rooms hosting weddings, conferences, meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgrove Hotel Clane
Westgrove Hotel And Conference Centre Clane, County Kildare, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing